Journal logo

An Intended Money-making Vocal Strategy Not to Use

How much is a cup of coffee worth?

By KJ AartilaPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
3
An Intended Money-making Vocal Strategy Not to Use
Photo by Ante Samarzija on Unsplash

I will have been on Vocal+ for a year in April. It's been good! That first few months, with bonuses, tips and Top Stories, my subscription paid for itself. Now, not so much. In December, reads and engagement went way down everywhere in general, but also in the Vocal groups. Not surprising, I figured, with all the Holiday hustle-and- bustle. But, beginning in January, I decided I needed to plan a strategy for the 2022 year to gauge and improve my reader engagement and stats. Because that’s what this analytical mind does – it makes a spreadsheet and a plan. I proceeded to plan it and put it into action in early January.

My reader stats plummeted.

In February, my stats have doubled from the month before, but still a mere pittance, and a far cry from my anticipated goals. I might be able to buy a cup of coffee. I was planning for greater purchasing power.

Actually, I can’t even buy that cup of coffee because I need to pay for my subscription. As of right now, I am paying Vocal for the opportunity to remain coffeeless.

I think I can tell you why I’m making less money instead of more. A couple of reasons that I can think of, anyway.

1. I decided to leave most of the Vocal Facebook groups I had joined. This meant a lot fewer built-in readers, but the drama was distracting from my writing. Writing is more important. I have since been invited back and rejoined just 3-4 Vocal groups. I plan to keep it that way. I enjoy interacting with my virtual friends for their expertise, camaraderie and common experience, as well as the diversity. It’s educational and my goal is to improve my writing, as well as to help or encourage others where I can.

2. I got myself blocked by a couple of non-Vocal related groups. I had been a member of those groups for some time, thinking I added value, and, in return, I was growing a small following of readers. I think I must have violated the rules of one, which got me blocked from two, which I don’t really understand, and I can’t check because I have been blocked. Oh, well. It’s their group, they can do what they want. Just wish I knew what I did exactly to become such an unwanted guest. The consequence of that has been fewer readers. What I have been trying to do is to find new groups to become a member of where I can feel I have much to offer and receive a few reads and feedback in exchange. I haven’t found much out there yet suitable to me. Often the effort to interact – not just link-bomb - is not met with any engagement. But I will keep trying. Eventually, something will work out.

In the meantime, I write, and I post to my Facebook profile, author page, business page, my website and Twitter, but it all seems to be a black hole. I also post on the Vocal Facebook groups I am involved with. That’s where I get the most engagement, but still not a huge money maker or anything. It’s just fun and educational.

As far as I can tell, this writing and Vocal platform is no get-rich-quick option. It will take effort, but there are a lot of benefits besides the money-earning potential. If you are intent on making money through this platform, it can be done, but I don’t think it’s easy! I am an optimist, though. Maybe by continuing with this strategy, by next month, I can afford that cup of coffee.

advice
3

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.