Journal logo

Being A Content Creator For Vocal

And Why You Should Be Also. Hint* It's Not Only For The Extra Cash.

By Jeffrey FontanosPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
2
During late nights like this. I can type out any random thought that comes to mind and get paid for it, thanks to Vocal.

When financial responsibilities were piling up. The rent also rising up, and just me wanting to buy more freaking cool stuff. I had to find ways of making extra money. Specifically what I call "throw away money." Money that I can use to spend on my hobbies, unhealthy and healthy habits and my vices. I need lots of notebooks because one of my hobbies is writing. I'm old fashioned. The first draft always goes on paper before I type on the computer. I have a habit of buying an energy drink at least once a week to give me a little extra kick for the day when I write and work out. Some might put that in the unhealthy habit or vice category. I'll let you decide. A few of my vices are sushi, tequila and at least a once or twice a week visit to the ramen or pho spot. Now knowing this little bit about me I'll tell you that I was sad when I couldn't visit my favorite sport for comfort food as frequent as I used to. Luckily for me a friend of mines recommended this site to me. I am a person that likes to talk about anything and everything if it interests me. politics, pop culture, sports etc. and vocals format lets you type about all of that. You're not in the pocket as the "sports guy" or "pop culture" guy. Your page is your page.

Before typing on this site I was on forums, Facebook groups and having long conversations with family and friends on the phone and in public about all the topics I've previously mentioned. While those conversations were stimulating it still didn't change that I could use a little extra cash. So 2018 rolls around. I remember this site. I think what the hell let me make my first post. It was about Hollywood having "too much" comic book based stories on the big screen and small screen, and how some people claim it will "go away" like the western genre did. I typed how I thought differently. The post got published. I shared the link on all the pop culture and comic book pages I'm in on Facebook. There was still comments on Facebook about my post so the interaction was still there, it has been shared multiple times reaching a wider audience than my inner circle. That's another plus also, but the biggest plus of all was it put a few bucks in my pocket. I liked that feeling. The feeling of sharing my opinion on a topic having it read by a wider audience, and getting paid for it.

Right now as you're reading this its 2020. I'm 2 years in and 3 pages of published posts for vocal. I was able to provide myself with the necessary amount of throw away money to buy things for my hobbies, habits and vices. I've bought pop culture memorabilia like a Naruto headband, Hokage cloak and some GBA games. For my Vices I've bought a bottle of Don Julio and made trips to the sushi bar just for sharing my opinion on vocal. I'm mentioning these things because not everyone should be spending all their hard earned cash for their financial responsibilities. If you need an extra boost in your pockets try typing your opinion on whatever topic down on this page and sharing it. An opinion that can reach a bigger audience than your inner circle can be rewarding in more ways than financially.

Typing and sharing these post have also been therapeutic in a way. An example is a self help post of mine that was published here. It was a piece on me accepting change and more difficulty in my life compared to when I was younger and had lesser worries to deal with. I didn't plan on letting that post grow in views it was just something for me to send out into the world on its own. A month and some weeks pass that post is closing in on 1,000 views with no promotion on Facebook or my Pinterest. I assume other content creators view what we create for this site also or someone might've been seeking something to read on how to deal with life changing events. Basically it was comforting knowing there was a reminder in those views that more people than me were experiencing the things I was experiencing. Makes me hope at least 1 person related and found strength in those words.

Have I convinced you to try this site yet? Well if you're down to this paragraph reading this I assume its on your mind. I'll leave you with a few tips on how to get your views up once you create your page. Social media is the key. I use Instagram, Twitter, Pinterest and Facebook to promote my posts. On Instagram and Twitter the hashtag can reach reach thousands of people when you tell them to, "tap the link." For Facebook as you read in the earlier paragraphs I share links on groups that talk about the same topics. Your friends and other people in those Facebook groups can also share your link to your post. Pinterest might reach the biggest crowd out of them all though. A product review I did on energy drinks reached 15k views. No shares on Facebook (I'm not in an energy drink group. That's weird.) You create "pins" that reach other users with similar interests. That pin is attached to your link, but what am I doing explaining another site to you if you haven't a profile on vocal yet?

Reward yourself by sharing your opinion to the world with thousands of other people and cutting those long conversations on the phone and message boards short by posting on this page. If you already have an email or Facebook page you're half way there.

how to
2

About the Creator

Jeffrey Fontanos

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.