Journal logo

Gaining new employment mindset.

Lazy or scared?

By Kim ButtersPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Gaining new employment mindset.
Photo by Pop & Zebra on Unsplash

Whilst working within the employment sector a few years ago, there was only two statements I hated hearing from clients looking for work. The first one was “Nah I don’t think I’ll wanna do that job”. The second, and my personal pet hate, was “they won’t give me a job”. There is a young man sitting at the very next table from me, while I am out having a coffee, explaining to his companion the reasons why he cannot get a job. Then he said it…… “they won’t give me a job”. This makes my blood boil. What are our chances of being given a job? I do not remember a time when it was the norm to think that I should be given a job. Now do not get me wrong, I know there are times when your best mate’s dad has got a little job you can do for a couple of weeks to keep you going. I am talking about applying for jobs, chasing a job, researching a job, being interview ready in case you get a call from a prospective employer. No-one is going to give you a job. You must fight for it. You must prove you are the one they should hire. You and you alone are the one who should be investigating and researching employers you wish to work for. If you show no effort in any way shape or form, you will not even get a look at. I could also go into the long list of self-presentation, hair, teeth, smell, clothes. All the first impression stuff that should not matter, but it does. My point is you will not be given a job. With a little bit of effort and perseverance you may be able to say, “I have been trying to get a job”. Then it comes down to the now job versus the dream job. This is where “Nah I don’t think I’ll wanna do that job” comes into it. If you are chasing the dream job who pays your bills while you are searching? Sometimes it comes down to food and rent. If you take the now job, you can afford a life while you search or study for that dream job! I cleaned toilets for three years while I prepared for the dream job. Just a side note, I was the best at unblocking toilets on our crew. I owned that now job. And because I owned that now job, I was able to chase my dream job and get it!

So how to remove this as an issue? When having to go to in-house courses at your local job network you expect to be trained. Not talked at, just so they can check your name off a list and get the payment from the government. Part of the problem with job network providers is exactly that. You are a number to get through the door so they can be paid. I worked with some good providers that this was not the case, but majority sadly this is true. When you implement a program to help others succeed it must do what it is designed for. Does it address all the above? Does it give you the skills that you need to move forward? Can you prove that your students have understood and put those skills into practice? Can you build a good enough relationship with each student that you can address concerns, fears, and general well-being of that student? Is your course designed well enough that a student is actively taking part and enjoying learning rather than just turning up because they must to get paid? If a person can have their mindset changed to positive from negative, a much better outcome will become a reality for more people. I know that there is some that cannot be saved from themselves. I just hope with a little bit more effort less would most likely fall through the gaps.

advice
1

About the Creator

Kim Butters

I am a freelance writer working from home. My writing style is “think out loud”. Covering a variety of subjects. Please come along for the ride! I have a husband of thirty years and two grown children with lives and children of their own.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.