Journal logo

Making Money On Vocal

Yes! You Can...

By Rebecca Lynn IveyPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1

I have seen lots of people questioning the validity of Vocal. I watched a video on Youtube where a man was trashing the platform, claiming that in five years he had only acquired a little more than thirty cents. This seems to be a real issue that people are seeking an honest answer to. I wanted to share my experience with you about Vocal and hopefully give you a little bit of hope.

First I want to say that publishers really do use Vocal to scout for talent. The Torture Realm Publishing Company from Blue Springs Missouri found my story titled "Rebecca" here on Vocal. They liked it so much that I was invited to write under their label. With this said I can say for a 100% fact that you can be discovered by using Vocal.

I have only been using Vocal for a short time. I'll admit that I too was curious if paying $10.00 a month was really worth it. If you love to write, then yes it is worth it just to be able to write your stories and put them in front of real people. Those of us with a true passion for writing know that it isn't really about the money as much as it is the love that we have for it. However, we can all agree that earning a little money for doing something that we enjoy doing is priceless.

If you're looking at Vocal in hopes of making a little extra cash, then yes you most certainly can do that. There are so many people using this platform who are much more talented and savvy than I am when it comes to the written word. However, I have made a nice little sum of cash within only a few months.

I don't know if you could solely rely on your income from Vocal to pay the rent and feed your family but I do know that it is more than possible to make some decent money by publishing on this platform.

Taking advantage of the challenges offered is one really good way to start. Even if you do not win the actual challenge, sometimes you'll receive a small bonus just for taking part. Naturally, the more time that you can spend on your writing, the more you'll earn. For example, ten stories will certainly get more views than just one.

Tips from your readers are also beneficial. Not everybody tips though, some of us just can't afford to leave tips even though we probably really would like to. So don't take it personally, but leaving a polite reminder at the end of your story can help.

"Tips are not necessary although they are very much appreciated."

Paying attention to your spelling and grammar is also important. I highly suggest that you install a free spell checker to help you along. Sometimes even the best of us need a little helping hand. There are also some really good utilities online that you can use as well.

https://www.online-spellcheck.com is super easy to use.

You can also use https://wordcounter.net to check your word count.

Look through the top stories on Vocal's main page. Try to avoid writing the same type of content as everyone else. If there are already three articles about gardening, then chances are not many people will be interested in reading the fourth one.

Choose nice, clear, and high-quality images to represent your story. Be careful not to accidentally snag a copyrighted image. A safe choice is to utilize a royalty-free stock image website. Vocal even provides us with easy access to Unsplash. Even better, use your own photos. It's really fun to walk around outside and look for photo opportunities to use in your article. It also adds a unique and personal touch. Personally, I often turn to https://pixabay.com

Choose your categories accurately. Of course, if you aren't exactly sure, the moderators will correct your choice of category if need be before publishing your story. This is a big help and it makes our job even easier.

Post your story on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram or any social media that you use, and ask your friends to give it a quick read. If you have a personal website you can post it there as well. I share my stories on both Facebook and Instagram as well as my personal blog. The more exposure that you create for yourself, the more reads you'll get. Don't be shy about it., Paste that link all over the place! I personally have a few published books on Amazon, Barnes & Noble and Rakuten. At the end of my books, you'll find a little section where I speak about writing on Vocal and encouraging my readers to come have a look around.

https://rebeccalivey.weebly.com

I also find Facebook groups devoted to Vocal writers to be beneficial. Not only can you make some new friends and get some really good advice but trading stories through the groups are nice ways to get more reads as well.

I hope that this article answers some of your questions about making money here on Vocal. The bottom line is "Yes, Vocal does pay off nicely! Your end results depend greatly on how much effort that you put forth." Keep those stories coming. If one doesn't achieve what you expect then keep writing!

Most importantly don't listen to those who attempt to make you believe that you'll only "make 35 cents in five years." That is the most untrue and invalid information that I have seen so far. Furthermore, the sad truth is that there's a lot of people out there who don't appreciate good competition and will try to crush your dreams with dishonesty and false claims. I have given you proof that you really can make money here on Vocal.

Here's a little secret, I actually make more money writing here on Vocal than I make from book sales!

Enjoy your writing and good luck! - Dream big and you'll acquire greatness.

- Rebecca Ivey

product review
1

About the Creator

Rebecca Lynn Ivey

I wield words to weave tales across genres, but my heart belongs to the shadows.

🖤Visit My Website

💙Visit Me On Facebook

❤️Heart and subscribe!

💲Tips mean the world!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.