Journal logo

Ms. Bastien’s Home for Blossoming Hearts

The fearless leader behind At The Creative Space acting studio.

By Samantha KaszasPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
1
Ms. Bastien

A mentor is a special gift. Through teachings, sometimes gentle, sometimes fierce, their voices end up playing in our heads as a kind of subconscious track.

I wonder if you know how often your voice runs through my head. How often I hear you clear as a bell when I’m making an important decision, or facing what seems like an impossible challenge.

You know, often I hear you when I’m worried about what others think. You say,

“It’s your life. This is YOUR life. You only have one so do what is in your heart.”

With that, all the other voices fall away. Worries about what friends, family or society will think falls to the side because I know you are right. It is my life and I’ve got to manifest my dreams while I have the opportunity.

When we met, you were teaching me how to chase a very specific dream. I came to you for help – I had aspirations of making a career as an actress. You were holding classes. I knew I liked you from the moment we first talked on the phone. I could tell even then, that you asked for excellence from your mentees. I had big ambitions and was eager to work with someone who treated the craft with reverence and respect. You gave me exactly that.

But you gave me so much more.

You taught me to follow my heart. It’s an action that sounds so obvious. Something we are told to do from the time we are young children, but the truth is, I didn’t really know how to follow my heart. I didn’t know what it was saying.

You taught me to listen.

I think that’s your gift. You hear people’s hearts, even when they can’t hear their own yet.

We spent years working together towards that dream of a career as an actress. You helped me to grow in numerous ways – as a thespian, a business woman, an adult. The joy over those years wasn’t only limited to the lessons. It was also full of laughter and love. You showed me what it was like to have a family of peers that supported each other in the journey towards their goals. This was very important, especially in an industry where competition is notoriously high and it doesn’t feel like many people are cheering for you.

Those Tuesday nights spent doing scene study in your cozy studio, full of tears, laughs and discovery will surely be some of my most cherished days for the rest of my life.

Creating a community.

You helped me to understand the true agency I have in my life. Intention is everything. Every day counts. I can make things happen. You’ve given so many others the same gift. You truly see other people for their core beings. I’ve witnessed it many times over. I’ve seen the look on peoples’ faces after a meeting with you. The look was that of someone who had just had their very existence validated.

Being truly seen can be hard to come by but it is a gift you give generously. Because of that, people flock to you – and together, we create a beautiful little community. A community that has created wonderful things together – friendships, memories, creative collaborations. You are the seed of these connections. Without your impact, many of our defining moments wouldn’t have come to be.

Thank you for seeing us.

Suzanne Bastien founder of At The Creative Space Acting Studio and mentor too many.

Then, things changed.

After a while that dream that we had been working so hard towards, started fading. It wasn’t for lack of achievement – in fact progress had never been better. But what I realized somewhere along the way, was that you weren’t teaching me how to be a successful actress, you were teaching me how to be a successful human.

You taught me to question my actions and intentions. You taught me to fill my life with purpose. You taught me to dedicate my time to things worthwhile.

And I had finally learned how to listen to my heart.

That’s how I realized that my heart wanted something else. I was ready for a change and a new direction. I was ready to pursue a new dream.

At first, I was scared to tell you of my plans because our whole relationship had been founded on this shared goal. I was afraid of losing my mentor. My friend.

I knew this might be a hard moment for you too. You had always fought for my dreams when I didn’t have the fight in me. I also knew that you would question my decision. That you would ask me all the tough questions and I’d have to give you honest answers. That’s exactly what happened and I am all the better for it. Even in my move to a new life path you were still there for me, providing the same keen and compassionate love and advice as always.

Our mentorship sessions were always a breath of fresh air. A drink of cool water. A warm hug after a good cry. Everyone needs and deserves this type of free-flowing love and support.

Thank you for giving it too so many.

A few words from other long-time mentees who have received many lessons and joy from having you as a teacher...

Suzanne changed my life. I came to her for acting and career mentorship and left with a life mentor I never knew I needed. Suzanne was able to see me, fully, and guide me through not only the stages of my career but also my life. It is with her mentorship where I was pushed in my craft, to create a TV series, and reach goals I never thought were imaginable. Not only did I get a mentor, but a lifelong friend. - VF

Suzanne is truly irreplaceable. I have been lucky enough for her to agree to mentor me through this crazy business and I truly don't know what I would do without her friendship and guidance. Her gigantic heart, empathy, wealth of knowledge and support has helped me walk through some very difficult times. Being an artist is not an easy path, but having someone like Suzanne as a mentor helps to navigate the waters of uncertainty and darkness. She has made such a huge difference in my life and I'm deeply grateful. - MW

Suzanne has been my most steadfast champion for years, weathering me through the murkiest passages of my career and bolstering every win. No one else I've studied with invests in their students with the same fiery vigor and unceasing care. She's unparalleled in her field. - MP

Suzanne has been working in the film, television, and commercial industry in Vancouver, Toronto and Los Angeles for over two decades. If you would like to learn more about Suzanne's passion for mentoring and coaching actors visit her website: http://atthecreativespace.ca/ or connect on Instagram: @atthecreativespace.

Thank you Suzanne for continuing to inspire me. And thank you for those here supporting my new journey, part of which is sharing my love, stories and life experience, through words. Check out my profile for more stories and consider sharing this post, subscribing to my page or tipping/pledging to support more of these tales. Much love xx S.

advice
1

About the Creator

Samantha Kaszas

Experienced Storyteller. Amateur Writer.

Here to tell stories and sharpen my craft.

Thank you for stopping by.

@Samanthacarlyk

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.