Journal logo

Blasting News Kicked American Writers To The Curb

U.s. Blasters have been shunned on the site.

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
2
Blasting News shifts gears o US contributors

I began writing for Blasting News in March of 2016. At that time writers were paid $3.00 per story plus page views. I found my nitch and began doing pretty well. In October of that year the site stopped paying the $3.00 per article and all money was from page views only. This drastically decreased income and a number of blasters stopped writing. The next change was that the two required news sources could not be more than three days old, which limited what could be written about. I worked hard and began averaging about$350.00 to $400 monthly. It was not a livable wage, but great supplementation.

This past July, I made close to $500 from one story and $900 for the month. I was the number 1 ranking blaster in the United States and I believed I had found my place in Internet writing. I began as number 317 so naturally I was proud of my accomplishment of rising through the ranks to the top spot. Suddenly, my page views began dropping from several thousand to about 20 viewers per story. I was writing the same as so always had so I did not know what was wrong. It was discouraging to put so much into the site and receive nothing for my effort.

I sent BN several emails and also asked questions on their Facebook page but received no answers. In September, Blasting News began a new policy. They would only accept sources if they were approved by News Guard. I found it difficult to obtain the two necessary sources for my articles because websites I had been using were not approved by News Guard. It seemed as if the writing site were making decisions to discourage the writers, instead of helping us. I talked with a few contributors on Facebook and they were all feeling as I was and no one had any answers.

I tried writing article in different categories but it did not work out. As I write this I am expecting my last payment from Blasting News which is $22.00. I talked with other blasters and they had similar issues. Their views decreased and there was no communication from the staff. When I was number one I thought I might get an email or a badge from BN congratulating me, but I did not. I also notice that it is only the US blasters who are falling by the wayside. The few people who continue to blast the news are living in Europe.

This is sad because when we U.S. blasters made money Blasting News made money as well. The site only pays the blasters for the first 30 days an article has been printed, so who knows how much they were making from our stories that continued to make money after the 30 days. I have no idea why they want to shoot them selves in the foot like this but it’s truly their loss. My best guess is they no longer want American writers or the type of articles we contribute. A little honesty and being upfront would have been nice, but instead they allowed talented people to fall by the wayside with no explanation.

This is not professional but is par for the course. Many other writing sites have slowed down, then shut down, leaving contributors in the dark about what happened. If Blasting News cared about the writers in the United States they should have been more transparent, rather than shooting themselves in the foot and decreasing their range as well as revenue. Life goes on however and if you are a writer I suggest Vocal.com and Hubpages.com. Both are up and running well and doing right by those who contribute content.

industry
2

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.