Journal logo

My Non-Profit

First Steps

By Iria Vasquez-PaezPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

I talked to my co-leader yesterday since I’ve decided nobody is truly in charge yet except the both of us, and we both decided I work on the business plan, she works on finding a suitable third-in-command for our organization. I came up with a name for the said organization, and that is “We Help,” because we are intent on helping people with chronic illnesses/disabilities that make it hard to get away from families whether the family is abusive or stable. For starters, I as a leader need a job that can do that for me, by making a stable income.

Every morning I hop on Indeed and start applying. Indeed is very organized. So I have to pay a visit to a domestic violence shelter or two so that I can figure out how my shelter will work, as well as how I can buy a warehouse to set up a portion of that warehouse with computers so that we can have a shared workspace that allows us to work from home. I need to connect with other disability rights activists with Skype.

So if anybody out there reads this and wants to be involved, I’d suggest you contact me via Facebook messenger or my iriavp.com blog. We definitely need a third equal partner with experience running a non-profit. I’m the sort of person who has many irons in the fire, and I like it that way. I’m writing a business plan for the non-profit today, which is the first step I need to take on my own. Then I’m going to work on calling other non-profits around to see who I can recruit into our organization. I do have one partner in this who can help. It is a side project for her but it is a part-time thing for me as I have many irons in the fire.

I’m also looking for a good work from home job. My hands are full with many things to do right now. We need to establish a hierarchy that isn’t necessarily a real hierarchy. As in, everybody is in charge as an equal, not one person is above another person in the chain of command. I could email my old therapist, talk about my idea to my new therapist, and try to recruit from my occupational therapy clinic which I’ve been attempting to go to regularly. If I stay home instead of getting out because I’m traveling, I can make therapy from the 8th- to the 15th. I need to pay a visit to other community centers for mentally ill people.

This is something I haven’t done yet but I’m taking a long break from my job training school so I can get this stuff done. My peer counselor may be a huge resource into finding people as well. I need to arrange interviews with disabled people. I might need an accountant for this non-profit as well but I don’t trust the one I know and my family is totally out of the question. If any of you find interest in joining up, please feel free to send an email. We Help’s core values are about helping abused disabled people break free of their families as they need jobs to do so. I estimate I need enough money to rent or buy out a warehouse in Downtown San Jose. This would be our base of operations, and then there is the matter of getting computers for the shared workspace environment. We need laptops as well as desktops. I have no idea how to begin to hustle this sort of donation from some big company in the Bay Area. If any of you want to duplicate this shelter elsewhere as a network, feel free to contact me whether you want to volunteer until I get the fundraisers we need to have to go since I need to pay my people eventually but until that happens, you have to be a volunteer who will get a cut of seed donations.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Iria Vasquez-Paez

I have a B.A. in creative writing from San Francisco State. Can people please donate? I'm very low-income. I need to start an escape the Ferengi plan.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.