Journal logo

My first Top Story on Vocal

I am so proud, Thank you Vocal.Media

By AbikaPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
3

This is another short story, just to celebrate my first big accomplishment on Vocal and encourage others to stay with their passion for writing. After a month on Vocal, 1 of my stories was accredited in the top stories list on the homepage. By the way, if you haven't seen the article you can read it.

It was a truly heart-warming and humbling experience. I have been writing officially for about 4 months. Most of my articles are published on Medium and I started writing for Vocal only a little over 1 month now. Thus far I have 21 published articles on Vocal with 286 views and counting.

Why I started writing for Vocal?

After doing research Vocal was 1 of the popular writing platforms where new and experienced writers can make a few extra dollars to supplement their income. At the time, I needed the extra cash while developing my writing.

Over the last month, I was able to make a few milestones, that I wasn't able to before. Although it isn't much $46 is a big step up from $0. More so, 2 other articles were voted are "Awesome Stories" on vocal for which they received $5 each. Those articles are, "Vocal the perfect match for loud writers" and "How I have grown on Vocal in just 24 days".

Although I have accomplished so much on Vocal, this is just the tip of the iceberg. There is much more room to grow and a lot more to share about.

If you are reading this and haven't started writing then there are a few things you should know:

  1. Writing isn't as easy as most writers make it look. It takes commitment and perseveration.
  2. You cannot make millions overnight with just a few articles. It takes both quality and quantity to achieve the life many want from writing. It will take at least 6 months to build an audience.
  3. Remember, each article you produce should answer questions, explain concepts, inspire or educate the person reading it. It is not "ok" to just produce any article.
  4. Always use a writing tool like Grammarly, to edit and correct your articles before publishing any article. Grammarly has been a true lifesaver on this journey. After only a few months my writing has improved significantly.

What inspired this piece?

Finding a cure for my acne has led me into deep research from both Professional and no so professional advice for dealing with acne. There wasn't any 1 that helped because I didn't understand what caused the acne in the first place. So I went back after talking to a dermatologist found out what caused acne. Then combining her advice and all the information I gathered from research, I established a strict skincare routine.

The 4 pieces of advice in this article are what I use, even today, to help control acne breakout and scaring. In fact, I wouldn't have published this article if I didn't believe these tips would truly help.

The acne I suffer from is cystic and a single monthly pimple. The cystic kind left my face with small cavities and pigmented scars, while the pimples widen pores. You can guess, it sucked! So now that I have found a solution that worked for me maybe others can benefit. So You learn what causes the breakouts and how to prevent and treat acne.

SO, if you are suffering from acne or know someone who is then you should definitely check 4 need-to-know acne advice from dermatologists.

My top story on Vocal

This was my first story on the top story line-up. Thank you Vocal editors for voting this story into the top story lineup. I am truly humbled and excited because this was the first of my articles that have hit a top stop on both Vocal and Medium.

I will continue to provide stories that are helpful to anyone reading it.

You should start writing if you have the passion for it

If you love reading and writing then it's time you signup for Vocal Now and starts adding to the information pool. Writing is a well-established method of both education and influence on all media fronts.

Just a few pointers on writing though:

  1. Your writing should be educational, instructive, descriptive or explanatory, or maybe a combination.
  2. Fictional writing, which I do not write about but love to read, should transport the reading into the scene of the plot.
  3. Keep pieces to the point, only adding explanations and expanding where necessary.
  4. In writing, keep things clean. The best part is the opportunity to think about what needs to be written and find the best way to "speak your mind".

Thank you Vocal for the acknowledgment. Thank you for reading.

By Howie R on Unsplash

advice
3

About the Creator

Abika

I started writing because it was my way to vent. Now I absolutely enjoyed writing and sharing.

I also write at Medium, find me at:

Medium lisby230.medium.com

Twitter Healthwise94358280

facebook peppingyourstep

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.