Interview logo

Men Share the Final Straw That Led Them to Divorce Their Wives

When is the right time to say you're done?

By Katya KovalPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

“I would find reasons not to go home. I would work overtime or take up hobbies that I hated just to be away from my wife. It wasn’t until that day when I was sitting in my car, just a block away from home dreading the thought of facing her that I finally realized it wasn’t normal and that I needed to end things."

If you’re like me who’s always interested in other people’s stories, this article might interest you.

American Men Share Their Divorce Stories Online

“It was during our BBQ party. We had over a dozen guests, friends and family. I was grilling burgers and sausages when she screamed from the living room that our baby needed a diaper change. She said she was busy “entertaining the guests.” By that, she meant sitting on the sofa and getting drunk. I didn’t want to fight in front of our friends and family so I just did what I was told. I went upstairs with our baby, and a few minutes later she showed up and screamed at me, telling me the burgers were burning. After a decade of being treated that way, that was the final straw. I decided I’d divorce her, and I did.”

“For me, it was when I talked about my marriage out loud to my therapist that made me realize how incredibly toxic it was. I talked to my wife about it and told her that things had to change for the better so that we could stay together. She flat out said no and continued to make things difficult.”

“I got laid off from my high paying job because of COVID. We didn’t have much savings since my (former) wife enjoyed shopping all too much. Our finances got worse. I had to work two jobs, and when I asked her if she could help out, she left and went to live with her friend, the guy he told me not to worry about.”

“She went on an expensive shopping spree without my knowledge, using my card. When I confronted her about it, she threw a bottle of wine at me. And that’s why I have this scar in my arm. I convinced her that we get couples therapy. It didn’t work. She never admitted to her faults. To top it off, she cheated on me a month later with her personal fitness instructor that I paid for. We had a prenup, but I still lost $300K in court just because she shed a few pity tears.” Yikes!

“‘This house is fine, we can always move to a better place later.’ After changing careers, moving across the country for her, and selling everything back home to buy us a five bedroom house in a decent neighborhood, that was the comment that triggered me. She didn’t see my sacrifice. All she cared about was material possessions that she could rub into people’s faces. I had enough of it. I was never going to be good enough for her no matter how hard I tried and how much I sacrificed.”

“My wife told me she never felt like a wife. I never truly understood what she meant. A year later, we mutually agreed to get a divorce. Neither of us were at fault. It just didn’t work out.”

Why does the US have high divorce rates?

Statistics:

  • More than 50% of marriages in the US end in divorce.
  • 41% of first marriages end in divorce;
  • 60% of second marriages end in divorce; and
  • 73% of third marriages end in divorce.
  • 75% of the time, women initiate divorce
  • the number rises to 90% for college-educated women.

Judging from the numerous stories I’ve heard and read, the high divorce rate in the US is mostly linked to societal and cultural factors — such as American individualism and permissive attitudes towards divorce. But I could be wrong.

What do you think? Let me know in the comments.

Humanity
Like

About the Creator

Katya Koval

I talk about men's issues and international dating.

Staff Writer & General Consultant for A-Foreign-Affair.com

Find me on:

MediumQuoraWebsite

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.