Journal logo

Don't You Forget About Me

Don't...Don't...Don't...Don't You

By KJ AartilaPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
11
Don't You Forget About Me
Photo by Anton Darius on Unsplash

Don't You Forget About Me

I was pretty discouraged yesterday.

Why?

Because I have a life beyond the virtual world. At least, I like to think so.

I would be gone, away from the Internet, for most of the day.

I told my online Vocal writing group, where I hang out and engage a lot in reading commenting and general conversation. I read a couple stories posted there, supplied comments, then posted a story of my own. I returned that evening to no reads. So it makes me start wondering why? Why do people not like me? Why do they not read my stuff? Do I have to be present online all day/everyday to earn my few cents? There has to be a better way. Balance, right?

I mean, I’ve certainly expected to spend time and put in a lot of effort toward positive and reciprocal engagement, and fully expect to keep doing so. I enjoy it. But I don’t want to be tied to the Internet 24/7/365 in order to remain relevant. And I’m sure I’m not alone.

I have also watched my stats on the writing platform fluctuate directly with the amount of engagement I put in. On some level, this is quite encouraging, on another, it is quite disappointing.

Is this what my life as a writer has culminated in? Chasing reads? Doesn’t seem very glamourous. Or freeing. Yes, we all like reads. Reads translate to financial reward and an audience, but after awhile, there has to be more than chasing reads or building a readership. Where’s the progress?

I have a family and a household to care for, and a horse business to run. I am also disabled, meaning I don’t drive and I am essentially a shut-in over the winter months. Right now, it’s easy to spend the hours online. As the snow and ice melts, I like to spend my time outdoors doing stuff, mainly with my horses. This means limiting my time online, but finding a way to still stay relevant and make writing profitable.

Even though I want to be mad at the audience who failed me, I feel compelled to examine my own habits first to find out what I need to do differently, or better. Not them - me.

When I want to read, my first inclination is not to open works online, but, instead, I turn to physical books. Maybe it's my age. I greatly enjoy my paperbacks, love my hardcovers, but leather-bound - oh! to die for . But I digress.

So, anyway, there are a ton of good stories and writers online, there is just something missing in the reading experience, at least for me personally. When I read stories online, even when they’re really good, I get bored. It takes an extra special hook to compel me to sit and read all the way through (and it’s not a bunch of pictures.) My stories don’t have that “something,” so I can see why readers are not inclined to seek me out. Words on paper don’t always translate well to words online.

What do I need to do in order to ensure an income from my writing, even when I’m not virtually here?

Basically, I need to improve my writing, and I need to branch out.

Or maybe I should just throw in the towel and give in to the idea that if I want to be successful and remembered as an author, being tethered to the Internet is the only way. I’m not willing to do that.

Thanks for reading! What is your focus as a writer right now? Reading, writing, building, obtaining reads? What are you doing to develop your focus area?

humanitysocial mediaadvice
11

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    I think anything to do with horses is already taking up pretty much full time 😬🤣. I empathize with you, I don’t like posting links and begging for reciprocity but I also do really like reading what people create and I do really want people to read what I create (sometimes haha). I know that there are many many wonderful things to read on Vocal and it’s difficult to find/stumble upon them!! So I appreciate seeing links and being able to discover new authors in that way.

  • Emily Marie Concannonabout a year ago

    Lotta love to you. I feel you hard... I guess the way I cope is I don't view vocal as a source of income which is why I may or may not renew my Vocal plus account next year. But don't ever think it's your writing quality. It's not that at all. Even though it seems like it's the same five people and no one else engages, I try to just focus on them. Love to you thank you for your support and promise I'll support you 💕

  • Well, this is the sad reality I guess. This was very relatable. It's exhausting chasing reads, hence I took a 5 month break. But during that time, I still kept reading in groups. I guess the chase doesn't end. So sorry Keila that I'm unable to give any helpful suggestion. I'm lost here myself 😅

  • Holly Pheniabout a year ago

    So relatable, Keila!

  • JBazabout a year ago

    I hear ya....But we keep on writing. Time is a premium for me, I too have a life outside of social Media.

  • Paul Stewartabout a year ago

    I think we all have a similar experience. I find everything so hard to juggle. you are definitely not alone. It can feel like a full-time job keeping on posting here, there, and everywhere. And just for the record. I love reading your work. From your fiction to your poems to your factual and heartfelt articles. I always know you are going to put your heart and soul into it. I am at times forgetful or just other things get in way. For that, I apologise. I relate to this post so much and I think you expressed yourself perfectly well!

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    I felt this so much, Keila. While it is wonderful to engage with and read the work of others, the weight of knowing my stuff won’t be read if I don’t keep up the pace really discourages me sometimes. It is definitely a tricky thing to find balance with it all. Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts!

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Oh I hear this...on days when I focus on writing or have so much going on I can't get online much to post, my reads plummet. I often feel the same way. Like how can I keep up this pace? I think it's because the groups I gravitate towards are almost exclusively creators themselves. I can't really find just readers, except maybe Twitter. I love reading your stuff! But all that to say, you've got to do what's best for you. Sometimes you just need a break :)

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Good article, and I hear ya. The more active I am, the more the reads come. When I can't be online, or even if I am, but not dropping a link on everything I read, then my reads suffer. You write great stuff by the way, but you'll never get rich from this site. None of us will.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.