Journal logo

5 Ways How To Stay Motivated When You Are Not Making Money As A Writer

Focus on making progress than making money.

By Sahil PatelPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
10
5 Ways How To Stay Motivated When You Are Not Making Money As A Writer
Photo by Travis Essinger on Unsplash

As a writer, everyone wants to make money from writing. When I started writing, I never thought of making money from it. Even as a beginner, I thought it’s impossible to earn from writing.

I know I was wrong. It’s possible to make money from writing. It’s hard to do things, without getting any reward.

When I started writing, it was hard for me to concentrate. Every day when I wake up I have plenty of reasons to not write such as I don’t have time, I do not feel like to write and so on.

There are many reasons to not write. However, you just need one real reason to keep going on. I find that reason for myself to keep going on with writing.

I write to heal and make myself better every day. I write because words are my world and I can’t live without my world.

It’s hard to keep going without getting anything in return. First, find that one reason that why you want to write?

Once you find the reason for your writing, you will be more focused, no excuse can stop you from writing.

5 ways to stay motivated while not making money as a writer.

1. Read different writer’s work

When you feel like not writing, stop writing and start reading. When you read, you feel inspired and motivated. You can read how different writer style their writing. By reading different writer’s work you can be able to learn different writing styles.

Reading will help you to get new ideas.

2. Go on a day trip

When you feel like quitting or not writing. Plan a one or two-day trip.

Travelling always inspires better writing.

How travelling can help you in your writing?

You can be able to write different characters when you meet different people.

You can write a better description of a destination when you visit different places.

You can get new story ideas when you explore different cultures.

Travelling forces you to think outside the box.

You can inspire by nature.

Even, you always have a chance to write your travel diaries.

Therefore, whenever you feel like you need a break, go travelling. You will become a better writer after enjoying your trip.

3. Set small goals

When you are not able to fulfil finish big goals. Start taking small steps before taking a big one.

Set small writing goals for everyday writing. When you set small goals, it’s easy to fulfil. Once you can fulfil your small goals, you will get confidence.

When a person is confident, he can get whatever he wants.

Therefore, set small goals and when you will fulfil them, celebrate your small success to make a big success in future.

4. Listen to an audiobook

This is really amazing thing that anyone can do. When you don’t have time to pick a book and read. You can listen to any audiobook.

While driving or working you can start your favourite audiobook and listen to it. Sometimes, it’s boring to read, so you can give it a try to this new type of book.

Audiobook is a fascinating way for reading.

5. Remember Why you started

Never forget why you started. There were many days when I felt like quitting writing. However, I am glad that I didn’t do that.

Remember the reason why you started writing and write down that reason on a piece of paper and stick it on the wall in front of your writing table.

It will inspire you whenever you start writing. You have come so far, so don’t quit soon.

Don’t just be disappointed. Make your writing best, and it will pay you off because hard work always pays off. You just need to believe in yourself.

Above all, the strategy I used personally to make myself a better writer every day. It helped me a lot and also might help you too.

If you still feel demotivated, here is the poem for all the writers to inspire all of you.

advice
10

About the Creator

Sahil Patel

Writer, poet, blogger and student of life. Want to make world a better place to live by writing. passionate observer and imaginative person.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.