Journal logo

Stop Working For Free

Taking advantage of the creative industry.

By Phill RossPublished 4 years ago 9 min read
1

Recently I spotted a post on one of the many history Facebook groups I am a member of, it was from one of the Admin asking for writers to contribute to her history related blog.

When I asked if there was any payment involved or was this just another blogger taking advantage of writers by offering exposure, I was given the reply that there was no payment and that her blog had 47000 visitors last year, that they offer free promotion for writers in exchange for them being "guest" bloggers and that it was a non profit site.

All well and good and so I replied with my personal opinion that what she had just written equated to "working for free" and in my own experience exposure does not equal book sales, I won't post the conversation here as I do not wish to cause the group or Admin any embaressment.

I also pointed out that I couldn't afford to write for free or the promise of advertising as I have bills to pay and food to put on my table, this was met with a rather defensive reply stating that she was a Published writer and had done a host of things free, some even arranged by her publisher?

The conversation wasn't heated from either myself or the original poster of the request, however another Admin decided to jump in accusing me of being aggressive and belligerent, which at no point I had been, she then went on to point out, and I quote, "There are many, many published, bestselling authors in this group... I see none of them having an issue with this post! Simply you, a nobody! what has been offered is a wonderful opportunity for others"

Now I take offence at this (and it takes a lot to offend me) I can honestly say I haven't noticed any posts from any authors I do recognise in this particular group, so perhaps it was just the fact that I was the only one with the balls to challenge the request?

As for being a nobody, perhaps my name is not well known and I do not have a publishing deal, however I have a proven track record of my writing dating back 16 years including and not excluding: published stories in magazines, published band and music reviews online and in music publications, I ran, edited and created written content for two music related websites, had several poems published, sold song lyrics to some well known bands, written a host of articles which are all published online, written 11 books to date with regular sales each month.

I have also written, produced and recorded 6 albums and around 200 songs to date although I have not released many of these the fact is I did all this on my own without the help of proof readers, editors, publishing contracts or having to give up my integrity as a writer and without asking others to work for free.

Moving away from writing I have also had many photographs published and prints bought as well as artwork sold across the world to various clients, my point here is not to blow my own trumpet, it is that I may not be a professional in the terms of being signed to a publishing company, but I have proven myself as a writer time and time again.

I may be a "nobody" to that particular woman, but to others I am someone who has touched souls with my work, I have seen laughter and sadness in their eyes as they read my words, tears and joy as they listened to my music and wonderment as they viewed my art does that not make a person someone? is that not the ultimate goal of every author and artist? to evoke emotion...and be paid for it.

So referring back to the orginal article, in this instance the blog is non profit and as such I accept the fact that paying others to write for the blog may not be feasible, however I have been against artists of any kind working for free for some time now.

I have been guilty of giving my work away for free on many an occasion and it wasn't until I started my photography business, Stageside Photography, that I realised I was doing it all wrong, because I had given so much work away for free people now expected it.

After refusing to work for free I did notice a dramatic drop in enquiries and requests for my work, but I still had some clients who were more than willing to pay for my photographic services and I focused on these, brushing any request for photographs in exchange for exposure, to one side.

The woman who posted the original request is in fact a published professional author with a couple of awards so she must know and understand the struggles all writers go through, unless she was lucky enough to have "friends in high places" to help her acquire a publishing deal, she should know that exposure and free advertising does not always equal sales, it may enhance her work but how many of those who contribute to her blog actually gain regular purchases of their work through this practice?

Blogs and websites like these are using other writers to boost their own careers on the false promise of exposure, if you are going to write for free then do it for your own blog, promote your own blog and make it all your own work, however the act of people asking anyone who works in a creative career for free work in exchange for exposure is one which needs to be stamped out.

It is ruining the business of music, art, photography and writing, devaluing a creatives time and skills to the point that when you challenge someone you are made out to be the bad guy for having the audacity to suggest that they should actually pay someone for their work?

I was blocked from replying to the original post on Facebook, the admin who suggested I was a nobody and that my opinion does not matter, turned off the commenting so that I could not reply, she didn't however plan on the fact I have many other platforms to voice my opinion on.

We all know that opinions are like arseholes, every one has one and most of them are full of shit, but freedom of speech is still allowed and therefore everyone is entitled to their opinion, and this is mine.

Asking anyone to work for free is taking advantage of their skills and time, it devalues their chosen career to the point that many quit because it just isn't worth their time, I have seen this happen with other musicians, photographers and writers, I am not alone in thinking that being asked to work for exposure is wrong, there is a whole Facebook group dedicated to outing the businesses who ask this of creatives, called Stop Working For Free.

It is filled with creative people who are experienced in this, many will give advice how to react and take control of their work when being paid is an issue, I have had to threaten people with legal action when I found photographs I had taken being used without my permission, this has happened on many an occasion but I deal with it in a professional manor.

Bristol Hippodromes advertisement for "volunteer" musicians.

The latest request for artists to work for free comes from a very well known theatre, a theatre who make thousands of pounds per month on plays, musicals and music performances, the Bristol Hippodrome.

The video below by Youtuber and musician Alex Belfield - The Voice Of Reason, gives more information on this (warning contains strong opinions) Alex is just one of many artists who are outraged at being asked to perform for free, especially under the current climate of financial worry among those in the creative arts.

Alex's anger prompts him to publically tell Bristol Hippodrome to "Shove your piano up your ass" and he finished by telling them "it's disgusting and you make me puke", strong words, yet I support and agree with everything Alex says.

People who expect this of creatives should stop and take a look around at their homes, that painting or photograph on your wall? someone spent years learning their craft to be able to create that for you to enjoy, the pattern on your rug, wallpaper or bedspread? yes those too were designed by artists, the movies, tv shows and music that you listen to and watch daily? without creatives these would not exist.

This modern refusal to value a persons art is a direct result of the "spoilt" technological generation, they believe that if it is on the internet its there for the taking, which of course is simply not correct, even users of Facebook are under the false impression that once you upload a photograph, Facebook own the copyright.

This just is not true as it explains in the Terms and Agreement, you grant Facebook a "license" to "use" your image and copyright remains with the person who created the image.

Copyright can be very confusing for those who do not know about it, the legal terms of using a person's work are usually left down to the creator, anything you create be it music, art, written word, you own the copyright the only exceptions to this are if you have signed a contract stating that copyright is handed to another party.

You control who uses your work and how much you want to be paid for it, even low balling a price can be detremental to your work, charging too little may bring in the odd £10 of £20 here and there but it does not bring in a regular livable wage, value your art as you would value your life.

To those who continue to ask for free content I ask that you reconsider what you are asking of creatives, exposure and free advertising is not much of an incentive to contribute hours of research and hours or days of writing, if you cannot afford to pay for content, do it yourself.

If all creatives refused to work the world would be a much quieter and duller place, the world needs creativity and as such it should be valued as much as any other career people rely on, you wouldn't ask a plumber or electrician to do his job for free, or any other person who provides a service, so why ask creatives ?

humanity
1

About the Creator

Phill Ross

I have been writing for 39 years starting out with poetry then moved on to song lyrics and music/band reviews,I now write mostly historical related books and I have written and self published 15 books to date.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.