Journal logo

Taking A Look At What You Are Doing By Talking, Writing With Pros and Cons Lists

When others ask what would you do? Do you give advice or not?

By Denise E LindquistPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
4
Taking A Look At What You Are Doing By Talking, Writing With Pros and Cons Lists
Photo by Nick Morrison on Unsplash

I am writing to be writing. I used to only read on Medium but without a membership, it didn't count toward anyone making money. When I started Vocal it was because I was interested in writing now and not simply reading. I love that I can read on Vocal too.

There are some great writers on Vocal. I have found them, especially on Facebook sites that are specific to Vocal writers. When busy it is difficult for me to keep up with all that is available to me. I know that makes it my fault that I am not reading as much as I could be.

However, I have 55 people that are subscribers. I have made 230.+ dollars and paid out 120. now. I am still ahead and there is always the possibility that I could win a writing contest, although it is not likely. I have had one story place as a top story in a year. That is not good odds.

This story appears to be more to help me take a look at what I am doing than it is to give others a read. My processing my writing situation. I could write a blog? I could put together more books to publish? I could write for other places. No, I am not ready yet, to do any of that.

I am getting some unfinished projects ready to finish and maybe I will just coast here on Vocal and Medium. I am still ahead of the money game. I continue to make pennies each month in the area of 1.50. I will occasionally get a tip. If I don't make any more money, I can still pay for the next twelve months.

I love reading others and I subscribe to sixty-four writers that I will read weekly. I am a reader! All of them are not publishing weekly, however.

I don't have to pay to read, although it doesn't count for money for the writer unless I am a member.

****

I love to read!

Writing is like when I bead.

I can do it,

it doesn't always fit

what is intended.

And then it gets extended,

longer than I would have wanted,

but I am not daunted

as I push through to 600 words.

It is less a poem/rhyme, just 100 for the nerds

to figure out how to do that with a haiku?

It's tough for me and you!

Story explanation can help us along.

We can repeat like in a song!

But is that poetry?

I am a rhymer you see,

so I can go on and on and make that 600 words work out

and then I want to shout

when it is put in the poem and it is a story I want to tell

to a different audience or community

as they are referred to in Vocal teehee!

****

And I can go on and on and on and on with rhyme. And still, I realize it is time to put an end to this rhyme and send this off to be published. My decision has been made as I will coast and I will hope that I can continue to profit to pay my dues until I have the opportunity to submit a story that will wow the judges and win me the PCH. Just kidding!

I will keep reading and writing and editing the books I am working on and teaching my class and facilitating my group and spending time with family and enjoying my recovery and my life. I will live in this moment and not get bogged down with the pandemic, the weather, or anything else!

advice
4

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.