Journal logo

More Brainstorming For My Blog

Hopefully It Can Help You!

By Shelley WengerPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Photo Courtesy of Canva

I have not had much time to work on my class this week, so I spent some time with it today. The goal of the class is to work on coming up with a good topic.

Here are some of my brainstorming sessions. Hopefully, they will help you, even if it is just a little bit. You might want to ask yourself the same questions to help you find a little more clarity with your blog.

Lesson 2 Questions:

What motivates you? My answer is simple because I know that I want to work at home. I want to be able to stay home with my kids and work around their schedules. I want to be able to grow a business in the next few years.

That being said, I also have other passions, including reading, writing, and scrapbooking. I also have a passion for animals. I am a certified veterinary technician and that is what my part-time job entails.

Now, think about different groups of people that you identify with? Who do you want to help? Who do you want to work with? What do you want to do for them? I have finally figured out that I want to help busy and overwhelmed small business owners just like me. They may or may not have small children like me.

They are probably struggling to find a balance between spending time with their kids and working to support them. I want to help people who need to blog but just don’t want to do it. Maybe they don’t have the time, or they simply do not like to write.

Lesson 3 Questions:

What skills do you have for these people? I am good with writing and blogging, so I should share these with others who aren't.

Lesson 4 Questions:

What are some potential business opportunities that you have come up with from these exercises? I am still sticking with my current business thought. I want to blog for other small business owners who are too busy to do it themselves.

Lesson 5 Questions:

What is your business reality? Write out your ideal business plan including size, employees, income, etc? I want a freelance writing and blogging business. I want to be the only employee. BlogMutt (now Verblio) is my main writing business, and I am hoping to write more for them, so I can make more money.

I want to continue to work on my blog. I know that I need to devote more time and energy to my bog to improve it and make it better, so I can find the type of clients that I deserve. I have also decided to focus on Vocal to bring in some extra money, along with the ability to write about things that matter to me!

Photo Courtesy of Canva

However, I worry about having only one source of income as a freelance writer. You worry about losing that income and then having to start over again. I am hoping that as my blog grows, I will find a few clients to write for. I want to also find some other places to write for.

At this time, I am not in a rush to get clients since my time is limited until my children go to school. By then, I hope to have a few potential clients lined up so that my business will be able to fully grow.

That is what I envision for my business now and in the future. Do you need to think about your business at all? Should you start blogging? Are there other goals that you should be focusing on, instead of what you are?

business
1

About the Creator

Shelley Wenger

Small town country girl in southern Pennsylvania. Raising two boys on a small farm filled with horses, goats, chickens, rabbits, ducks, dogs, and a cat. Certified veterinary technician and writer at Virtually Shelley.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.