Journal logo

3 Things I Regret Not Having Done Before Quitting My Full-time Job

It takes SO much effort to do them now

By Chau TrieuPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo created by freepik.com

I'm not someone who keeps things from her past.

The day I graduated, I sold all of my textbooks and discarded every notebook.

Three days after my trips, all edited photos would be uploaded to Facebook and Instagram, a recap video would be on YouTube, a blog post would go on my WordPress, and none of the raw materials would clutter my phone storage any longer.

I only save the phone numbers of my closest friends. Anyone outside of that circle would be in my Facebook friend list or LinkedIn connections.

My latest job application might put an end to my obsessive digital decluttering.

My new company's HR department had to wait two weeks to send me an offer letter because I did not do the following three things before leaving my previous full-time job:

Not backing up the contact list

My old team communicated mainly through WhatsApp. But since we were all from the digital marketing team, I thought I could text them via any social media platform they're on at any time. That's why when I left, I deleted the WhatsApp app along with the contact list.

Apparently, not all young people are active on social media.

To get the testaments from my former colleagues for my new job, I had to jump through hoops.

Since I received no replies from them via Messenger, Instagram DM or work email within one day, I had to reach out to members from other teams. I found out that some of them already quit and the others were simply too busy to check their messages.

After many conversations, I was able to retrieve three phone numbers of my old teammates and sent them a text asking for their help.

They replied: "You should have called. I respond faster that way."

I couldn't tell them that I hadn't saved their phone numbers to begin with, could I?

Not pushing for a labor contract

When I took the job at my previous company, I worked four hours a day and received a part-time agreement.

Six months in, I was promoted and didn't save the old contract thinking I'd get a full-time one.

I didn't.

The company always had a reason: 'the HR person just quit so there's no one to draft the full-time contract' or 'the CEO assistant is working on it right now' or 'you still get paid monthly…'.

Idiot that I was, I didn't push the company to send me my agreement. I didn't think that it'd matter because I did indeed get paid every month and could apply for a paid leave or a few days off.

Six months after I left and now being asked for proof of employment, I couldn't recover my part-time contract to submit to my new employer.

This leads me to my next point.

Not asking my former manager for a signed Certificate of Employment (COE)

In my defense, I never knew I could request one until recently.

Since a signed COE was the only eligible proof of employment, I had to contact my former marketing manager, whose phone number I also had to ask my old colleagues.

Then, the two-week wait with constant email checks and feeling guilty for bothering a busy businesswoman began.

At some point, I wondered if my new job was worth it.

---

Leaving a job does not mean that part of your life is finally left behind. Your past connections will remain and your tie with that community will be revisited.

Learn my lessons and make your departure professional and positive. Prepare for whatever you think your next steps might be and save your future self some troubles.

It'll thank you.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Chau Trieu

Trying to create daily...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.