Journal logo

10 Ways to Get Rid of Career-Related Stress

Career-related stress can and will kill you if you let it. Here's how to avoid having a heart attack while on the job.

By Ossiana M. TepfenhartPublished 7 years ago 9 min read
Like

As much as I love being a writer, I'll be the first one to tell you that it's not an easy field to break into. I love writing, but goddamn, it's one of the most stressful fields you could ever get into — especially if you started off as a freelancer like I did.

In many offices involving media, "Mean Girl" mentality reigns supreme over actually having a meritocracy. Workplace bullying has been something I've dealt with at my last job. There's also always the chance of being on the receiving end of a "cost-effective layoff" for writers.

At my last job, my friends and I were showing serious signs of stress. We all handled it differently, and how we handled it made all the difference in the world.

That job, though it was incredibly toxic, taught me how to manage workplace stress. Here's how I managed to get rid of career-related stress, and what my best advice I can offer really is.

1. Determine whether or not this job really is for you, and if it's not, find a better one ASAP.

At my last job, I stuck around because I really, truly wanted to be able to say that I was part of the glitz and glamour of New York City fashion. And, honestly, I was. I still am, and frankly, there's a lot about the fashion scene I love and hate.

However, that job was absolute dogshit and the only good thing about it were the three cool people who worked there alongside me.

Most of my other coworkers made a point to make fun of me in the group chat, would make a point to exclude me in conversations, and made it oh, so clear that they were better than me for no apparent reason other than them existing in the same space as me.

My friend, who we'll call Rayna, was wiser than me. Far wiser, when it came to handling the career issue.

While I coped with my stress by vomiting in the middle of the PATH train to Newark after splitting a bottle of Smirnoff with my friend who looks like Carl from Aqua Teen Hunger Force, she realized that the workplace was toxic — not her career. I think she escaped from that job with the most intact liver of the two of us.

So, she ended up quitting to work on the magazine she owns, and it's actually doing amazingly well. Rayna is actually doing better than ever now, and is also throwing her own concerts these days.

I'm doing alright, too, but the difference with me is that I'm pretty sure my liver still remembers my days at the last job — and I also have a mild case of anxiety related to work because of the workplace bullying I endured.

Either way, if you find yourself getting sick because of work or the addictions work makes you pick up, you have to ask yourself if this is the right job for you. If it's not, then you may want to start applying to other jobs.

2. Deep breaths actually do help mitigate panic attacks.

This was something I learned while listening to my last boss go on an unhinged rant about how much we all sucked at everything.

Deep breaths really do help you calm down, primarily due to the fact that they force you to concentrate on something that is totally controllable by you — your breath. My suggestion is to inhale for three seconds, then exhale for three seconds.

Zen folks were right. Controlling your breath does do wonders for your wellness.

3. Learn how to be assertive.

A large part of our workplace problems involve not feeling confident enough to actually speak up. If someone is being disrespectful to you, politely tell them that you won't tolerate rudeness to you — or just ask to keep it professional.

If a coworker keeps pushing work on you, then politely decline and tell them that you need to focus on your own tasks. If they keep doing it, keep a written record and then bring it to a higher up.

If all else fails and you end up in a job where workplace bullying, politics, and other toxic behaviors reign supreme, confronting them about their behavior after the layoff will usually allow you to get the last word in.

Similarly, if you feel like you're being unfairly discriminated against, you might want to make a call to a lawyer. You might be a protected class in your state, or your coworkers may have crossed a line that they shouldn't have.

4. Lean on others.

In most really high-stress careers, your coworkers quickly become your brothers-in-arms. There's a certain camaraderie in trial-by-fire, and it's something that very few will understand until they are in the same situation as you are.

If you have a friend at work you can trust, vent to them. Meet with them for drinks and talk about how rough it was. Ask them for advice, and give advice back to them. You might be able to solve problems faster that way, and if you're in a bad job like I was, you might be able to find a way out.

What I've found is that much of the typical career-stress isn't that scary when you have others who have your back. There's strength in numbers and there's a source of strength in commiseration.

5. Have a backup plan whenever possible.

If you want to go into a very competitive field, especially when it comes to the arts, you need to consider what will happen if you can't find regular employment. You also need to figure out how to balance the two while you etch out a spot in your career.

Even if it's just a series of odd jobs, having some financial cushioning that will allow you to walk away or take a financial hit without having to worry about going crazy looking for a new way to make money.

Shit can and will hit the fan occasionally. It's up to you to know how to prepare for it in a way that will allow you to come out on top. (This is also why I strongly suggest having a Fuck-Off Fund.)

6. Channel your anxiety into healthier outlets.

When I worked for this super toxic job, my outlets were literally warehouse parties and drinking disgusting amounts of liquor. This isn't healthy, and it actually made me feel even worse in the long run.

Even if alcohol feels good short-term, it's a depressant — and that means that it'll make you feel depressed in the long term, especially if you're drinking sickening quantities of it like I was. I'm not going to even begin to broach the weight gain issue it caused, either.

A better option? Gymming it up, or maybe treating yourself to a spa day. Heck, even breakdancing at a rave is a better way to handle stress than turning to drugs or drinking.

Besides, those things are cheaper than a bottle of vodka a day. Trust me on this.

7. Music is your friend, listen to it during work.

Music does have a pretty profound effect on one's mood, and there's a reason why so many angsty high schoolers turn to music to reduce stress. It's because music works, and it can help calm you down when few other things will.

If your office allows for it, listen to some good music on Spotify and concentrate on your work. You'd be surprised at how much more productive you can be with the right tunes, anyway.

8. Diet does matter.

This is one of those stress-busting tips that I never fully realized was so important until I switched jobs. When I switched to a better environment, I was able to calm down to the point that I stopped drinking. And, my cravings for terrible food also started to slow down.

Fried food and high-sugar meals can really ramp up anxiety. Had I ate a different diet back at my last job, I probably wouldn't have been so wound up. Either way, it feels amazing to have a healthier diet — and it makes you look better, too.

9. See the human side of others.

One thing that really made me less stressed during my time at my last job was realizing that what my friend Rayna said about the office bullies was true. Rayna was not the least bit concerned about the bullying and usually gave them really sympathetic glances.

After a particularly bad time feeling the brunt of the pecking order issue, I asked her what gives. She explained to me that normal, healthy people don't act the way that our coworkers did. They were insecure, and clearly had major problems in order to go out of their way to hurt someone who was nothing but nice to me.

I took it in, and began to watch them more closely.

I realized one bully, Tricia, kept making self-deprecating comments about herself constantly — and it then dawned on me that she wasn't joking about her self-loathing; she really hate it herself.

I then looked at Sally, one girl who always rubbed it in my face that I wasn't invited. I then noticed that she'd look at me and smile whenever she'd boast about some stupid maintream concert she attended with others there. Her friend, Alexis, would do the same thing.

Alexis? Well, I've seen her break down in tears plenty of times. She clearly wasn't having a good time at work, even if she wanted to make it seem like she was the queen.

It then dawned on me that they really were sad, lonely, and somewhat pathetic kids. I mean, what kind of people feel like they have to exclude others just to feel some type of way? Sad ones. People who feel like no one actually likes them.

The moment it really sank in, much of the bullying no longer fazed me. Incidentally, this made me stop reacting and they ended up stopping their antics. Rayna, me, and my other work buddy Lauren, we all ended up ignoring them completely or just giving them pitying looks at the end.

Sometimes, realizing that other are having an equally hard time can give you empathy... or just realize that there's no reason to sweat.

10. And sometimes, you just gotta laugh it off.

There's a certain point in a hellish job where you just have to sit back and laugh at everything and the chaos you deal with. Life is hilarious at times — even if you're the punchline.

Whether it's hearing your boss scream the words, "FUCK PEE WEE HERMAN," or actually having to sit through a meeting where your bosses tell you how much they hate you, there's a certain point where you have to find the humor in everything.

So, go ahead. Laugh. Just understand, that this insane part of your career, too, shall pass.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Ossiana M. Tepfenhart

Ossiana Tepfenhart is a writer based out of NJ. You can message her via Twitter on @bluntandwitty or via Instagram on @ossiana.makes.content. She's always looking for freelance work and collabs!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.