Journal logo

Get Vocal About Anything, Everything

How to get a voice and audience with just one post.

By Tony LiPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
1

I wanted to get vocal about alien life. Before I could type the first sentence to a blog I started a week ago, I realized I was off topic. The blog I started last week was to introduce smart home technologies to people on the fence; people who want automation in their homes but don’t know what to buy or how to set things up. Talking about Matty Roberts’ Storm Area 51 idea in a blog about smart homes was wrong. Luckily I caught myself.

Blog experts will tell you to write down 5 things you are interested in. It’s not just a topic that you are interested in, but you have to know a lot about it too. You see, when you start a blog of your own, you have to be able to write something about the same topic today, tomorrow and the next day. You can’t go off track and start writing about something else, because people following you expect more of the same thing.

Starting a blog of your own is so hard these days. I know the feeling because I’ve spent countless days on Pinterest and have read so many success stories that I wanted a piece of the pie. Someone starts a blog about something they don’t know something about and in a month’s time, they've earned $100. Their blog continues to bloom and in 6 months, they are raking in $2,000 per month. You've seen these success stories and more. To me, that’s pretty good motivation to start my own blog and give it a go, but later I find another blogger that tells me it is hard work and they have spent hundreds of dollars for web hosting, SEO and training before earning a cent.

Having a blog of your own will only lock you up to one topic, so you'd better like it. The blog topic you choose must be good enough to draw an audience because having a large audience means getting lots of traffic to your blog. When I say "good enough," I'm really saying that your blog must be unique enough and provide something that other blogs don't. If your blog passes the test, then people will sign up and follow you. But it can be a long process and patience is the key. Once you have a good size following, you can then monetize your blog by adding affiliate marketing to it. This is where you add links to your content and hope someone clicks on it and buys the product. If they do, you get a small commission from the sale.

I've tried creating and running a blog of my own and it takes work. After a while, it consumes you, and when you have nothing to show for it, it gets discouraging. That's why a lot of bloggers quit after 3 months or sooner.

Writing for Vocal is going to be an experience for me. I can already see myself writing about anything and everything. Vocal is going to be my voice, with you as my audience. More importantly, I can be myself. I can write about my successes, failures and tribulations. If I’m not scared, I can be open and revealing. I can write about my true feelings and not get judged. I truly believe that when you’re in your own element, you can change the world. If enough of us can be vocal, we can make changes to a troubling world.

advice
1

About the Creator

Tony Li

Tony Li is a fan of anything and everything. He loves playing golf, traveling to distant lands, cruising, building smart homes, learning new things and programming. He hopes to win a lottery one day and change the world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.