Journal logo

3 Draining Tips to Stop Follow and Still Make Money From Your Writing

Don’t stop writing no matter what could be somehow annoying.

By Gladys Carmina Published 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Photo by Elisa Ventur on Unsplash

When I started writing a blog I searched for experienced writer’s tips. Most of them put "keep writing no matter what" at the top of the list.

I believe them because they were having amazing results. But when I jumped into practice, my perspective changed.

After a couple of years of being a content writer, now I found that some of these guru’s tips could intimidate beginner writers.

You can’t jump from being a non-writer to write every single day of the week, and what's more important:

Everybody has their own path, speed and direction.

Here are three guru tips you should stop trying to follow and still persist in the writing dream job.

#1 Keep writing no matter what. Write every day at least 30 minutes or 1000 words.

Dear new writer, you will experience lows and downs for coming up with new and fresh ideas. Don’t stop writing no matter what could be somehow annoying.

In my case, it made me feel nervous and anxious not to have the aim and the spirit of writing day after day, as it was marked in my writing routine.

After several days of missing out on my writing routine, I would have toxic thoughts like: I should quit.

Having a pause from hustle or slowing down the road doesn’t mean you will not get your goals and pursue your writing dream job.

Stop writing doesn’t mean to quit and is not a symptom that you are screwing it up.

On the contrary; taking it slow will make you feel more relaxed. And do you know what comes when you feel happily relaxed? — YES! The inspiration to write comes with ease.

Mental block, lack of inspiration and low motivation are the most common symptoms of writer’s block. Experienced writers already know themselves as writers and could already have several hacks to overcome a creative block.

Here is a message for more experienced writers:

Although writing could be your passion and you are actually getting paid, as in any other job, you need some rest.

Slow down. And take the time to think about your content, how to engage your audience and what do you want to give back to your community.

In my case, I took several weeks off to restructure my content, my personal brand and my writing business.

Finally, I took the time to fix an error on my blog

2. I transformed my blog into a personal brand to offer my writing services

3. I gave TLC to my gigs on Fiverr, they needed to be optimized and updated

4. And I could also launch my first freebie, which is a free SEO guide for Bloggers and Content Writers.

Making a pause in my writing gave me a boost to achieve other tasks of my writing business.

To stop writing is not like quitting. Give yourself the chance to do the tasks that have been on the TO DO LIST forever.

In fact, there are several roles to be played as a freelance content writer. You should have already noticed that. Writing is not only about producing fresh and amazing content but to promote, engage and get clients.

#2 Edit twice or as needed before publishing. Your writing should be impecable.

I hate this one.

Certainly, drafts are meant to be proofread. Grammar, spelling and syntax proofs the quality of the writer you are. But being a perfectionist is only feeding your impostor syndrome symptoms.

An impostor syndrome is when you don’t feel confident enough because you don't rely on your skills and capabilities. You undervalue yourself.

This happened to me when:

  • * I published my first entry on my self hosted blog
  • When I published my first story on Medium
  • And when I launched my free E-book

The impostor syndrome, caused by this endless editing tip, almost makes me stop writing and starting my writing business.

On the other hand, there’s this dilemma about editing after publishing: I would say:

Don’t come back to edit after publishing.

What you should do better is to keep creating, keep writing and keep improving. Move on!

Well, sometimes you want to come back and fix a mistake. But stop editing!

Why don’t you use that editing time and newly acquired skills to edit your newest draft before you publish?

You shoud be constant because the algorithm matters

Consistency in publishing new content way will help your content to gain popularity and organically positioning, because the algorithm matters.

Publishing a block of nonsense words is an awful strategy to follow if you want to convert views into leads and leads into reads and engagement.

For a text to be engaging it should have click-baity free title, an appealing structure, and must include your keyword along with the text in an organic and natural way.

Between other factors, those are the basics of an optimized text. You can learn more from this topic in my free SEO guide for starter bloggers.

Writing for the Internet, is about keeping a balance between quality and quantity.

I have seen frustrated writers blaming the algorithm of every social network for their low visibility and engagement. As well as complaining about the distribution rate on Medium.

Read This if Curation is the Only Strategy You Know for Getting Noticed on Medium.

Give the algorithm amazing reasons to look at you! Give your audience the best of yourself and you will see how your numbers change.

Note: Numbers are the least to look at. Focus on creating high-quality content because Content is the King of this jungle named the Internet.

Let’s keep writing.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Gladys Carmina

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.