Journal logo

Remember Your Content Speaks Volumes about Your Brand’s Value

Content Speaks Volumes about Your Brand’s Value

By Adrian PraljakPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

I remember the first time I got into affiliate marketing. I ran into an online community and it seems like everybody was in agreement. It felt like I was in a chorus. Everybody kept saying the same things. Everybody kept recommending the same things.

As you can well imagine, when I started more than a decade ago, the common refrain was “Content is king.” You keep hearing it over and over again. “Content is king.” Some people even exaggerate and say that “Content is emperor.”

That was all I needed to hear and I cranked out a tremendous amount of content. I don't mean to brag but I'm a pretty decent writer. So, I found all my target keywords and I just blasted out as much content as I could based on those keywords. The materials that I produced were highly readable; they addressed certain issues; they spoke to the needs of my intended readers.

I thought I did everything right. I thought everything was in the right place. I thought that I put in the right amount of time, effort, and focus on a solid and comprehensive online publishing strategy.

This is why I was really disappointed when after publishing my one thousandth article, I realized that I wasn’t making much money at all. All that time, effort, and energy seemed wasted.

As you can well imagine, I was about to throw in the towel. I felt I let myself down. I felt that this was just a massive waste of time.

That's when I discovered the power of branding. I quickly realized that if you are one of tens of millions of online publishers, you're not going to go far in this game. There are just too many of you.

When people type in a search query on Google, they go through different websites and if these websites don’t build solid brands¸ they are generic. They’re one and the same. Well, at least that’s how it feels to the searcher. There's really nothing distinguishing these websites.

That’s how I discovered the power of branding because if you build a solid brand, you give your visitors a reason to come back. Better yet, you give them a reason to evangelize whatever it is you are promoting.

Wouldn't you want to build a massive army of unpaid marketing volunteers? That's precisely what happens when you build a community around your brand.

The problem is it's very easy to think of content in very restricted terms. Content is not just limited to the articles and blog posts you publish online. It also involves your interactions in comment sections, how you engage with other influence leaders, as well as your guest posts. It also involves your social media replies as well as the specific official posts you put on your social media account.

All of these bits and pieces create a mosaic of your online brand. Be very mindful of every move you make online. They either build you up or they can start tearing you down. The worst part to all of this is that you are the last to know.

Do yourself a big favor. Start building a brand on Day 1. Everything you do can either hurt or help your brand. Build a brand that would withstand the test of time.

The key to success:

Run your social media marketing campaigns through a FUNNEL

  • Top of funnel: HUGE social media reach and visibility
  • Bottom of the funnel: Proven buyers who convert predictably

Automating social media marketing to turn reach into CASH requires you use a MAILING LIST

  • this is the TOOL you use to convert traffic into CASH
  • the money IS in the list if you know what you’re doing!

The END GAME? Convert SOCIAL MEDIA REACH into LIST membership. Sell to your list. Shape the conversation and continue to SELL/CONVERT your list over the LONG TERM.

Use CURATED CONTENT mixed with ORIGINAL CONTENT and CALL TO ACTIONS to turn reach into traffic. Use your list to turn traffic into CASH.

This is the SECRET to social media marketing!

What social media marketing is and what it isn’t

  • Managing your expectations
  • Social media marketing can build brands through content that delivers solid VALUE
  • BUT... content marketing can only go so far

8 Reasons WHY you need to do social media marketing

  1. Reason #1: Social media’s huge direct and viral reach
  2. Reason #2: Social media is HABITUAL
  3. Reason #3: Target audiences using different content formats
  4. Reason #4: Most social media platforms can be segmented
  5. Reason #5: Sharing content on most platforms can be automated
  6. Reason #6: You can run a two track marketing campaign using mailing lists
  7. Reason #7: Your brand gets natural repetition through multi-platform marketing
  8. Reason #8: Save money through content repurposing

Different business types require different content and publishing strategies

  • publishing
  • eCommerce/drop shipping
  • email list
  • traffic sales

Different strategies require different content types

  1. audio
  2. slide shows
  3. infographics
  4. diagrams
  5. blog links
  6. videos
  7. Don’t just think LINKS!

Follow – Spam – Unfollow Used to work... not anymore

Social media platforms will reward or punish you based on engagement

  • Audiences are looking for QUALITY CONTENT
  • Low quality means low engagement means less reach
  • Other failed methods
  • hashtag hunting
  • Influencer spamming
  • Automated publishing with no outreach (‘Spaghetti on the Wall’ ‘strategy’)

advice
Like

About the Creator

Adrian Praljak

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.