Journal logo

SUPPORT SMALL BUSINESSES

they might be more expensive, but they’re worth it

By Pamela DirrPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1

I own a small business. Well, technically, I own 1 small business and I am an Independent Consultant for another business. I buy from myself as much as I can (from the business that I’m an Independent Consultant for). The products are good, plus I make money back on my purchases from myself. So, it’s a win-win. My own small business, well, that one is struggling right now. It’s my fault though because I haven’t been devoting as much time to it as I should be. I need to really start marketing that one again though. The sales for the other company have declined tremendously as well. I’m trying to promote it more, but I need a larger area to promote it in.

I’m all for supporting small businesses. We all have bills to pay. For some people, their small business might be their only form of income. Maybe the person is a single mother or a single father. Maybe the person has just graduated from school and hasn’t landed a job yet but wants to save money so that he or she can be independent. Or maybe the person prefers to work from home, truly believes in whatever the small business is, and wants to make that business his or her life. I try to support as many small businesses as I can. The money is going towards that person’s rent, mortgage, car payment, utility bills, child’s tuition; anything and everything that you can think off. I’d rather know that’s where my money is going.

When you buy from large corporations - the owner, CEO, president of the company; all of those “top dog” people already are making well over 6-figures. They probably have more than 1 house, a few vehicles, and they probably don’t have to take out loans to send their kids to school. They probably go on vacation a few times a year; probably even out of the country. They think nothing of spending money.

I always think about what I can realistically afford. Sometimes I must go without things that I really want because I have to pay a bill, or put food on the table, or put gas in my car so I can make it to work (I work regular jobs as well because I can’t pay the bills with the small businesses yet). I know what it’s like to struggle, and I’m neither afraid nor embarrassed to admit that I do struggle. Unfortunately, the struggle has been occurring more and more lately. I must watch every penny, but I can’t go without necessities, such as food. And I have a cat, so I make sure that I’m able to take care of him as well.

Many of my friends have small businesses. Their businesses are in all different fields. There are handmade items, accessories, food, skin care, and clothes; just to name a few. I’m constantly looking at their websites, Facebook, and Instagram pages to see if they have anything I need. Sometimes I can buy directly from them if they have what I need on hand. But if not, then I order online (and pay for shipping and handling). I prefer to buy directly from them because then I don’t have to spend as much.

My businesses, websites, Facebook, and Instagram are listed below. Please feel free to look at them and forward them to anyone who you know who likes to shop small businesses. Support local. Support small businesses.

Endless Creations LLC – search for Endless Creations, LLC on Facebook; Instagram is Endless_Creations_LLC

Pamela Dirr, Independent Scentsy Consultant – www.pameladirr.scentsy.us

You can also search for Pam – Independent Scentsy Consultant on Facebook or go to - www.facebook.com/pamdirrscents

Please, the next time you need to shop for something – please consider shopping from a small business.

business
1

About the Creator

Pamela Dirr

I like to write based on my personal experiences. It helps me clear my mind. We all go through things in life. Good things. Not so good things. My experiences might also help other people with things that they might be going through.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.