Journal logo

Do you fear to fulfill your dreams?

I started backward and I do not regret it.

By Serena Published 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Do you fear to fulfill your dreams?
Photo by Green Chameleon on Unsplash

Do you fear to fulfill your Dreams?

Since I was a teenager, I wanted to become a writer and give out a book. And well, it did not happen.

I ended up pursuing a study that I had no passion for. Soon I ended up taking on different kind of jobs, with no connection to my education.

One day I woke up and found myself with a family and wondered what had happened.

At some point I started to follow series on tv, in the same genre that I used to write. They inspired my imagination and made me start to write again.

After a couple of years with lots of ups and downs, my book was released.

At first, it felt wonderful to finally have reached the goal I had dreamed about for years. But that was it. The feeling soon disappeared into nothing.

I had waited and dreamed for this day for so long, but I was not prepared for it. So I had no idea of what expect, but also I had no idea what to do next.

It has been a couple of years now, and I still have not dared to open the book. Not once, since I got my hands on it. Knowing that it is not to the standard that I could have brought it to. If I had known then, what I know now.

By Julia Taubitz on Unsplash

There are times when I wish I had done things differently.

I wish I had shared my writing with others and received feedback.

I wish I had known about marketing and SEO.

But most of all, I wish I had been in contact with other writers.

Knowing other writers who have gone through the process already, or is going through the process of publishing. Is worth a lot! They know all about the struggle, the ups and downs to get to when the day comes and you can hold your book in your hands. But also about what to do afterwards and (as in my case) the emptiness. What do you do, when you are done with a project that you have worked on for so many years?

I started backward, by jumping into the unknown without knowing how to handle everything that would follow. And I would do it all over again!

By Rita Malçok on Unsplash

Fear

Fear is in my opinion one of the strongest and most devious emotion anyone can have. It is a natural emotion and in some cases addictive.

It is a feeling that can guide you, stop you and take control of your mental state. As well as your actions.

You can live in a bubble of fear, your whole life. Without knowing it. That is how devious the feeling is.

When I was younger I would go on "adventures" around the neighborhood. I would climb in trees or on rocks. Today, those fearless days are over.

As an adult, I understand the danger and it makes it hard for me to live a fearless life.

When I decided to publish my book, I jumped into the unknown. By doing so I broke the fear of chains that had held me in a grip for a very long time.

By Stella Tzertzeveli on Unsplash

Dreams

Some dreams are meant to stay dreams. While others can come true, if you give them a chance.

I do not mean that you should give up on any of your dreams. You should always try to move forward in one way or another. It is a way to grow on so many levels.

Just remember: Without any effort nothing will happen. So without action, you will never know what could have been.

I started backward, to move forward in my life. By doing so I conqured my fears and made my dream come true. And I would do it all over again.

Greetings Serena

advice
Like

About the Creator

Serena

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.