Journal logo

Persistence Is the Answer

The question: “How can I be a successful writer?

By Brenda MahlerPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like
Photo by Christian Bowen on Unsplash

I observed a chicken egg wobble slightly. Held captive, the chick peeped and pipped slowly cracking the shell attempting to escape the confinement. The persistence of the baby mesmerized my attention; the determination, power, and desire to survive was an instinctual force. I suppose part of me believed by observing, I shared energy that encouraged a successful outcome, so as I watched I silently channeled positive thoughts. After hours of strenuous work, he entered the world wet, exhausted and wobbly on his feet, alone in the incubator until he dried, gained strength, and fluffed up.

Watching this baby chick, I realized writing requires the same persistence to bring life to the narrative on paper. My mind perspires while my fingers peck at the keyboard attempting to record ideas. After a writing session, I unfold my body, stiff from sitting in a chair stuffed under a desk in the corner of the bedroom. My body stretches and stands unsteadily. With the words recorded, I allow the writing to incubate and take on a life of its own.

From experience, I have developed my recipe for success. By following this procedure, I have accomplished more achievements than any recipe I have used in the kitchen. My formula produces one completed manuscript after another — vegetarian in honor of our chicken.

Ingredients

A clear purpose

Honestly, some of my best writing varies from the original topic. That’s ok because the best chefs throw in a little extra spice as needed. But in the end, the purpose of the writing must be communicated to the reader. Nothing is more frustrating than finishing reading a book and feeling the time was wasted. Words should either create emotions, provide enlightenment, offer instruction, take us somewhere outside our bodies, or inspire actions.

When I finish reading, something inside me should be altered, either in my mind or heart. When the back cover of a book folds closed, I want to be better from living between the pages.

As a child, “The Monster at the End of This Book”, produced giggles even though I had to sleep with the lights on. In middle school, “Go Ask Alice” allowed me to enter the mind of a teenage drug addict. As a senior, “Night” showed me the horrors inside a WWII death camp. And I survived childbirth by reading “What to Expect When You’re Expecting.” Every text provides readers with value. What is the purpose of what you are writing?

Nobody appreciates bait and switch tactics. My ire grows when previews promise a comedy and a movie delivers a documentary. I do judge a book by its cover; we all do. A contract exists between the writer and the reader that pledges to provide a product as advertised. Be consistent in your writing.

An audience

Once the purpose is clear, the audience will come. If I had read a book on pregnancy at fifteen, eyebrows would have raised (at least in 1970). Reading Elie Wiesel’s “Night” as a child would have required me to seek counseling; it is exhilarating to be frightened but debilitating to be horrified. Identify the appropriate audience. Once they hold your words in their hands, talk to them. Get personal and participate in an intimate conversation.

A burning desire

A writer should write from a burning desire in her gut, a craving to accomplish a purpose. When I write a piece without passion, it is obvious as the material reads like a report. An author should become enthralled in words, captivated by the story, and in a relationship with the character. If she isn’t involved in the words why would other readers?

If the desire is to earn money, quit and get a 9 to 5 job because it will be obvious. If the words you write make your heart race with excitement, if you wake up in the middle of the night with an idea, or if you have ever pulled the car over after passing a waterfall to record a description while it was fresh in your mind, then call yourself a writer.

Preparation

A Positive Mindset

Reality check:

  • John Steinbeck lived with self-doubt about his abilities. An entry in his journal read, “I am not a writer. I’ve been fooling myself and other people.”
  • Dr. Seuss had his first book rejected 27 times.
  • Before Stephen King finished the novel, “Carrie,” he became frustrated and threw away early drafts.

The list of famous authors who struggled would fill the pages of an encyclopedia. Every writer confronts negativity — or they should. It strengthens the desire. The goal is not to avoid conflict but to expect and embrace it.

“You can only become great at that thing you’re willing to sacrifice for.” — Maya Angelou

Great writing is a labor of love and hate. The two go hand in hand because the process is grueling but rewarding. Accept at the beginning of the process that failures are imperative but know that a positive mindset provides nourishment.

Directions

Create a workstation

It should be away from distractions. Equip it with any supplies necessary to your personal writing process. I currently have coffee (my non-negotiable), my phone, a printer, three labeled notebooks (narratives published, poetry published, and queries), a copy of Writer’s Market, tissue, a printer with reams of paper, writing utensils, and a garbage can.

Establish a set time to write daily

Life can get in the way, but I always write in the morning. Sometimes it may be for a brief time if an appointment is scheduled, other times I may write for hours. However, I write something.

Carry tools to record ideas at all times

The best ideas come to me at unexpected times. Though I do have a journal, most often I speak a note into my phone for reference later.

Keep all drafts of everything

One of my favorite pieces emerged from a draft I wrote 15 years earlier and discovered in a pile of papers. It gained strength over the years and my perspective evolved providing an appropriate angle to finish the piece.

Keep an open mind and write

Stifling ideas harms the creative flow. Write and after reflection, revise. The gold mixes with the dirt but shines when mined.

Know how to optimize the computer tools

The more proficient a writer is with technology the easier the task. (This advice comes to a person who once wrote on a typewriter.) Computer resources create possibilities. When editing, I use the read-aloud feature in Word because it assists in identifying errors. The word count, thesaurus, spellcheck are invaluable. Explore the possibilities.

Develop a folder of pictures or bookmark sites for images

In a folder on my computer, I store pictures that prompt ideas for writing. When a story is completed, a picture from this folder supplements the writing or if one is not available an internet search is conducted. Links to several cites that offer free images are bookmarked: Unsplash.com, metmuseum.org, and pexels.com are my favorites.

Implement a method to organize files on the computer

Trying to find a document can steal valuable time. Without a well-defined filing system, great writing can disappear into the abyss of words.

Backup everything

I suggest using the cloud in case your computer dies. (To everything there is a season.) In fact, by turning on auto-save, inspiration can be saved without any effort.

Temperature

Writing can be cold and lonely. Find support groups to provide inspiration and encouragement.

  • I have one friend who reads everything I post. She simply shares a thumbs-up, smiling face, or one-line comment.
  • Depending on the subject, I share articles and ideas to different Facebook groups: Medium writers, bloggers, stroke caregiver spaces, educators cites, and parenting groups. There even exist multiple groups for different genres: humor, memoirs, inspirational, etc.
  • Social media sites offer opportunities for feedback: Twitter, Quora, Reddit, and Medium.

Time

As much as is needed

Don’t rush the process. Sometimes walking away and returning with a fresh mind proves more effective than continuously hitting a wall (that only works for the chick).

____________________________________________________

This article started with a chick trying to hatch from an egg leading to strategies for a writer to break out of oblivion supported by a vegetarian recipe for writing success.

Now, it is time to admit all recipes flop at some point, but we still cook, eat, and survive. The painful reality to acknowledge is sometimes our words may be bland, too spicy, unappetizing, or spoiled, but as writers, we owe it to ourselves to persist. Keep pecking those keys to form words, sentences, and paragraphs.

“Writing’s a lot like cooking. Sometimes the cake won’t rise, no matter what you do, and every now and again the cake tastes better than you ever could have dreamed.” — Neil Gaiman

Persistent: continuing firmly or obstinately in a course of action in spite of difficulty or opposition. (Oxford Dictionary)

how to
Like

About the Creator

Brenda Mahler

Travel

Writing Lessons

Memoirs

Poetry

Books AVAILABLE ON AMAZON.

* Lockers Speak: Voices from America's Youth

* Understanding the Power Not Yet shares Kari’s story following a stroke at 33.

* Live a Satisfying Life By Doing it Doggy Style explains how humans can life to the fullest.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.