Journal logo

Realistic ways to increase your earnings on Vocal.media

There is no magic bullet for instant success but there are methods to make sure the money comes in steadily.

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
4

Every writer wants to be successful and when you see it happen for others you become more motivated. There have been a few success stories shared on Vocal.media where creators have written articles that went viral. That's wonderful but realistically is not the norm. There is nothing wrong with having that goal in mind and attempting to achieve it. In the meantime, there is something else you can be doing that will benefit you in the long term. The one major way to ensure that your income on Vocal is steady is to keep writing. Don't become discouraged and give up because good things do come to those who wait.

I was very distressed when after several months, the articles I wrote only had 5 or 10 views each and I stopped writing for Vocal. Later I saw an article that was written by a Facebook friend was an editor’s choice. It also was the first to come up in the search engine when I was researching the subject. This encouraged me so I began writing again. My nitch is soap opera spoilers and breaking news and my story that has the most views thus far was a soap opera breaking news item about a beloved daytime actress. You can read it here. This article made me $47.43. The story that had the second highest number of views was also breaking news regarding daytime actors and COVID. Here is the link. Stories about recent events can gain a lot of views but only within a small window of time, until another story breaks. Whatever genre is your niche for writing, please consider being the first to report a story and this will gain you extra views in the short term.

Evergreen articles will pull in views all year long. They may not garner a lot of money in the beginning but over time these can really add up. When I first wrote the article about walking in the rain it received less than 100 views. Months later I was looking for another article and noticed that the rain story had over 1, 000 reads. This same thing happened with an article I wrote about the origin of sagging pants. It was not getting many reads on Facebook but I later noticed that it was being read and now has close to 2500 views. This may seem like small peanuts to someone who is taking in the big bucks but to a struggling writer this should give you hope.

Give yourself time because more people will have read your evergreen article in 6 months than in 2. Keep in mind the reverse is true regarding breaking news. You might also consider seasonal articles that you can reshare at appropriate times. I just resisted an article on social media about Friday the 13th which can happen from 1 to 3 times a year. I will do the same with stories I have written about Christmas, Easter, July 4, Thanksgiving and other holidays. Breaking news, evergreen and stories for specific occasions have helped me continue to get reads on a consistent basis.

Please do not beat yourself up and remember to set small goals. Aiming too high can be frustrating. I won second place in two vocal contests and thought I was on my way to winning them all. I became so disappointed when I had not yet won any more challenges but I have now adjusted my attitude. I will continue to enter the challenges in the hope of winning, but I understand that I will not win them all. Something else you can do to increase earnings is to join Vocal Plus where you get payouts at $20.00. Work on obtaining your first payout then up the ante. Give it some time then set a goal of being paid twice a week then daily. It gives you something to look forward to.

The key is to learn and grow. Pay attention to the editor’s picks and get a feeling for what works. Don’t ever try to copy what someone else does, but use their method in your category and make it personal. Slow and steady wins the race. You don’t want to put too much focus on a story that gets a lot of views but pay attention to your daily averages. I was pretty distressed at averaging only 60 reads per day but I just kept writing. I paid attention and began turning every idea into a story. I wrote about the 3020 election, health and nutrition, COVID related issues, breaking news, the Royals and my soaps. It’s important to write quality articles and develop your nitch but don’t be a one trick pony. Variety is the spice of life.

Not long ago one Vocal creator challenged everyone to write a story in every category. You may not be able to do that but try to branch out from your usual stories. The bottom line is to keep writing. Improving your expertise in your chosen area, and writing in other categories, will make a difference. Iam now also receiving tips on a more regular basis and I truly appreciate this. Earnings from reads, having articles become an editor’s pick, winning contests and receiving tips all work together for great motivation.

how to
4

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.