Journal logo

MORE cookie mommy!

THREE RESOURCEFUL WAYS TO SOURCE WRITING TOPICS FOR VOCAL

By Lisa LovePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
MORE cookie mommy!
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Sitting here, wanting to write the next big thing, I quietly ponder as my newborn sleeps and two and a half year old watches cartoons. How oh how do I get to "Top Story" during this rare quiet moment in a day of much loudness?

What to write? 

Suddenly, out of nowhere, my two year old shouts, "MORE cookie, Mommy!" 

I jerk a glance in the direction of my newborn to see if she stirs...The coast seems clear...And after getting more cookie, as clearly instructed by a child who seems to understand the value of quiet and the trade-in value of loudness, I realize...

EUREKA! That's it. The title of my next story!

...

Okay, I'm back. Kids are asleep. The whole cookie shtick woke up the youngest, and now all of a sudden it's 10pm. Such is the life of a "Mommy." 

So, yes. The cookie. The cookie title. That brings me to the first of THREE RESOURCEFUL WAYS TO SOURCE WRITING TOPICS FOR VOCAL...

By Charles Deluvio on Unsplash

WAY 1: THE NEXT THING SOMEONE SAYS TO YOU

It's fun, because you get to be spontaneous based one someone else's whim. And you just go with it. See the world that stems from the seed of another person's direction, and ponder the ripples made by the words you yourself say to others. Step outside of the box of your own rote rhetorical hamster wheel, and ride the waves in someone else's sea of language for a paddle or two. 

Also, this is almost like taking direction from the Universe, because it's so open. You could go half a day without so much as a call or hello and really wonder what that next story will be about. While waiting, you can always dive into the next way to source a story by opening a book and writing about...

By Ben White on Unsplash

WAY 2: THE NEXT THING YOU READ

Oftentimes, I will indeed open a book I love and read just a line and let that soak in for a while.

Here, I've got a goodie. Just opened up Joseph Murphy's Magic of Faith to "On the other hand, you can choose happiness." Yes, please! I could write for ages on that topic. Will I? Perhaps. If anyone tips me for this article, I will write essays for all of the topics listed here. How's that for a deal?

Anyway, I'm a self-help junkie, soaking in any given line really works for my material. Not so sure if you would want to do that with a Stephen King novel! However, if you read that stuff, well then, why not see if that type of writing calls to you as well? You could be the next great novelist and just caught in the same old genres that don't suit your voice when you should really be writing what you absolutely love, which coincidentally brings us to the next well of wisdom from which to source that written gold...

By Ian Schneider on Unsplash

WAY 3: ONE OF THE THINGS YOU REALLY LOVE

Right now, you might make a list of your own. You can list three things that tickle you, three things that intrigue you, or three things that light you up. I am talking about passion like cold fire through you and a new life about you, maybe even a new twinkle in your eye that someone might notice and mention. 

I'll go, too. Here, three things for me: writing (obvious card, I know), angels, and love. Since I'm the author here, I've got to hit it out of the park. So I'll just go ahead and use all three! "Written by Angels with Love." Voila! That would be my article. I may write that regardless. 

So there you have it. Have at it! Write away. And I will, too. And now I'll never think I have nothing to write about, and I hope you do, too. 

As I mentioned, if ANYONE tips me, I will write all three of the story topic examples listed in this article. And I will love it. Might even make a career out of it ;)

how to
Like

About the Creator

Lisa Love

Deeply impassioned lifelong writer, Cum Laude Honors in an English Degree from U.C.I, fam with a magi and two starseed babes, love angels, God, Prosperity, Gaia, partnership, and healing the Universe by healing myself.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.