Journal logo

POV part three; second person

writing tips

By Amethyst ChampagnePublished 3 years ago Updated 6 months ago 3 min read
1
POV part three; second person
Photo by Possessed Photography on Unsplash

For the last installment of my POV posts, which is going to be shorter than the other two, I’m going to be discussing the second-person point of view.

So, let’s get to it!

So, What is Second-Person?

I’m sure many of you probably haven’t heard of this one because it isn’t used much in full-length novels but more so in short stories and flash fiction, which aren’t always publicly known.

It is the you/your/yours point of view.

While there is technically a narrator for this POV, it offers the unique ability to place the reader as the protagonist by saying you instead of he/she or I. In a strange sense, you are simultaneously the reader, the main character, and the narrator.

I find the concept cool, considering so many of us dream of being in the worlds of our favorite characters, after all. I give applause to whoever invented it.

Due to its nature, there is only one version of second-person, unlike with third-person, which has limited, multiple, and more. You can’t really have multiple POVs when the style is you.

That would be mind-bending, if even possible.

You want to place your audience with your characters in all fiction and specific non-fiction stories, such as biographies, autobiographies, memoirs, and everything in between.

With second-person, you will be able to better express what you’re conveying, and your audience can connect on a deeper level with the emotions and sensations the characters are experiencing.

My Experience With Second-Person

I once read a flash fiction piece online one day during my creative writing class, as we were supposed to read flash fiction pieces on a website for a certain amount of time.

It was written in second-person, and it took me a few minutes to realize it.

The story itself was interesting. I don’t remember exactly what the story was about exactly other than it was sci-fi and possibly metaphysical, but the fact that I didn’t catch the POV type until around halfway through shocked me and stayed with me years later.

I had written a short fiction story in second-person a couple of years ago, The Thrift Shop Find. It was interesting to write a story in this way. But it also felt so natural for that piece.

What to be Mindful of When Writing in Second-Person

However, if you are not careful and choose to draft multiple stories in this POV, like the common issue with first-person, it might all sound like the same character, even if it isn’t, due to the you aspect.

You might need to watch out for slipping back into the I/she/he lingo if that’s what you’re accustomed to. It may not be an issue for you, but just in case.

Plus, you’ll have to watch what tense you’re using. I read over a piece I did a few years ago as I plan on publishing it onto this platform and found I switched from future to present tense a few times. Either one, I think, is all right, depending on the situation, but stick with one.

Now, I don’t have advice to avoid the first problem like I did with the other two points of view, or for anything else, my experience with reading and writing in this POV is sparse at best, although I have read a couple on Vocal recently.

So, I encourage you to go looking for answers to questions. I’m sure you have at least one.

I must say that second-person often tends to be associated with certain writers, so if you want to try second-person, do your best to make it your own.

To End Things

Well, whichever point of view type you decide to use, whether first, third, second, or a mixture of third and first, which happens more than you’d think, make sure it’s what you want to do and write!

***

Thank you for reading! I hope you enjoyed it. Subscribe for more content!

P.S. If you want to show your appreciation, likes and tips are always welcome. :)

how to
1

About the Creator

Amethyst Champagne

I create anything from fiction to personal stories, poetry, and more. I'm also on Substack, Ko-fi, and Gumroad!

My Twitter(X) handle is @AmethystC99.

Visit my website if you need help editing your fantastic story!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.