Journal logo

Here’s to the Dreamers

What it’s like to be a dreamer in a “high school to university” mentality household.

By aureliabloodPublished 6 years ago 5 min read
Like

**Note: This post does not mean to ignore anything that is for your safety or if anyone is trying to keep you from something that may jeopardize your well being

——

It’s often hard for me to understand things, but for the most part I give my best effort to understand.

For example, parents worrying about their children. Well they worry because they love them. Though some parents can have a hard time showing it, or are unsure of how to even begin to parent, they genuinely love their children.

I know for the most part that my folks love me. As much as we fight or disagree, they love me. Currently they’re worried about me because I am not “like the other kids” per se. Those who are my age or are close to my age are either off in college, some trade school, or have completed secondary education all while having a full time or part time job. Or they just plain work two to three jobs so they can be able to pay their rent.

Recently I have been unemployed, and I’ve applied to countless jobs. No luck with getting a call back yet, however I haven’t given up hope. I am not going to school, and this is due to a variety of reasons, the number one reason being that I know for a FACT school isn’t the answer for me and I am absolutely miserable spending hours of my time in a class learning about (for example) business, when I could be out executing my ideas so I can make progress towards success. Another reason is that it is just a waste of money, and all you get is a piece of paper in the end.

Now this is not here to discredit those who have worked hard to be able to afford college so they can reach their dreams and goals, for a family member of mine is a nurse and he worked hard for his degree. So I have a great respect for those who worked for it.

Just here is my main issue when it comes to school. Society has given us this mentality, that tells us we have to go to a major university or community college or trade school, and receive a piece of paper that tells us we are smart enough to do what we want to do. Now here is the catch, if you do not go to any type of college because you’re one of the dreamers who believe in themselves and their ability, you’re automatically shunned.

This is something I have personally experienced with my own immediate family, as well as extended family. My goal in life is to be a successful musician in my own band, and have a clothing line that I market/manage. I know for a fact that I absolutely DO NOT have to go to college for me to do what I want to do.

Now, what do need in order to reach my goals is...*drumroll please^...MONEY. Which is why I’ve applied to countless jobs and haven’t given up on finding one. I also have not given up on my goals. Thankfully I have a wonderful husband who fully supports & believes in me, even when I don’t believe in myself or if I begin to lose sight of my goals. In return I give him the very same love and support, because he is going to school and working hard to reach his goals as well.

The one thing I have learned, even when times seem darker than they usually are, is to NEVER EVER EVER GIVE UP. In life there will always be those who try to bring you down because they themselves do not understand the reason behind why you’re doing what you are doing, or simply because deep inside they are upset that they aren’t taking steps closer to their true goals. Sometimes even they could be miserable because they never even gave their goals a shot, so they see you executing your goals and then they feel upset so they take it out on you. So don’t take it personally, just focus on your goals and don’t lose your vision.

One thing I like to do when I get upset, is imagine my future self in my band successful. Living well, but not overdoing it by having a big fancy mansion with ten cars. I see myself becoming a successful well known lead guitarist of my own band, owning a successful merchandise line, living comfortably, and driving a purple Lamborghini and a lifted Dodge Ram prerunner.

By imagining my life that I see for myself when I am upset or losing sight of my goals, it reminds me of how far I have come and that I’m headed in the right direction. Also it reminds me to keep going and never give up.

Things may get tough sometimes with your folks, society, friends, whatever it may be. But if you truly feel that school is not for you, then don’t go to school. You will just be unhappy, as was I when I was going, and it’ll just drag on for days. But if your goals are to become a doctor, lawyer, brain surgeon, or anything that does require schooling and you know it, by all means go for it. You can do absolutely anything that you set yourself to do.

It’s going to mean late nights and long work shifts and many different jobs in order to get where you’re going. But once you get there, the rewards are going to be amazing. Everyone will worry for you along the way, especially your parents. Your parents will always worry until the day they die and even in the afterlife. So try not to be so hard on them, because they just want what is best for you.

Keeping their love and care in mind, don’t forget that you also know what is best for you and what would make you happiest too. Go out, and move towards your goals. Don’t be afraid to take baby steps either. Sometimes it’s necessary until you get your feet on the ground and get the ball rolling.

Always remember to never give up though, and tomorrow will always be better. For every dark day, there will be a light day. For light cannot shine without a little bit of darkness.

Stay positive, be kind to you parents, and take one step closer to your goals each day.

Here’s to the dreamers.

advice
Like

About the Creator

aureliablood

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.