Journal logo

How to Answer “Why Should We Hire You?” According to Bill Gates

Show you have a lot to learn and offer to your company’s future.

By Victoria KurichenkoPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1
Screenshot taken from the Youtube interview

Job interviews have been an inevitable part of the work culture for ages. If you want to land a high paycheck job, chances are you will have to answer the “why should we hire you, not anyone else?” question.

The standard job interview process entails many template questions and even more template answers from the applicants.

Here are just a few typical questions I’ve heard during my 20+ job interviews and what people used to say:

“Why do you want to work here?”

The typical answer is: “I admire what your company does and would like to contribute my skills to your successful performance.”

“What are your disadvantages?”

The typical answer is: “Well, I am a perfectionist, but it can be turned into an advantage, right?”.

Even though these questions are not always asked, employers love them for some reason. They search for candidates who can impress so that the interviewing process would not be that boring.

After all, everybody knows that people search for a job to earn money, which would be the most honest answer.

Even though the question “why should we hire you?” is not the only criteria you’ll be judged for, it would be helpful to know some tips to “wow” your potential employer and increase your chances for success.

“Why Should We Hire You? “— Bill Gates Responds

In the interview with an NBA star, Stephen Curry, Bill Gates shared exclusive insights on what you could say if you were interviewed for a junior software engineer position in Microsoft.

I’ve put short notes from the interview and reflected on the ideas with my takeaways. If you would like to listen to the whole interview, you can find it here.

Without further ado, here is what Bill Gates says:

You should look at the code that I’ve written. I’m kind of crazy. I write software programs way beyond any classes that I’ve taken, and I think I’ve gotten better over time.

I like to work with people, I can criticize their code a little harshly, but overall I like to be in a team, I like ambitious goals. I like thinking through how we can anticipate the future.

Software is cool and I want to be involved.

Even if a company does not ask directly about your intentions, they expect YOU to elaborate on this question and explain your motivations by the end of the interview.

Notice how well Bill Gates combines two key things every employer is looking for: team fit and experience.

These days, your experience is not the most crucial factor when it comes to employment. People can be taught when needed!

How you behave, how you speak, and what you say under stress — are emotional components employers will remember after the interview.

Five research studies were conducted with over 1000 participants from Europe, the USA, Asia, China. Participants were requested to apply for an internship, including a video introducing themselves.

Out of 300 participants, 47 % preferred an excited applicant, whereas only 23.7% chose a calm candidate; 29.3% hired a neutral one.

The emotional aspect is essential when it comes to stepping into a new environment. Nobody likes sad and pessimistic people. Better prepare in advance and mind what you say.

“How Would You Define Your Strengths and Weaknesses?”

I’ve heard this question at least two times. If you hear it as well, you need to know how to answer it. I assure you, it is a tricky one!

I used to name some personal traits that I could, later on, transform into a good habit. Something like:

“I am well-organized and always stick to the deadlines, even if I need to work overtime at some point.”

or this

“I am a self-demanding person; thus, I do expect the same level of dedication from the team.”

I named negative characteristics, but they are framed positively for an employer to understand my personality.

Alright, this was my little story. Here is how Bill Gates responded to this question:

I am not someone who knows a lot about marketing, I wouldn't enjoy being a salesman. I am more into the positions where you actually create products, thinking what the next features should be, I am fascinated by that.

I’ve followed the history of the industry, read about the mistakes that’ve been made.

Product creation is strong when you have a team of marketers, of salespeople, I am not gonna bring that, but I would enjoy working with them.

I honestly love this tip from Bill Gates. He highlights the importance of being honest about what you enjoy doing and passionate about.

After all, this is you who might be later on working in the company. If you step into the wrong environment, you will sooner or later start looking for other options. Neither you nor the employer wants it to happen.

Thus, be honest! People appreciate it the most.

“What Would be Your Salary Expectations?”

A life tip on how to answer tricky questions and communicate your salary expectation (as a junior) from Bill Gates, whose net worth is estimated at $139 billion.

His answer was mind-blowing for me. As a junior marketer, I used to ask for opportunities, mentorship, and support. I expected to get some remuneration for my work, but I could not ask much since I could not offer much.

However, time flies. This is what you might ask from your potential employer, which is considered totally okay these days.

After all, Bill Gates would have done it this way.

I hope the option package is good. I am able to take risks and I believe the company has a bright future. So, I prefer to take a stock option even more than cash compensation.

I’ve heard that other companies are paying a lot, but treat me fairly, and emphasize the options.

Great minds think different! With this answer, you have an excellent chance to adopt Bill Gates's mindset, change how you present yourself on job interviews, and how others perceive your personality.

Final Thoughts

Stephen Curry initiated a great idea to hold fantastic interviews with great people about life-important questions.

Curry invited Bill Gates to participate in a “fun experiment” and share his tips for young job seekers who might have lost their jobs during Covid-19 or who are just entering the global market to find a suitable place.

Perhaps, the key takeaway worth remembering from Bill Gates’s speech that would help you to nail job interviews is the following:

Speak confidently and honestly about your strengths in a way that shows you have a lot to learn and a lot to offer to your company’s future.

how to
1

About the Creator

Victoria Kurichenko

Self-made marketer & content writer. Writing daily. Creating SEO-friendly content for 3 years.

My site: https://selfmademillennials.com/

Let's get in touch: https://www.linkedin.com/in/victoria-kurichenko/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.