Journal logo

Pandemic Heroes

A Letter to our Frontline Workers Amid the COVID-19 Crisis

By Zehna ReddonPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Pandemic Heroes
Photo by United Nations COVID-19 Response on Unsplash

Dearest Heroes; Doctors, Nurses, Midwives, and all other Healthcare Professionals,

You are the heroes we look to, on the front line of it all; exposed to things we may not be, and fighting to protect yourselves and your families. Many of you, despite your utmost efforts, have fallen victim to the COVID-19 virus regardless. As a mother, I thank you and; my heart does ache for you and your families... I only pray constantly, for your safety and health. Quite obviously, I have no clue what this is like for you; as I stand on the sidelines as a young mother with a baby boy; among one of the most at risk. I worry every day for people like him, but it's because of you that we get by.

You are the heroes we look to, yet you're not thanked enough, and I can bet anything there are a lot more emotions inside; a lot more tears shed behind closed doors than many believe. But it’s because of you and your generosity that many of us still stand. If I could do one thing, I’d take your place for even just a few minutes… so you can breathe; think… recollect yourselves. You all spend so much time taking care of us, but in the end of it all; who takes care of you?

You work hard every day and you can’t get angry, you can’t react, not even with tears; you hold it back because you’ve got to be strong for those patients who rely on you so much, you don’t have time to cry. Besides, it wouldn’t look very good to your supervisor would it? You’ve lived your life separating your emotions from your work, because you have to; and I bet anything it all comes out on the way home sometimes and, it hurts me to know that.

Many of you deserve big awards, such as Nobel Prizes, to be honest yet; you can’t even accept a gift during this time, even though you deserve it all; even though if you did it would means stepping back and taking care of yourself for just a little while… you can’t accept it for a lot of reasons, but you want to. You want to hug your patients and their families, and you can’t and it kills you. Some of you can’t go home to your families due to the risks; and some of you never make it home at all. Nobody thinks about that, though, because most people only think selfishly. I think about it all the time, because I’d love to be doing the work you do.

If I could tell you anything I’d just thank you, and I’d tell you how much my family and I, as well as so many others, really do appreciate you. If there was any way to show you, I would do it but; it feels to me like nothing could really express that gratitude, no matter what I try. You truly are the frontline heroes, and we count on you but; in these times it’s important to be thankful, too.

Thank you, front line heroes, for everything you do for us. Without people like you, we wouldn’t have a chance at getting through COVID-19, or any pandemic that may arise in the future. My thanks and gratitude for everything you do, and everything you are; is endless, infinite; unexplainable.

If there’s one thing I ask of you, it’s that you take care of yourselves in all of this. You make it easier on us; don’t allow it to get harder on you. Thank you for everything.

heroes and villains
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.