Journal logo

Distractions at Work

Are They Worth It?

By Marissa HallPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
1

We have all been there when work is slow, there are no projects that need attention to, there are no customers in the store or there are no pending appointments. Whatever the case may be, distractions at work are bound to happen. So, do you give in to those distractions or try and find a way out of the slump?

I used to have a job that required me to always be moving. There was hardly any time for down time. I was always meeting with clients, running groups, or completing paperwork. There was hardly anytime for distractions, except when I was bored of writing notes. Even though I was only at my desk for a few hours of the day, I found myself getting distracted. I would occasionally check Facebook or watch a funny video on YouTube. Those quick videos turned into more videos and by the time I knew it, I was rushing to get my work done. So was it worth it?

Absolutely not! Those distractions cost me hours of productivity. I could have easily finished my work before the deadline without stressing. However, when I was forced to do my work, I tended to work quicker. At the same time, I caused myself unnecessary stress. All I had to do was finish my work first and then I could causally check Facebook or watch funny videos.

I now have a job where I am at a desk 95% of the day. The temptation to do anything other than work is great. I have my own office in the back of the larger office. I only see clients when they are scheduled. I find them resources, which requires the internet. It has been very tempting to go on other sites that are not going to help the client. Fortunately, I have been good and when I am meeting with clients and not ventured off task.

Multiple studies have shown that distractions at work not only result in loss of productivity, but also in a derail of mental progress for up to half a hour afterwards. That is a long time! Plus, distractions can cause negative emotional effects. These distractions lead to unnecessary stress (that can easily be avoided) and an overall bad mood.

So, how do we deal with the overwhelming number of distractions at work?

1) Coworkers can be a huge distraction. As humans we were born to connect with other people, and that includes coworkers. Think back to the first time you started a job. What was probably one of the first things you do? Maybe take a tour of the work place and learn names? It is important to set boundaries with coworkers. Letting them know when it is appropriate to socialize and when you need to get work done. If this is established early, your coworker will most likely reciprocate the boundary and understand. Try using: "I'm really busy right now but I'll get back to you when things calm down."

2) Technology is another huge distraction. Checking sites such as Instagram and Twitter are also distractions and that "just for a few minutes" can turn into hours. Maybe try turning off the apps on your smartphone while at work could help. Turn off automatic notifications while at work.

3) Keep your desk clutter-free. I get easily distracted when my work space is disorganized. I have the urge to clean everything and before I know it, I have wasted valuable times trying to clean my desk.

advice
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.