Journal logo

For the Love of Books

A Quest to Bring the Healing Power of Books to Individuals Across the Globe

By Ashley Nestler, MSWPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

Supporting small businesses is paramount for any community - but it has become more important now than ever with COVID-19 shaking up our lives.

I have been an entrepreneur and multi-business owner since I was 16, and I know firsthand all of the tears and sleepless nights that go into growing, and maintaining, a business. Let me just tell you - the work is never done, and there is always something new to learn. Small business owners have to at least be proficient at running every aspect of their business, and many times we spend hours and hours of overtime growing our business and ensuring that it runs smoothly. Unfortunately, COVID-19 has impacted the livelihoods of so many small businesses, and it is heartbreaking to see business owners going out of business. Knowing all of the hard work that has been put into various businesses, just to see them close essentially overnight, is absolutely devastating.

When asked to highlight a small business during this time, I chose to highlight my online small business Bibliotherapy Apothecary - not because I am seeking a marketing opportunity, but to share more of my story and my mission of ensuring that people the world over have access to the beauty of book based therapy. I am so passionate about the use of books as therapy, and I hope that my story can help you to learn a new way to self-soothe during this time!

Books have always been a sanctuary for me, ever since I was a small child. I started reading at an advanced level at an early age, and from then on my nose was always stuck in a book. I have always struggled with high anxiety and major depression, and I found solace in the beautiful world of books. I never feel more comfortable than when I am lost in a realm between the pages, and words have helped me tremendously with my mental health.

While in school for my Masters in Social Work, my passion for mental health and alternative healing intensified. It was during school that I discovered the beauty of Bibliotherapy - the use of books in therapy - and my passion for it began to explode. Being able to put two of my passions together (books and mental health) was more than I could dream of, and it was after I graduated that I created Bibliotherapy Apothecary.

Before Bibliotherapy Apothecary, I owned and ran a subscription business called Literary Vacation Club. Each month I would send out books and accessories that took the reader on a "trip" to a new destination. Hearing from my subscribers how great their "literary vacations" made them feel warmed my heart, and I knew that I wanted to expand my business to become a mental health service available the world over. Technology is amazing in that we can reach each other across the globe (like how I'm writing to you now!) With Literary Vacation Club I had subscribers from almost every continent, and I adored seeing how I could impact so many people.

Due to the loyalty of my subscribers, I have since merged Literary Vacation Club with Bibliotherapy Apothecary to offer book therapy packages and instructional books and ebooks. I am also currently offering handmade masks and blind date with a book quarantine bundles to bring some joy to the homes of bibliophiles during this time. I send personal notes with each package, and I have been overjoyed to see how happy I have made my customers - and I am so glad that reading has become a solace for everyone during this time.

Despite COVID-19 shaking up our everyday lives, I have become enlightened by the support from customers that I have seen, as well as the joy they receive from small business purchases in return. As a small business owner I am grateful for being given the chance to care for people while they are stuck at home, and I am empowered by the love I have felt from my customers. I wish you all happy reading!

business
1

About the Creator

Ashley Nestler, MSW

Ashley Nestler is a Bibliotherapist and a survivor of Schizoaffective Disorder, OCD, Quiet Borderline Personality, Fibromyalgia,multiple eating disorders, and C-PTSD. Ashley has dedicated her life to books and advocating for mental health.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.