Journal logo

Side Hustles

My Experience and the Lessons I've Learned

By Reese MariePublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

I’ve been a side-hustler since the age of 17 when I first opened my Etsy shop. Ever since then, I have tried using a number of different websites to make money on the side, and my “businesses” have gone through some major developments. I am a big believer in side hustles. For me, they are a way to make money from the comfort of my home, on my own time, and in a way that I enjoy. There are so many options out there, and like I said, I have tried a lot of them. I believe there is a side hustle (or multiple side hustles) for everyone no matter what your skills are, if you’re working part time, full time, or not working. I want to share my experience with some of the different side hustles I have found success with.

NOTE: My skills happen to be in the creative area, and my side hustle experience reflects that. However, I hope the lessons I have learned can still apply to everybody in some way!

Etsy.com

The first business I ever started was an Etsy shop. At the time, it was called “Backstage Prop Shop,” but after a few years of updates, it is now called “Stop the Presses Prints” (stopthepressesprints.etsy.com). The first lesson I learned it that you need cohesion in your business. This is probably obvious to most people, but it wasn’t to me. My shop had no theme at all. I opened the shop because I have always loved to craft and I wanted to try making money with my crafts, but instead of deciding on one type of craft to sell, I just listed everything I made. Needless to say, my first couple months on Etsy saw little revenue. But I can say that over time, as I learned, my revenue began to increase. I now sell printable products and I make a steady monthly income. If you are artsy/crafty, Etsy is a great option for you!

NOTE: If you are thinking about opening an Etsy shop, use this link to get 40 free listings to start your shop: http://etsy.me/2or5l5D

Society6.com

Society 6 is another great option for anyone with artistic abilities. On this website, you upload your artwork, then Society6 puts your design on different products, including wall tapestries, t-shirts, notebooks, and mugs. You earn a percentage of the revenue whenever one of your designs sells. I started selling on Society6 a few months ago, and I get a couple sales each month. What I love about this as a side hustle is that it’s very passive. I use a lot of the same designs I make for Etsy, and then I pretty much just wait for sales to come in.

Upwork.com

Upwork is a website for freelancers, so this one applies to a wide range of skill sets. I’ve been able to get some nice gigs on Upwork doing jobs like editing videos and designing logos. I will warn you, however, that it can be difficult to find high paying jobs, and that you might find yourself applying for tons of jobs and not getting any.

Vocal.media

Vocal is a new side hustle for me, so there is not too much I can say about it, except that I love the idea of making money by writing articles. I have tried to start a blog before, but blogs can be difficult to monetize. I love that Vocal is automatically monetized and view based. I have yet to earn my first payout, but overall, Vocal seems like a great website if you have a knack for writing or if you are an expert in a particular topic.

Wag!

Here is a fun one for anyone who likes dogs! I recently signed up to be a dog walker with Wag, and I have already made money walking a few dogs around my area of the city. The application process is a little bit complicated, I will warn you. You have to provide recommendations to be accepted, and then go in to a Wag office for orientation. But once you do, you can walk dogs on your own time and make money while doing it!

advice
Like

About the Creator

Reese Marie

"That the powerful play goes on and that you may contribute a verse"

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.