Journal logo

It’s Time to Leave Your Comfort Zone and Unleash on Vocal

What Kind of Writer Are YOU?

By Thomas EgelhoffPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Image by StockSnap from Pixabay

So now you’re a writer for Vocal and others. Sites. What kind of writer are you? Are you the writer that always plays it safe?

Or are you the one that tackles topics you know might be unpopular or controversial?

Religion and Politics

The Thanksgiving dinner rule in our family was no talk about religion or politics.

Other than the prayer before the meal, Mathew, Mark, Luke, and John were off limits.

Be thankful for all you have but no one wants to know your thoughts on Trump or Biden.

But now you find yourself looking at the flashing curser waiting to express your thoughts on what? How great chocolate cake is?

The big question is — are you ready to put your real feelings on the line knowing that some people will stop following you or even worse call you names?

Or that they will respond with a 600-word diatribe about how lame your thoughts and arguments are?

Why Do We Suffer So Much Angst About Negative Responses?

Do you personally know the people who are questioning your intelligence or the number of parents you have?

Do we have feet of clay when it comes to standing up for our beliefs? The famous frontiersman Davy Crockett said, “First be sure you’re right then go ahead.”

If you’re sure you’re right, then wouldn’t negative comments be an encouragement to dig your heels in deeper?

A “Hit Me with Your Best Shot!” mentality?

Or do one or two negative comments, which by the way usually contain some sort of personal attack which nullifies the comment in my mind, send you on an apology tour?

Being on radio for 20 plus years I’ve been called everything in the book. Perhaps that’s prepared me for writing here.

Read my stuff and if you like it follow me and read more. If I hit a nerve with you then just move on to someone else that lines up with your beliefs.

We’ll both be happy.

Writing Comfort Zones

In you live in fear of negative comments here’s a list of a few off-limits topics to avoid writing about.

Race, creed, ethnicity, sexual orientation, homosexuality, heterosexuality, gender identity, religion, politics, voting, mixed marriage, traditional marriage, foreign affairs, California, discrimination, diversity, inclusion, wokeness, state’s rights, sex change, Winter Olympics, American Indians, sex, drugs, rock and roll, the Pope, Russia, homelessness, Ukraine, China, Canada, Mexico, immigration, pollution, climate change, global warming, polar bears, the poor, the rich, taxes, whites, blacks, and Asians.

ALMOST — everything else is fair game.

Some Final Thoughts

There’s a difference between just writing about something you think you know and the actual facts.

If you’re going to take a stand on something, then make sure you’ve put in the research and make a case not just display your own biased viewpoint.

Why do I think like I do? Here’s why — then hit me with facts that back up your position.

If my facts differ from your facts, then we’ve got a discussion rather than a name calling argument.

The readers can follow the article and the comments and make up their own mind. I don’t want any of my readers to take what I say as face value.

If I’m stating an opinion, I should say that. If I’m making a point, then I should have sources that confirm that point.

It’s never been my way or the highway. I’ve been presented with facts many times in my life that have changed my position.

I have no problem admitting I’m wrong. I don’t consider that as weakness. It’s actually a strength.

If fear of negative comments is keeping you from expressing yourself, then Davy Crockett might question your resolve.

If you’re sure you’re (write) then go ahead and write. Let the chips fall where they may.

I’m looking forward to following you and reading your stories out of your comfort zone.

No name calling from me.

Thanks for reading and I hope you'll follow me and subscribe. Thank You.

how to
Like

About the Creator

Thomas Egelhoff

Author, Radio Talk Show Host, blogger, YouTuber, Vietnam Vet, half-fast guitar player, average cook, and a really nice guy. I read all my articles; you should too and subscribe. Thanks very much.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.