Journal logo

The Benefits of Reciprocity for Writers

Igniting Your Own Flame

By KJ AartilaPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
16
The Benefits of Reciprocity for Writers
Photo by Marc Ignacio on Unsplash

Each of us is born with a box of matches inside us but we cant strike them all by ourselves. - Laura Esquivel

I must admit, I’ve been a little disappointed in the level of reciprocity given by fellow creators in general. I’ve been disappointed in the amount of engagement I receive sometimes, especially when I am seemingly forgotten about in only a day or two of lacking to promote myself to this small Vocal family. I already know and accept that I will never receive much support from my real-life friends, family and acquaintances. That’s just a fact of life. I hold Vocal peers to a higher standard, because I think we all want the same thing - recognition. But in order to remain recognized, we must give recognition on a regular basis. I am a firm believer in that, and I thought I was practicing that idea religiously, but I seem to be missing something.

Am I just squeaking for attention? I hope not. I’m trying to make a point. We, as creators who want to be respected, must also give respect to others. We need to venture from our narrow tunnels of limited vision and put effort into maintaining relationships, into connecting with our peers. In a greedy sense, by boosting others, we boost ourselves. By reciprocating, we will be rewarded. By rewarding others, we reward ourselves, however reward looks to you - fame or fortune or maybe just a quiet pat on the back.

What happens if we fail to offer consistent support of our peers? Deafening silence. Which is what I’m hearing right now, so I am failing to honor my own words. A sign to me that I need to a dig little deeper into my own efforts.

We all want attention, but are often lax in giving it.

(I realize that in life, people’s time and attention ebbs and flows. If you can’t or won’t follow up in a timely fashion, than you probably shouldn’t ask for readers.)

WHAT CAN WE DO?

BE HONEST

You must be honest with yourself first. If you want better results, then you need to identify where you need to put your effort. That starts with honestly questioning and answering yourself. It can be difficult to accept accountability, but if you truly want to be better, you will.

TAKE ACTION

Understanding and making a plan is nice, but without action on your part, nothing will change. Using the Subscription feature on Vocal is also a good way to stay connected with writers on the platform. Read stories by others, leave comments, encourage other creators. Hint: You need to “give” more than you “receive.”

CHEER FOR OTHERS!

Anothers successes take nothing from you, and being genuinely happy for someone else may make your own candle burn brighter. On the other hand, a candle goes out in a vacuum.

__________________________________________________

Really, why are people going to read what you put out? Because you’re a genius? Maybe you are, but your genius is only going to get you so far. In the end, it’s your character that shines through. We all want to be more than just a “flash in the pan.” We have more likelihood of achieving lasting and meaningful success if we do it together.

These are all good concepts which I, personally, will be considering. It’s important to me. I hope it’s important to you. Our success is riding on it.

Thank you for reading! Do you agree? What will you do to make a lasting impression? Leave a note in the comments so I can look you up!

advice
16

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock6 months ago

    Sage counsel &, yes, I absolutely agree with you on this, Keila.

  • Emily Marie Concannonabout a year ago

    I agree. I honestly felt that most of my stories never received the attention they should have, especially because I've been very active on Vocal Groups inn the past. I think I've come to embrace my close friends on Vocal and try to engage with them and avoid wasting time on creators who never seem to engage with my content.

  • AJ Birtabout a year ago

    Very well written piece. I saw something that is, at its bare bones, similar to this on Medium - the Medium piece was a blatant 'follow for follow' plea though. You've written well, both clearly and engaging, and I agree that writers as a community should engage with each other more. My heart always sings when I see comments on something I post lol

  • Antoinette L Breyabout a year ago

    thank yu for sharing. I sometimes agree, and other times, I get a lot of people reading my stories. I usually lose confidence when my story sits there unread for a couple of days. I have to admit I usually read the same people's stories over and over again. I also read stories where the author says they will reciprocate, And so far they always have

  • Paula Romeu about a year ago

    It was like hearing my own thoughts. Brava.

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Well said, and I agree. It's easy to tell who reciprocate. It's usually the same small group. I understand that people also get busy.

  • Dawn Saloisabout a year ago

    Very eye-opening article! I certainly make an effort to reciprocate engagement, but nobody’s perfect and there is definitely always room for improvement.

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Superb advice!!! Left some love!!!

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Love your style of writing👌, they are very compelling and engaging

  • Thank you so much for saying all these. People often take, take, take and never give. This was an eye opener!

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    I appreciate the care and consideration you use when approaching these uncomfortable topics. I see you making a difference every day :) It would be wonderful if everyone took the opportunity to give as much as they expected to take. Thank you for sharing this.

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    I will share my thoughts on what you wrote in the Vocal + Assist Facebook group as I want the members to see what I have to say. Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

  • This really hits it, but so many people expect to be read without giving anything back. The Vocal Figures for groups show who reciprocates and who doesnt and it is strange that most group admins are just not interested in those figures. We give a weekly "Contributor of the Week" post in Vocal+Assist for the people who do reciprocate which hopefully rewards them with a few reads

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.