Journal logo

Green Flags in the Workplace

Before you call it quits, get some perspective.

By AMPublished 2 years ago 14 min read
1
Green Flags in the Workplace
Photo by Surface on Unsplash

It's a known fact that the average person spends 1/3 of their life working. It's also a known fact that a lot of people are unhappy in their jobs. We've all heard of "The Great Resignation" before so I won't go into it any further. But the point is that a lot of people are deciding that they've had enough of their current situation and they're taking matters into their own hands - be it because of money, poor workplace politics, mental health etc.

I was one of these people. I left my stable job at a big name firm in the pursuit of "better," and I feel very fortunate as I did level up for the most part. I am currently in a job where I believe in the company mission, I enjoy the work that I do, and where it's my hope that I can stick around for the long run.

But I know that not everyone is in such a lucky position... So, maybe you've arrived at this post because you need some answers about what to do about your own career, or need some reassurance, or simply want to know about what acceptable flaws are in a workplace and what aren't (which I will follow up to this post by writing a series of workplace red flags).

#1 - You are treated as a human being - not a human doer

One of the biggest green flags in my current workplace was when I realised that they really did see me as a human being. I've always had a slightly unhealthy work ethic, pushing myself to reach 100% effectiveness 100% of the time. In a sense, I treated myself as a human doer. Sadly, I also carried the expectation that I'd only be accepted at my workplace if I could bring my heavy-hitting maximum effectiveness all the time.

Maybe this culture was instilled into me by my parents, previous workplaces, or general society... But if your boss or colleagues ask you how you're really doing when they can tell you're struggling to keep it together, or shoulder some of the burden of a challenging task, you might've found a keeper.

It's easy to take these small acts of kindness and good humanity for granted. However, when your boss lends you a sympathetic ear as you cry down the phone telling them that you're actually not doing okay, you realise you've got something special.

This green flag really came to me when I was struggling at work and dealing with a lot of personal hardship. I told my boss that I wasn't doing okay; and I admit that I was quite scared to do so. I had preconceived notions that they'd tell me to just have a cup of tea and just move on with things because I had a huge pitch to do that day. However, I was met with something entirely different, and they told me something I'll never forget.

"We know that your wonderful, vibrant, creative self comes with your sad, worried and sensitive self. We know that and we welcome you, whatever form you're taking today."

#2 - You aren't only as valuable as your last deliverable

This is very similar to the previous point, but have you ever felt like your boss or company only gave you the time of day when you did a good job? Or when you do an "okay" job, you were met with a slightly passive aggressive attitude? Possibly, also some ominous messages about the fact your performance review is coming up soon? Or worse, if you absolutely mess something up, you're temporarily outcasted until you can prove yourself again, and you're very heavily reminded that your performance review is coming up soon?

While it's positive to be rewarded for a job well done, it's a green flag that even when you are just doing the usual or less-than-usual (for whatever reason), you're still treated as valuable. Of course, if you really mess up (or even deliberately), it's of course understandable that there would be feelings of frustration, disappointment etc. However, if your company wants to work with you through those mistakes instead of dangle your upcoming promotion over your head, it's a green flag.

#3 - You succeed and fail together

Building on the prior point, it's a huge green flag when a company rewards you for your contributions, and that that you're invited to share in the success. Likewise, when the chips are down and something went wrong, they are still able to tell you that you're a team.

I know it's a common red flag when a workplace says, "we're like family here." But often that expression is used to veil and justify a lot of intolerable behaviour and poor workplace culture. However, sometimes when your workplace tells you that it's like a family, it can really be meant in the sense that you're not alone and that you are all going through it together.

It speaks to that humanness point again, and the realisation that we're all human and can only do what we can do. It also speaks to the fact that it takes a village. Even if you had only had some small input on the design of a report, it is recognised and thanked. Or when you mess up a part of your meeting, you are not tutted and made to feel like less than. You are reassured that you are human and that you succeed and fail together.

#4 - The company actually lives by its values and is transparent in its communication

Often when we're perusing jobs online, we take a look at the prettily designed company values pasted on their website. However, it can be difficult to truly know whether a company lives up to its values or not.

Of course, the only way to find out is to get stuck in (or pore over Glassdoor reviews). There is such heartbreak and regret to be felt when you find that a company's values really were nothing more than corporate clickbait - it's a sense of being deliberately misled and betrayed.

However, there are companies out there which do actually live by their values. Obviously, it's not as though the CEO will stand in front of the mirror everyday and recite the company values while brushing their teeth, but you can see it in the way that: decisions are made, people are hired, and how communication takes place.

It is said that where a lack of communication takes place, a space for alternative and often negative discourse takes place behind the scenes. Sometimes this can happen as a result of genuine error, but of course it can also happen for more nefarious reasons too. However, if you have a sense that, on average, you're being told the truth and that the company is actually acting in accordance to its values - it's a green flag.

#5 - The company can admit its flaws and actually seeks to improve upon them

Ah, don't we all hate company surveys. I know I do. They feel so contrived sometimes and like it's a tick on the, "we actually [don't] care agenda."

But not all workplaces operate like this. Naturally, a company is more than one person, so it is hard to accommodate all wishes (particularly if it's a company of scale). But there's a difference between that and flat-out pandering to the appearance of being a "supportive" workplace.

Recently, my colleague and I had a sit down with our bosses to discuss how we all thought a recent collaborative piece of work went. We all voiced what we thought went well and what didn't go so well. My cynical side didn't expect the "what didn't go so well," to actually result in any form of change. But I'm glad that I was proven wrong.

There was absolutely some compromise based upon mutual understanding, and some forms of action were taken to find a better way of working for next time. Where the first run of the collaborative work felt rushed, last-minute, unsupported and chaotic, the second run was not perfect but it was a significant improvement. We all roughly stuck to our deadlines, communicated more meaningfully, and got our various responsibilities straight from the beginning while showing adaptability when things (inevitably) took a slightly different turn.

It takes a lot for people to admit when they've done wrong. It probably takes more for a whole workplace to admit they've done wrong. But where there can be an earnest, honest, transparent form of communication that says, "we didn't get this right. How can we get it right for next time?" it shows humility and responsible workplace practices.

#6 - Your workplace seeks to encourage you and get the best out of you

You know it's a green flag when your boss and colleagues know what gets you going and what grinds your gears.

My current role is pretty multifaceted which is common for smaller companies but ultimately works with my style a lot better. Within that, there are many opportunities ranging from public speaking and sales to research and writing. My team know that my strengths lie in certain areas over others, and while I am encouraged to pursue and practice areas I feel less comfortable in, my strengths are recognised and well catered to.

I really think every workplace should have someone who is a psychologist, or at least someone perceptive enough to understand the human behind the computer screen. I don't believe that we can do 100% of what we like all the time in and out of work. But I do think that a significant proportion of what we do should fall in the camp of what we are good at and/or what we like. If we do only get the one life, it's a tough ask to be pigeonholed into something that is totally antithetical to who you are.

So, this goes back to the human being point. If you're in a company where your skills and interests beyond those listed in the job ad can be accommodated to (within reason), that's a real treasure. Because there are many companies who will simply offer the job as it is, perhaps because they have to (I don't expect an accountancy firm to offer secondments in baking education)... But also because there are a lot of companies or bosses who simply don't want to go to the effort of understanding who you are and what you could bring to the table.

Bonus points, if your company has people that see you as a human being and your real skills and interests and do what they can to nurture those skills, you've got a good'un.

#7 - You are given opportunities to grow, but aren't left to sink

I used to hate it when I got pushed out my comfort zone. Things like:

"We'd love your input on this report."

"How would you feel about leading some client demos?"

"Your blog posts are great, would you like to write another?"

A lot of imposter syndrome can weave its way into opportunities like this which can breed reactions of frustration and pressure. Yet in my experience, such reactions might be due a huge lack of confidence in yourself and are therefore a reflection of the inner mind.

In my case, I was given a choice which is hugely important. The choice was important because it shows that these opportunities weren't demands. This speaks to respect of my time and priorities. Secondly, all of these opportunities were new ones, but they really reflected my interests and growing strength in my role, thus showing that they really wanted to get the best out of me. Moreover, it reflected that I was in a company which wanted me to grow. Things don't grow in stillness. Familiarity is good, but sometimes being pushed out of your comfort is exactly what you need. Particularly if you're young and not very confident (like me).

Initially, I felt like I was being pushed out to shore with all this pressure on me which I felt totally unqualified to handle. However, despite being challenged and given all these opportunities, I can see that I was not being left to sink. Colleagues encouraged my autonomy and independent input but didn't leave me hanging. Zoom calls were arranged about the report, I rehearsed my client demo with various members of my team, and my blog post was reviewed before it aired.

What I can see from this is a stark difference between being hung out to dry and being given respect and trust to take on new areas for growth.

#8 - Your space, boundaries and interests are respected

There's nothing worse than a boss emailing you well after-hours, or goading you into staying on a bit longer, or Slack-ing you on your day off with an urgent request. In those moments you feel like a human doer and at the mercy of someone or something else. In essence, you feel disrespected.

While it's great to have lots of opportunities and areas for growth on your horizon, it's a big green flag when your workplace recognises you will have your own priorities both in and out of work. Moreover, it's a green flag when they don't resent these priorities but understand and work with you to make it work. Be it flexible hours, vacation, or projects with conflicting deadline, you will be able to voice that you have certain needs from them to ensure you feel valued and respected.

So, when a colleague says, "enjoy seeing your daughter's play!" with no veiled message or sarcasm, you're in a good spot. Moreover, when you've sufficiently communicated to them your priority list, they help you sort out the mess instead of expecting you to do all of these things at once, it's a green flag. It also demonstrates a workplace which is adept at handling its own resources and being flexible - a very vital component for any company to survive in such globally and locally uncertain times.

#9- Your voice matters - no junior you are

I've worked in places where I had a very valid solution to a problem, but was relatively dismissed because of my junior position. More frustratingly, I've been involved in instances where the same solution was proposed by someone more senior and it was met with applause and congratulations for the ingenuity. Ego aside, I felt so small in those times, undervalued and like my brain was constrained to operate only within my paygrade.

So, it's no wonder that it's such a positive sign when my ideas (despite not always being workable) are taken into some consideration. Whether it's an idea, a question, or a need being voiced, if your voice is respected - appreciate it. It's not always a given at work... particularly when you take age, experience, and hierarchy into account. Again, your voice mattering goes to show that your workplace sees you as more than an employee code or position in the ranks. They see you as a human being and give you a platform to speak up and have your voice heard.

#10 - Working there, despite its normal flaws, feels like a breath of fresh air

You could have your dream job doing something you really enjoy with people you really like, but work is work. So it'll sometimes stress you out, will annoy you and you'll be quick to see the flaws in it and only the flaws.

But once the dust settles and you can take a more balanced approach to your workplace and simply feel that it's different this time, then that's a good place to be. It's not justifying consistent bad behaviour because you need the paycheck, or because you're simply too tolerant of a person. It's a gut feel; if you have that and feel like you're in a supportive workplace that has your best interests at heart, then that's the only green flag you really need.

So, before you think about sending that resignation email, have a think about whether, on balance, your workplace has more green flags than red. They may have made mistakes and you might've made mistakes too. Again while no justification for poor behaviour, there is something to be said about having some capacity to be patient and forgive. Much like humans, companies are often so imperfect and so it's normal to feel let down sometimes. I know that when we feel let down, we just want to settle on a fast decision and get the hell out of dodge, but it's remarkable what a little bit of self-reflection and compassion can do.

Good things and good jobs are plentiful, but that doesn't mean we should take them for granted when they come around. If you're trying to figure out what to do about work, it is of vital importance that you figure out your capacity for tolerating disappointment. As I said, no human or company is perfect. Both will disappoint and delight. It's up to you to figure out where your boundaries are and stick to them.

Thank you for reading and to my workplace for displaying all of these green flags, despite your flaws.

By Javardh on Unsplash

advice
1

About the Creator

AM

Psychology graduate who speaks on wellness, mental health, The Great Resignation and relationships.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.