Journal logo

Here’s How You Can Earn $50/hr from this Side-Hustle

If you are a pro, you can make even more.

By Cosmin Published 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

A few weeks ago, I received an email from 3Play Media, congratulating me on passing the preliminary test. I was asked to sign the contract and complete the onboarding process.

Screenshot from the Author

I was happy. I didn’t expect it to be so soon.

I remember when I applied for the position, I was told the selection process is strict and only one or two applications are considered out of 300. But I received the offer to onboard the platform in three days.

So I signed the contract and logged into the platform.

The onboarding process included 7 sections, 5 of which ended in a test. I needed to pass all the tests to become eligible for the position. And the time given to complete the process was seven days.

Unfortunately, I only managed to pass one test and failed the second one. That’s where my contract ended.

The rule was to pass each of the tests, one by one. Since I failed the second one, I wasn’t allowed to sit for the other three. I soon received an email that read my contract had been terminated and I can longer be part of the process.

It ended my chance to earn $50/hr but you might get that opportunity if you successfully complete their onboarding process.

You might be wondering what is 3Play Media, what type of job they offer, and how you can earn $50/hr?

Sit back and relax. I’ll answer your every question and guide you through the process.

What is 3Play Media?

3Play Media provides closed captioning, transcription, and audio description services to make video accessibility easy. The company is based in Boston, MA, and has been operating since 2007.

Screenshot from the Author

What type of job 3Play Media offers?

You can join 3Play Media either as a full-time worker or a freelancer. I don’t know what position they offer for a full-time worker, but as a freelancer, you can apply for a transcriptionist job (from anywhere in the world).

The company offers transcription jobs in two languages — English and Spanish. Choose which language you are comfortable with.

Screenshot from the Author

As a transcriptionist, you have to transcribe audio or videos provided to you. You’ll be paid weekly through PayPal. So make sure PayPal is available in your country before applying for the job.

The rates are pretty good. They haven’t revealed their rates on their website, but judging by other similar transcription companies, you can expect around $0.3 to $1 per audio minute. So if you transcribe a 50-minute video at a rate of $1/minute in one hour, you can make $50.

Even if you aren’t making $50 per hour, you can expect to make a decent amount of money provided you have good transcribing skills. The best thing is, you aren’t forced to do a minimum amount of work. You can choose to work from the list of projects, whenever it fits you.

3Play Media Application Process

The application process is simple and easy. You can head over to their job section and apply for a freelance transcriptionist.

Fill out the application and enter your personal details like name, email address, country, and location. Then proceed to the transcription test.

As I mentioned above, it is a preliminary test. If you pass the test, then only you’ll be contacted via email and offered to sign the contract.

There’s no time limit to when you will receive the response. I got the response in three days and if you are lucky, it could be faster. Once you receive the email, sign the contract and create your login credentials.

Now comes the main task. Here, you have to pass their 5 tests to be eligible for the job. Don’t worry, you’ll be taught everything about transcribing, the software used for transcribing, and other guidelines.

If you successfully complete their onboarding process, you can then enter your payment details and make your way to complete projects and earn money.

how to
Like

About the Creator

Cosmin

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.