Journal logo

11 Magazines That Accept Fiction From Freelance Writers

For The Fiction Writer In All Of Us

By Susan F WeimerPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
2

I like to write fiction, poetry, about my life experiences, and about things I have learned through life. I want to enjoy writing. It would be a waste of my time writing an article for a magazine I don't care about, hoping their magazine will accept it.

So, I searched Google for magazines that accept fiction stories and poems. I found quite a few, and some of them pay very well. Without further ado, these are the magazines I found. (In no particular order.)

The Sun:

Personal Essays $300 to $2,000

Fiction $300 to $2,000

VQR:

Poetry: All types and lengths. $200 per poem

Short Fiction: Length is from 3,500–8,000 words.

For short fiction, they pay $1,000 and above.

Nonfiction: Length is 3,500–9,000 words.

For personal essays, they pay $1,000 and above, at approximately 25 cents per word.

Asimov's Science Fiction:

Science Fiction

They are looking for “character-oriented” stories.

They pay 8-10 cents per word for short stories up to 7,500 words, and 8 cents per word over 7,500. They don't buy stories shorter than 1,000 words or longer than 20,000 words.

The ThreePenny Review:

Stories and articles $400 per story or article.

Poems or Table Talk pieces $200

Analog Science Fiction And Fact:

Short fiction up to approximately 20,000 words, 8-10 cents per word.

Serials (40,000-80,000 words) 6 cents per word.

Fact articles, 9 cents per word.

Poetry is $1 per line.

Heliotrope Magazine:

Fiction that does not exceed 5,000 words. They pay 10 cents a word.

Poems they will pay $50.

Opinions articles of 2000 words or more. The pay rate is $90 flat.

Clarkesworld Magazine:

Science fiction and fantasy

12¢ per word 1000-22000 words, no exceptions.

No horror, but dark SF/F is permitted.

The Antihumanist:

Flash fiction and essays, 1000 words or fewer.

They want stories that ask who are we? Why are we here? Is there a purpose?

Archive Of The Odd:

All work must be speculative, horror being preferred.

Payments for writing are as follows:

$15.00 for 500-1999 words

$20.00 for 2000-4999 words

$25.00 for 5000+ words

The Deadlands:

Fiction, non-fiction, and poetry.

Stories should be around 3000-4000 words.

They pay 10¢/word for original fiction.

Uncharted:

Crime, mystery, science fiction, fantasy, horror, and thriller short stories.

They pay $200 for original fiction of 1,000-5,000 words.

My favorite genre has always been science fiction with action and fantasy coming in as close 2nd and 3rd. That's why I went on this search to hunt science fiction magazines. I wonder why science fiction magazines are so few and far between.

I love science fiction and I also love to read science fiction. Sure movies help by showing what the writer of the story was trying to express, but I have never had any trouble imagining anything if the writer described what was happening well enough.

That's it for now. If I find any more I will be sure to publish a revised list.

If you liked my article, you can treat me to a cup of coffee. It will go a long way in supporting me as a writer.

You can see more of my stories and articles on Vocal at this web address: https://vocal.media/authors/susan-f-weimer

You can follow me on Facebook here: https://www.facebook.com/N0tSure64

You can follow my author page on Facebook here: https://www.facebook.com/SusanFWeimer

You can follow me on Twitter here: https://twitter.com/Sure64N0t

You can follow me on Instagram here: https://www.instagram.com/n0tsure64/

Join these Vocal groups on Facebook and keep up to date on your favorite authors:

The Vocal Creators Lounge: https://www.facebook.com/groups/503959543406774

The Medium Writers and Vocal Creators Support Group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/859460638117339

Vocal Media Creators Hub: https://www.facebook.com/groups/1511757102346213

That's all for now.

advice
2

About the Creator

Susan F Weimer

I live in a rural area in upstate New York with my fiancé and three dogs. Mine is a simple life filled with simple pleasures.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.