Journal logo

SMART goal: Plan, settings, and examples.

How to Make Measurable Goals and Stick to Them

By Borba de SouzaPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
Like
Importance of Setting Objectives & SMART Goals

The first time I hit the road abroad it was to live in the stunning city of Santiago, in Chile. I was inexperienced and going to work in a prestigious multinational company. The firm hired me with good expectations and the beginning was quite positive. They even praised me for how fast I was learning both the job and the Spanish language.

But things started to go sideways when I discovered Bellavista and Providencia, two of the bohemian districts of Santiago. It got worse (or better, depending on the perspective) when they hired a new group of Brazilian trainees to whom I introduced the nightlife of the Chilean capital, their free club entrance for foreigners, free drinks for friendly Brazilians, free this and this…

If you are not aware of your responsibilities, those places will drag you out from Tuesday to Saturday.

I was so dazzled with the party atmosphere of the city I even chose to live just at the side of my favorite pub, Flannerys.

That was when things got out of hand. Even receiving a better salary than in Brazil, I left Chile without saving virtually nothing.

Fortunately, I was given a second chance. Actually, much better than just a second chance. I had an offer from the top global company in my industry while still living in Santiago. My career prospects in Chile were limited by my own irresponsibility, so it was time to move.

My new job was in Doha, Qatar, a place where I would not be partying and having sleepless nights as I had in Santiago.

​Before taking off to the Middle East, I delineated very specific goals for the short and long-term. I researched the living costs and the prices of the city and realized that, with a prudent lifestyle, in three years there I would save money enough to leave the company and open my own business, moving to a calmer place.

For this reason, I planned to stay a maximum of three years there and keep as much as possible from my salary. Every month I was updating an Excel sheet to see how far I was from my goal, how much I should save from my salary to achieve the targeted amount.

​Having those goals was a tremendous stimulus. I was a completely different man than the one who was enjoying rough nights in Chile and shaming himself by walking with a Gatorade bottle the next day. I was focused, punctual, and disciplined not only at my work but also outside.

To keep my fitness performance at the same level as my mental efforts, I also created physical and mental goals. I was hitting hard the gym six times per week. While others were going for expensive happy hours, I resorted to stay home and use this time to exercise and learn a new idiom (which later proved useful to my next move).

Matteo, the Argentinian with whom I shared my apartment, said he couldn’t believe someone would endure such strict targets and survive. He said that eventually, I would break down. Matteo was wrong, I didn’t break down.

​I was promoted before completing two years in Qatar. Now, finally, I had some spare money to enjoy life, and I enjoyed it. I started to go to the brunches my colleagues were going to and tasted again oysters and mai-tais. I also visited my girlfriend in Europe more frequently, and we traveled together.

​Then another dilemma appeared: Life now was so ok I was seduced to stay more. Six months before completing three years I achieved my initial financial target. Almost at the same time, I had an offer to move to Spain and work in a startup. I accepted but it never went forward due to bureaucratic complications (later that turned into something positive).

Maybe it was a signal I should stay longer in Doha, saving money and eating seafood? Who knows. But I decided to stick to my goals and left to open my own business in Poland, the country of my girlfriend.

​It was at this moment that I committed my second mistake. I was very satisfied with achieving the professional, financial, and physical goals I created before moving to Qatar. Therefore, just after deciding to move to Poland, I created new targets. This time even more difficult.

Then I failed, and it took a while until I realized my targets were overestimated and completely unachievable. Even if I was a local those goals would be hard, but for a foreigner, they were simply unrealistic. I entered into despair and it took a while (and some financial losses) to put myself together and try again.

SMART Goals

Having clear goals can be extremely useful and motivational. When I was melting under 48C in Doha waiting for a taxi or when a sewage pipe at my business broke down, my goals talked louder in my mind, saying something like:

Levi, we know it is unpleasant to have a pool of human excrement in the basement, but you are here for a reason, so put on your boots, go down and check if a plumber is necessary.

When the situation is hard and you need to face big (or smelly) obstacles, your targets will push you to keep going.

Clear objectives are not useful only when you are in a difficult situation. They also will give a sense of orientation, and help you to not get lost in those epicurean party frenzies like those I had in Chile.

If in Santiago I had a specific goal of what I wanted to achieve, instead of just enjoy piscolas on a Wednesday, I would be home sleeping earlier to be the best version of me the next day. But I didn’t have any measurable objective, except enjoy life. And I am sorry, ladies and gentlemen, but be happy is not a goal. At least not a SMART goal.

​Those points between the letters are not an accident. In this case, SMART is an acronym for Specific, Measurable, Achievable, Realistic, and Timely. Below the definition of each:

Specific: Your goal should be clear and specific, otherwise you won’t be able to focus your efforts or feel truly motivated to achieve it.

o Questions to be asked: What do I want to accomplish? Who is involved and where is it located?

Measurable: It is important to have measurable goals so you can track your progress and stay motivated. Assessing progress helps you to stay focused, meet your deadlines, and feel the excitement of getting closer to achieving your goal. Remember to measure collateral effects from your actions using counter-indicators.

o Questions to be asked: How much or how many I want to accomplish? How will I know when it is accomplished?

Achievable: Your goal needs to be realistic and attainable to be successful. In other words, it should stretch your abilities but remain possible.

o Questions to be asked: How can I accomplish this goal? How realistic is the goal, based on other constraints, such as financial factors?

Relevant: This step is about ensuring your goal matters to you, and is also aligned with other relevant goals. We all need support and assistance in achieving our goals, but it is important to retain control over them. Thus, make sure your plans drive everyone forward, but you’re still responsible for achieving your own goal.

o The question to be asked: Does this seem worthwhile?

Time-bound: Every goal needs a target date so you have a deadline to focus on and something to work towards. This part of the SMART goal criteria helps to prevent everyday tasks from taking priority over your longer-term goals.

o Questions to be asked: When I will achieve it? What should I start doing today?

Now you know how to define the targets to guide you in your new life, I need to do two important disclaimers.

The first one is to do not make your goals the priority of your life. They should be significant tools to delineate your path and remember where you want to go, what do you want to achieve. But still only tools. Therefore, when you define what do you want to achieve, always do according to your principles.

If you don’t do a principle-centered approach to your goals, at some moment you may see yourself against your own code of conduct. And this is a conflict no man should look for. If your assignment demands you to go against what you believe, stick to your values. Just like my goals worked for me in Doha, your plan to reach your objectives should work for you and make you better, not oppose your ethical standards.

The second disclaimer is to make space for personal rewards. Systematize the knowledge acquired so you can keep the benefits with less effortBreak your goals into smaller steps and allow yourself a treat when you reach them. It may sound Pavlovian, but you will stay motivated to keep going and to face the next challenge.

If possible, save a small part of your salary for the joie de vivre, those pleasant moments even the most disciplined allow themselves to push the gloom away. Be it a cold one in the nearby beer garden, or a brunch with your friends, as you wish. But I assure you: It’s worth it

Levi Borba is CEO of expatriateconsultancy.com, creator of the channel Small Business Hacks, and best-selling author. You can check his books here, his other articles here, or his Linkedin here.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Borba de Souza

Writer and business founder that enjoys writing about history and culture.

Founder of Small Business Hacks https://www.youtube.com/c/SmallBusinessHacks and https://expatriateconsultancy.com. My published books: https://amzn.to/3tyxDe0

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.