Journal logo

Dear Dreamers and Aspiring Writers

Surviving in the World Tip #2

By Keane Neal-RiquierPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like
Picture: Neil Patel

Dear Dreamers and Aspiring Writers,

I’ve been in the writing game for about 30. Years? No, about 30 hours. It’s a rough game. It’ll beat you down and kill your hopes with the snap of its fingers. I exaggerate, but it definitely isn’t easy, and it won’t get easier any time soon.

Surviving in the World Tip #2: A tip for dreamers and aspiring writers—LOVE WHAT YOU’RE DOING!! I know this one seems obvious and you may call me foolish for even writing it here. With that, I ask, am I though?

I am an impatient soul, and I want my voice to be heard in the world of writing! Though I’ve just started chasing my passion for writing, I am someone who has chased several dreams in my life—or so I thought. I’m here to shed some light on what I’ve learned elsewhere.

Knowing what you want in life, what you truly want, something that will fulfill the soul is not an easy thing to find in this world. If you think it is, I want to know your secrets! I am someone who has thought he had it four times in my life.

  1. Oooo I’m going to be an automotive technology major and grow my own shop and build a business!
  2. Oooo I’m going to change my major, be a Big4 accountant and live in the city, live lavishly, and maybe become a partner or CFO! Now I have the internship most accountants dream of, and I’m just sort of like meh. I guess that’s cool… Where’s the fulfillment?!
  3. Oooo Forget being an accountant. I want to fulfill myself and start a non-profit. There’s my fulfillment and passion… Wait, where did you go?? Oh. Not there, I guess.
  4. Writing. Let me tell you, this is the actual conversation I had with life:

Life: “You’re a writer now.”

Me: “No, I’m not.”

Life: “Yes, you are.”

Me: “Nuh-uhh. How will I make a living?! That is absolutely important. I don’t want to be poor.”

Life: “That doesn’t matter. You’re a writer now.”

Me: “Well shit, why didn’t you say something?! I’m a writer now!”

Then I started my grind in the world of writing. I know I seem wishy-washy, but I think this is different. Nay, I know this is different. Writing has been the only one to actually ground me. I’m falling in love with the little things in this dream, and that’s something being a mechanic, accountant, and non-profit entrepreneur never gave me.

I want to take a second, and I want to give you a scenario. Imagine it. 20 years from now, you’ve been writing and chasing your goals the entire time, and it’s finally paying off! The lights are starting to shine, people are beginning to read your things, and it’s all starting to pay off really well… so well. Like, I mean, times are great… so great. (Can you sense the pain I am trying to convey?) Your blog is just now beginning to grow, you are finally starting to break even on your investments in yourself, and you are as broke as a joke.

Now I want to say one thing. I have had two completely different majors in college, and I have had several dreams. If you asked me at the time if I loved those dreams, I would have said absolutely! Here’s a secret though. I didn’t. Love is unconditional. I loved those dreams when I dreamed of the heights I could aim for, not the depths I had to climb from.

However, writing is different. I realized that it was different because when I thought of being happy as a writer, I saw a world; a world where I lived in the south of Germany (long story). Had a little old dusty guitar (I would have no idea how to play). A little old dusty piano (I would have no idea how to play). I lived in a little old dusty apartment, working in an itsy bitsy café being an average person. Very specific dream, but the point I'm trying to make is that I was happy without the fame and glory.

If you really love the dream you are chasing, you will love it even if it doesn’t make you money. Yes, I would like to be a blogger as famous as the next guy, and a world renowned novelist, but I know that I can be fulfilled by merely by writing. So here I am working at it in the early days, ready for the journey is taking me on.

Sincerely,

A fellow dreamer who is wishing you the best. We have to do this side by side, and together we can curate the voice of our future.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Keane Neal-Riquier

Writing and storytelling have been a passion of mine ever since I was young. I look to dig deep into what it means to be human, and this is what you will find at the very core of my writing.

Website: atyourservicefreelancing.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.