Journal logo

Giving and Receiving Feedback

On Writing

By KJ AartilaPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Top Story - October 2022
111
Giving and Receiving Feedback
Photo by Mahdi Bafande on Unsplash

My own writing has improved, in my opinion, by leaps and bounds over the last year or so. Why is that? My theory is that it has a lot to do with the critiquing of work that I’ve both given and received.

As a reader, I don’t feel qualified to give a really harsh, in-depth critique, but I can say generally how I feel about a written work and what spoke to me personally. For myself, I get a grasp of what works and what doesn’t for my own writing. This is also for personal gain. What works for me may not work for you, and vice versa.

As a writer, I do like to know whether or not a piece I wrote resonated with a reader and possibly why or why not? I may ask for clarification or further discussion upon consideration, or I may just feel encouraged by a couple of motivating words, such as "Nice job!”

I know that not every piece of work I share is super, and much is downright dismal. My main goal as a writer is to improve my writing in order to best connect with readers, and the most effective way I have found to do that is to read analytically and to contemplate critique of my own work with an open mind.

As A Reader - Giving Feedback

1. Keep it Positive, unless asked

When you read a piece and it speaks to you, let the author know that! If you don’t like it, unless they’ve specifically asked for an in-depth critique, keep it to yourself. If your criticism isn’t asked for, it isn’t helpful. An author of a work usually likes to know if a particular piece they’ve worked on connected with the reader.

2. Learn from the content

As a reader of a piece, whether you like the work or not, you can use it as a learning opportunity to improve your own work or understanding. You can look for what works for you, what doesn’t, and why or why not?

3. Respect the Author’s efforts

It takes some kind of bravery for a writer to share their work publicly. It’s not up to you, the reader, to decide if a work is overall bad. You may not like it, but that’s personal opinion. Someone else may find it incredible. Read it, learn from it and offer the author a statement of positivity! Unless asked otherwise, you’re open criticism is probably not welcome. You’re appreciation for the author’s efforts is.

As A Writer - Receiving Feedback

1. Don’t take it Personally

As an author, if you are brave enough to put your work “out there,” you’re going to get unsolicited criticism. Some people will like your work, some will not and some will be quite vocal about it either way. It’s up to you to decide whether or not their opinions mean anything to you.

2. It’s your Choice

As the writer, it’s always your choice to accept the given advice for changing your story or not. Does it make sense to you? Maybe it’s something to keep in mind for future work. Is the advice completely irrelevant? Discard it. You’re the author. It’s up to you.

3. Be Gracious

Especially when you, as the writer, ask for feedback. You’re obligated to consider it, but not obligated to accept it, of course. Instead of getting defensive or snide, maybe look at your work from a different perspective, take the time to decide the relevance of the critique to you, then thank the reader for giving you their own time and contemplation.

Thank you for reading! What do you have to add about feedback? How do you find it helpful?

advice
111

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (34)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock6 months ago

    I appreciate genuine feedback. To a degree, I even appreciate general comments as it suggests that the person took the time to read it. Again, sage counsel, good article.

  • Maureen Y. Palmer8 months ago

    I wish it was easier to actually get feedback! I've posted three stories and only one of them has gotten ANY reads so far (It has 2 reads). Clearly I need to improve, but it's hard to know what the problem is when I don't have any negative feedback. (I DO really appreciate the 2 comments I have gotten that were both super positive! They were so encouraging <3. I just wish I had more reads and more comments (even critical ones) overall, because it would make it clearer how I could improve.) And I guess the limitations of Vocal's analytics are also making it hard to tell what my problem is. Like, is it that my titles and thumbnails are unappealing -> I don't get any clicks? Or is it that my actual writing is bad in some way -> people click off the story quickly after starting it and it doesn't count as a read? My general plan is to just keep posting stories and hopefully gain some traction eventually, but I do wish I knew how to be more strategic about it.

  • Brandi Stephensabout a year ago

    You have a great perspective. Thanks for sharing!

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Caitlin Nightingaleabout a year ago

    thank you for this, appreciated the give & take perspective

  • Normamillerabout a year ago

    Thanks for sharing such great information, the post you published have some great information which is quite beneficial for me. Really appreciated with your post. https://www.myccpay.vip

  • Peter Thompsonabout a year ago

    The art of conversation is difficult

  • Sudhir Sahayabout a year ago

    I agree wholeheartedly that feedback is key to improving one's work. I actually don't mind negative as well as positive feedback. If there is something in there that I can use to make my work better, I feel that the feedback is worthwhile. However, in no case do I take any feedback personally

  • Luke Fosterabout a year ago

    Think those are solid guidelines.

  • The Dani Writerabout a year ago

    Solid writing here Keila!

  • Angelina F. Thomasabout a year ago

    I love constructive criticism as long as it is not used as a weapon to wound others emotionally. Good criticism is a damn good thing. We all need it.

  • Joan Gershmanabout a year ago

    I agree with your advice. However, I would add the importance of being specific. I wrote an article about giving constructive criticism. In it, I said that giving broad generalizations, such as Good Job, or Keep up the Good Work was useless. A useful critique will give suggestions as to how specific phrases, paragraphs, or words can be changed to improve the work. That method works best to help me when I ask for feedback on something I have written.

  • A.R Woodsabout a year ago

    Your writing advice makes me really think on the common sense of reading and writing. People have senses and opinions, rarely is it commonly shared.

  • Annelise Lords about a year ago

    I love your power of words. I can feel the calmness generated by you while writing this piece. Keep doing a great job.

  • Annelise Lords about a year ago

    Your open criticism is probably not welcome. Many writers worry too much about criticism. That will helps to scar your creative imagination. Do your best. Be your best.

  • Annelise Lords about a year ago

    you can use it as a learning opportunity to improve your own work or understanding. I agree. Learning mode is never off for me.

  • Annelise Lords about a year ago

    If your criticism isn’t asked for, it isn’t helpful. I don't mind the criticism, good or bad. I learn more about myself and my readers.

  • Annelise Lords about a year ago

    I know that not every piece of work I share is super, and much is downright dismal. Write with confidence; readers will tell you what they think anyway. I write for myself and others. Not others alone.

  • Annelise Lords about a year ago

    As a reader, I don’t feel qualified to give a really harsh, in-depth critique, I agree with you. I put myself in the writer's shoes, mind, soul, and heart. Then dive into his/her power of words. Then I give what I want with a conscience and understanding.

  • Efulabout a year ago

    Good Job, I love your articles

  • Timothy Lingenfelderabout a year ago

    This will be a good "go read it again" for me!

  • This comment has been deleted

  • M2 years ago

    I love this

  • Kylara2 years ago

    I think there are different ways to critic someones work. Sometimes I woud love to get more critics especially when I ask for. But a lot of people I ask to proofread my writing always just say it is good (probably to just not hurt any of my feelings)

  • Cindy Dory2 years ago

    Great update. thanks

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.