Journal logo

8 Tips To Help You Get That Job

8 tips showing you how to get offered the job you desire

By Stephi DurandPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
Like
Images from Pexels.com

Getting a job isn't easy. It can be stressful, disappointing, and overall make you feel like giving up completely.

It's taken me two years of searching to finally get the apprenticeship I wanted, and while I felt god awful for a lot of that time, thinking I'd never get full-time work, this job will give me far more opportunities than any of the other apprenticeships I applied for.

So while in the end, it was worth the wait, I never would've gotten it if I hadn't put in the effort I did to secure that job offer.

I'm going to share some tips and tricks, as well as some strong questions you can ask any interviewer.

Appearance

Outfit.

My rule of thumb for an interview is "Always dress the smartest you possibly can."

My interview outfits tended to be smart-casual. I'd always have a pair of formal black trousers and some kind of blazer, but my shirt was on the more casual side (nothing too casual mind you, I still wanted to give the best impression possible!)

As I gained new wardrobe pieces for my day to day life, I realised I could utilise some of these clothing for my interview wear. This lead me to looking a lot smarter over the interviews, without deliberately going and spending a lot of money on clothes I probably wouldn't feel entirely comfortable in.

Hair.

Honestly? You don't need to have the most fanciest looking hair for an interview. So long as it shows that you do your best to take of it, then it shouldn't be an issue. I always ensure my hair is as clean as possible, brush it, and only do anything else to it (like tie it up) should I feel like doing so.

First Impressions

"Two things remain irretrievable: time and a first impression" - Cynthia Ozick.

Let's keep this short, because I'm sure it's pretty self-explanatory.

1. Don't look displeased to be there. Why would they hire you if you clearly don't look happy in the place?

2. Always (so long as you're able to!) greet with a handshake.

3. Don't be afraid to make small talk as you move to the interview room.

Delivery

Eye Contact

Always try your best to make eye contact with the interviewer speaking. If you're not the most confident at that, try looking at something close to their eyes. Don't focus on it for too long though, or you run the risk of them thinking something's on their face!

Pace of Speech

If you're like me, you may naturally speak faster. This can be really difficult when you're trying to make conversation, as 9/10 times, you'll be asked to repeat yourself. While it's highly annoying, it's best to work on it, especially for interviews. Remember to breathe between between sentences, and try not to rush your words.

What to Have on Hand

Two things you should always have with you at an interview, and should put on the table.

1. A copy of your CV.

2. A notebook.

It's so much easier to refer to your CV when they ask about past experiences. Plus, you can easily show them should they have any questions.

A notebook can keep all of the questions you have for the interviewer (especially the ones listed below) You should also write down all of the research you've done beforehand here to easily refer to.

Having these on hand also adds to your first impression. My new employer loved the fact that I turned up to my first interview with a notebook, and loved it even more when she found out I had a lot of questions to ask!

Answering Questions

Don't be afraid to take your time with this. It's better to think out an answer than rush and ramble out a rubbish answer.

One trick to being able to think over the answer, is taking a sip of water. You can use this time to both have a drink and think of an answer without risking looking like you're unsure.

Asking Questions

One thing which always let me down in interviews was not having questions to ask.

Always think out possible questions ahead of time and write them down in your notebook. Always aim to have at least five questions to reduce the risk of having them all be covered in the interview.

There's nothing wrong with questions being covered, and you can even state that they've already covered some as you pick out the next question to ask.

Questions You Can Ask At Any Interview

Having questions to ask is something I would always struggle with throughout interviews. Usually I'd be able to come up with one or two, but they'd usually be answered during the interview, leaving me with nothing extra to ask at the end.

Employers (some more than others) will much prefer interviewees who have a range of questions to ask. Having these in your notebook (as mentioned above in 'Delivery') will ensure you won't forget to ask any of your chosen questions, while also showing you to be an organised individual.

I'll share three questions you can ask at any interview, and two questions which you can ask at any apprenticeship-based role.

How many people are you interviewing, and how many positions are available?

I used to always be embarrassed asking this question, but at the end of the day it gives you a bit more insight into your chances of getting the role.

What are you hoping to be a potential start date?

The interviewer will have a date in mind, even if it's a simple 'as soon as possible'. This'll help you get a rough idea at when you could potentially join the company, should they wish to hire you.

How long have you worked here? And how have you found your job to be?

Ask this. You will not regret it. I asked it at my last interview, and I was hired within days. Plus, you can relish the moment of making them feel like they're the ones being interviewed! If I ever end up needing to look for another job in the future, this will be a go-to question.

What do you expect from an apprentice, especially within the first few weeks as they settle into the role?

I liked asking this for my recent apprenticeship interview. It was reassuring to hear what they expected from apprentices, and what sort of plans they had early on.

Is there an employment opportunity after the apprenticeship is complete?

Not all apprenticeships keep you on once your role is done. Even if it's a two-year job, it's best to know if you'd have a chance of being kept on so you know if and when to start job hunting.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Stephi Durand

Indie Author | Content Creator

'Look Up' is available to purchase at all online book retailers in Paperback and eBook.

Writing here, writing there, writing everywhere...

Instagram: @stevie_dd

Twitter: @StephiDurand

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.