Journal logo

Bad Day Blues

Wine and Cake Relief

By Caitlin GonyaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Can I just tell you how much I needed this wine and chocolate cake tonight?

First the day started off terrible. I woke up five minutes past my alarm, and thought that it would be no big deal. I can zip through my morning routine fairly quickly.

EXCEPT

The clothes I thought were clean in the dryer were still wet. Apparently, the dryer died in the middle of running and I slept right through it. Since I didn’t have other clothes I resigned myself to slightly damp clothing after using the hair dryer for twenty minutes. I am officially late for work. I brushed my teeth, grabbed a granola bar and my coffee, purse and keys, and headed out the door.

Where I next realized that I have no gas for work, and I left my cell phone on the charger. Back inside to grab phone, text the boss, and out the door again. I get to the gas station, put gas in the car, and begin to turn away from the pump when the “nice” gentleman, who saw me pulling forward, very quickly shoved his car into reverse and nearly collided with the front of my car. I hit my brakes and coffee went everywhere. The passenger sit where my purse was hitting, the middle console is flooded, and the right side of my body. The gentleman in question gives me the finger while I sit swearing in some pain.

Finally arrive to work, get written up for being late, the coffee in the staff lounge is gone and we have to order more, and my boss tells me that I have to train the new girl. This poor individual must think I am a slob, and must be wondering how I have managed to keep my job. Normally I would be all anxious about this horrible first impression, but right now I just want my computer to start.

It doesn’t.

So, I make the call to I.T. who tell me that the hard drive is blown and I need a new computer. They provide with a temporary replacement but it doesn’t have any of my programs or saved passwords. My boss assigns someone else to train the new girl while reprimanding me for the “lack of preparation.”

I managed to go to lunch on time with my work best friend, but the restaurant messed up my B.L.T. with no avocado. I had to scrape the avocado off, but can still taste some of it. At least the sweet tea was sweetly cool, and my friend was sympathetic.

The rest of the afternoon went by unproductively and I was finally able to go home. Then I remembered that I need a new dryer and I haven’t gone to the grocery store. I called my mother to use her dryer, picked up my clothes, and drove to their house. My mother was kind enough to let me eat dinner, but my sister and her toddler were there. Throughout the dinner the little girl screamed that she wanted cake and flicked her mash potatoes at me. My mother felt so bad that she gave me a piece of the chocolate cake in a tupperware container and told me to “run for your life.” Before I did, I asked my father if he would stop by tomorrow to look at my dryer. He agreed, and I gave him my house key. I would use my spare tomorrow.

When I finally got home, I immediately checked my kitchen for something to drink with this cake, and found to my immense relief a half glass of wine. I took glass and plate to the bathroom, and ran a bath.

I know everyone has bad days. Most of the time you can read about them on social media or some ridiculous article. But today was the truly the day that I was thankful the universe had someone create wine and chocolate cake.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Caitlin Gonya

I love reading. Everything and, just about anything, I can put my hands on. I was guided towards writing, so I started with book reviews, and am now feeling ready to showcase some of my stories. I would appreciate any constructive feedback.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.