Journal logo

Bounty Hunter

Inspired by Beth and Duane "The Dog" Chapman

By Kate AdamsPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
Running from the Bounty Hunter

I became interested in Bounty Hunting when I came across the T.V. Series "Dog The Bounty Hunter" featuring the Chapman family on A&E. At first glance of the show I honestly thought Bounty Hunting was a career I wanted to go into. However, the more episodes I watched the less interested I became in wanting to actually be a Bounty Hunter as the TV show depicted real life Bounty Hunting, the challenges the Chapman Family came across and a few runners they came across who could have possibly been armed. Talk about a mind screw, I needed therapy just watching the Chapman Family go after most of the people who had skipped bond.

I still did a little bit of research on the field and this is what I came up with. The website I utilized to acquire the information is bountyhunteredu.org/careers. For those who would like to go into bounty hunting the site listed is where to go and it will provide all the information you need.

By definition a bounty hunter is a professional person who captures fugitives or criminals for a commission or bounty (Freelance or work for a Bondsman). Bounty Hunting, however, has been outlawed in Oregon, Wisconsin,Kentucky and Illinois. So, if this is a profession you would like to go into yet you live in one of the four listed states that have outlawed it, I would rethink that passion due to the fact that you would have to relocate to a state that hasn't outlawed Bounty Hunting.

I also found from the website that the fugitive recovery services of a bounty hunter are required when a bail bondsman secures a bail bond for a defendant, but then revokes the bond because the defendant did not adhere to the condition of the bond. Most of the time, a revoked bond is due to a defendant failing to appear in court. Under these circumstances it is very important, if taken to jail and bonded out, to stay in contact with the bondsman who bonded you out as well as appear to all court dates. This is something I had to learn real quick when I was arrested in February 2020 on a warrant I had no clue existed over bogus charges I wasn't even aware existed. Which only proves to me that I can't even trust the Police Department in the town I reside in.

This is also from the website listed above. According to the National Association of Bail Enforcement agents, bounty hunters manage to find and apprehend nearly 90 percent of all bail jumpers. The website also states that in accordance with most state laws , a bounty hunter can only begin pursuing a fugitive after receiving authorization from a bail bondsman.

So, if bounty hunting is a career that anyone would like to go into as a profession, go to the website I have provided earlier in this article, check with your state for more specific regulations set forth as far as bounty hunting and lastly, watch Dog The Bounty Hunter. At this time the episodes are reruns due to Beth Chapman passing away in 2019 due to cancer and Duane "Dog" Chapman retiring. However, just by the reruns alone, it is educational in the manner of showing the daily life and routine of a Bounty Hunter.

On a last note, I would like to add that there is a Dog The Bounty Hunter page on Facebook if you have a Facebook account and would like to join. I have seen websites specific for Dog but when I click on them I get an error message but if I am able to locate a web page specific for the Chapman family I will certainly let you know or you may contact me at [email protected].

Stay safe out there!

-Kate-

career
1

About the Creator

Kate Adams

I have 28 years experience in the customer service field with one year experience as a Medical Assistant, one year experience as a CNA with various positions (Cashier, In Home Health, etc) in between. I also have an Associates degree.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.