Interview logo

Interview with Author JD Estrada

"

By Cendrine MarrouatPublished 2 years ago Updated 9 months ago 12 min read
Top Story - May 2022
14
Author JD Estrada - Photo courtesy of guest

I am excited to resume my interview series. Today, the spotlight is on the very talented author JD Estrada!

Although JD Estrada currently resides in Atlanta, GA, home shall always be Puerto Rico. With 19 published works and many more on the way, Estrada likes to explore a variety of genres including urban fantasy, middle-grade, poetry, non-fiction, and horror in both English and Spanish because if variety is the spice of life, then let things be spicy.

Beyond books, he is also a Creativity Ambassador with a sock collection that borders on the ludicrous and is the original banana secret agent #00Bananas. If you don’t know what that is, check that hash tag for some silly.

Cendrine Marrouat: Hello JD, it’s great to have you! How did you get started as a writer? Any specific story?

JD Estrada: When it comes to writing, the first time I did it for myself and not for school was as a teenager writing poetry. Those years can be pretty tumultuous, so having that outlet was definitely therapeutic.

From processing the first major deaths in my family, to almost drowning and the crisis of faith that was brought on, to coping with heartbreak, poetry has been there for me in some of the most trying times when I’ve needed to sort my head and heart.

I wrote a short story here and there, though it wasn’t until I wrote something in the 10th grade that a teacher offered any sort of validation that I should pursue writing a bit more. Years later, I got invited to write in a blog and that’s where a LOT of things clicked for me, namely writing for any sort of audience. It’s pretty crazy because two people who knew me from the blog actually transitioned to readers of my work and it’s something I’ve always appreciated.

CM: You are a multi-genre author and you have released more than 10 books. What is your favorite genre and why?

JDE: My main love is writing and every time I write in any genre, I’m doing my best to keep it honest and tap into different soul wells to see what I can find.

With poetry, I love landing on a concept for a collection and then pushing that concept as far as I can. With middle-grade fantasy, I adore how whimsical and fun it can be and the pursuit there is to always make myself and readers smile. With urban fantasy, it’s a way to make this HUGE mashup of genres and throwing a bunch of rules out the window in favor of what the story needs. And when it comes to non-fiction, it responds to that need to try and make a positive impact with what I write.

In any given week, we humans bounce between moods, experiences, and emotions and I like to match what I’m writing with what I’m feeling; and I get a sense of accomplishment in all of those.

Image courtesy of guest

CM: How do you approach writing as a bilingual writer (English and Spanish)? Do you notice differences in styles? And how does your Puerto Rican culture influence your work?

JDE: Writing in each language is like having a different arsenal almost, because my voice in one language is distinct to that in the other and I really noticed that while translating my work.

I have a bilingual collection called Twenty Veinte and it’s me flexing as many muscles I can within one collection to push myself creatively as much as possible in two languages. Recently I released the all-English version of the collection and am currently working on the all-Spanish version and it’s curious how I have to re-interpret so many things. That’s because there’s translation and there are transcreations. The second term refers to when you also make adjustments to ensure cultural relevance and that the audience gets what you were saying.

So beyond making sure I translate the words correctly, I need to ensure that the message and true essence of a piece is maintained. Easier said than done.

As for my Puerto Rican background, from anagrams I use for Spanish speaking characters, I try and share a bit of how it is back home and I’m really exploring that Puerto Rican aesthetic in an upcoming Spanish Horror Short Story collection.

Beyond that, I have stories and characters that will show more of my Puerto Rican side. I’ve felt the need to show a bit more of that and didn’t before because I wanted to write something people would enjoy and if they supported it, it’s because they love it, not because it has any Puerto Rican aspect or feel to it.

CM: We all have different ways of working on projects. How do you usually get started on one? Do you need a specific setting?

JDE: Each project is its own little monster that invites a particular way of hunting. Another curious aspect is how the project itself evolves.

Take the Human Cycle, from a snarky comment and a self-imposed dare to write something better than Underworld, that project has transformed into a huge sprawling urban fantasy adventure where I explore humanity through fiction. The first book focused on the physical aspect. The second focused on the mind and psychology. Now the third is focusing on the spiritual/soul aspect. When I see how that’s evolved it’s a FAR cry from its genesis.

Then there are projects like Given to Fly where I was looking for an idea to write out the story for years and wasn’t happy or satisfied. Then I went to Epcot Center in Orlando, got on the Soarin’ ride and after the two and half minute ride, I could see the entire plot clearly. It’s the most intense single moment of clarity and inspiration I’ve ever experienced where I went from “what the hell am I going to write”, to “this is it.” From that initial outline, the only thing that changed in the final work is a chapter I eliminated because it felt out of place.

With other projects, the main thing is to capture the idea even if it’s kept in storage for years. Just write it down. And inspiration strikes whenever it wants so I don’t need a locked setting and actually, that’s counterproductive for me. I love the freedom to create although the main thing is remembering to finish those projects.

I might have 19 books out, but I have 24 ongoing projects. So here’s to focusing!

CM: What has been your most challenging project so far? Which book has resonated the most with your audience? Why?

JDE: Only Human and Beyond Human are tied for which one has been the most challenging. Only Human is my first book and part of the challenge there was learning how to write a book. There are a lot of mistakes I learned from and PLENTY of growing pains.

With Book 3, it’s been a whole other set of challenges, namely working my best to ensure I stick the landing because Beyond Human will close the Human Cycle.

Another thing is that this series has become more personal as time passes and I include many things that are important to me, which just makes for an emotionally intense experience that has also required several adjustments in the outline and plot overall. I’m about ¾ of the way through the first draft but this is a project that will require a LOT of revisiting until I’m happy with where I land it in.

As for which book resonates the most with audiences, well when you write multiple genres, it means you connect with multiple audiences. I have some people who can only connect with my non-fiction, others who are all about my poetry, others who love my prose, and PLENTY who are tapping their foot impatiently waiting for me to write more in Spanish. :)

Funnily enough though, many people give other genres and languages a shot because of me, and I find that extremely motivating so I’ll keep doing what I’m doing :)

CM: You are very active on Twitter and Instagram. How do you use social media to stay in touch with your audience?

JDE: I’m honestly a message away in pretty much any platform. Ask around. I use social media to also flex other creative muscles. I like to keep things varied and often silly and do love connecting with people.

I’ve been often told that I need to promote my work better, though at the very least I work hard to make social media fun and so people can get to know me.

One of the best compliments I can get is for people to say I’m exactly the same in person as I am online. I try to keep things honest and light and even if I have moments where I can be a bit more serious, I’m all for having fun and using social media as a way to push myself creatively while connecting with people.

JD Estrada - Photo courtesy of guest

CM: What do you think makes your work unique?

JDE: One of my biggest influences is David Bowie. The curious thing is that his influence is not so much in content, but in how he went about his craft. No matter WHAT Bowie did, it sounded and felt like Bowie, like an extension of him, and never something to cater or pander. It ALWAYS felt that he was doing what he was feeling and what he believed in and I do my best to do the same thing with every single project I work on. No matter if I’m writing about vampires that don’t sparkle, a boy who dreams about flying, wicked nursery rhymes, positive poetry, or a guide to creative happiness, you read it and can feel me within the work.

I also enjoy surprising myself because if I can do that to MYSELF as the author, odds are good the readers will also get that surprise (or at least I hope so). The other thing is that I’ve released and worked in multiple genres from the get-go, so my readers are often curious to see what else I’ll come up with. That interest and trust just allows me to double down on my commitment as a creativity ambassador and to always make sure that no matter what I write, there’s a clear piece of me within the text.

CM: What is your most important piece of advice to writers and authors?

JDE: Write what makes you happy. The market will change and although you will grow, you won’t change, just evolve. If you aim to push yourself to truly capture something that is all yours, great things can and will happen.

Don’t be the next King, Gaiman, Rowling, Mass, Sanderson, Tolkien, or whatever other author you can think of. Be you because when you get a fan, it won’t be because they like something kind of like what you wrote. They’ll be a fan because of you and that piece of magic you captured in a project.

CM: Anything else people should know?

JDE: In addition to all the projects I have running, I recently finished making my first writing class. It’s a 40-minute video in which I cover a lot of ground. From the different genres I write in and how I go about them, to influences, inspiration, and writing in different languages.

The video is not posted publicly and the intention is to have it available for any person who wants to learn a bit more about my process or if a teacher wants to share with their students. I’m totally up for making adjustments in my schedule to chat with students and it’s all a part of me trying to have a positive impact and because I’ve been asked for a while now if I’d give a class.

As for other projects, I have recently released Twenty Twenty, Veinte Veinte is on the way, and hopefully this year will have several other releases from me.

For now, huge thanks to you for having me over and anyone who’s reading, feel free to drop a line and connect. Thanks for reading, and til next time, Peace, Love, and Maki Rolls.

“The Sea from Between the Tides” — A Poem by JD Estrada

I am the sea

Watch me swell

Watch me soar

Hear me roar…

---------

You cannot keep me at bay

You cannot help but see

I am the sea

And the sea is me.

---------

No breakers hold me back

No ships can escape

I am the sea

Your coasts won’t define me

---------

Wind and rain

Snow and ice

I am the sea

And I am sublime.

---------

Corals deep beneath

Worlds you cannot see

I am the sea

And I am free.

---------

I am free to break

I am called to flow

I am the sea,

And don’t you dare look away.

---------

I am many faces

I have countless skies

I am the sea

And I will be me.

---------

I will not apologize

I will send salt through air

I am the sea

I am pure me.

I shall connect all lands

I shall mix our waters

I am the sea

And at bay you can’t keep me.

---------

Your chest is but a buoy

Your smile is sweet sunshine

Your eyes may be an ocean.

But I am the sea

And the sea is me.

---------

Let go of all your sails

And roam upon the sea.

I am the sea,

And I shall set you free.

---------

The sun is never ending

The horizon is ever mine.

I am the sea

And that you can see.

---------

From gentle waltz to hurricane,

Breezy secrets and vengeful gusts,

I am all and I am nothing

in that you can trust.

---------

I have broken and battered

I have smiled and been surfed

I am the sea

For that is all I can be.

---------

You may try to pollute,

You may try to control,

But I am the sea,

And the sea is my soul.

---------

I am everlasting.

I am eternal.

I am the sea

And the sea is me.

©2014 JD Estrada

“The Sea from Between the Tides” is an extract from the book Recollection.

Support JD Estrada’s Work!

For more information on JD Estrada, visit Amazon. He is also on Twitter and Instagram.

That's it for today! Thank you for reading!

---

Cendrine Marrouat is a writer, photographer, podcaster, blogger, anthology editor, and the co-founder of Auroras & Blossoms and A Warm Cup of Cozy. She has authored and co-authored more than 40 books, including The Train: A Short Story (2023), In Her Own Words: A Collection of Short Stories & Flashku (2022), After the Fires of Day: Haiku Inspired by Kahlil Gibran & Alphonse de Lamartine (2021), Rhythm Flourishing: A Collection of Kindku and Sixku (2020), Walks: A Collection of Haiku (2019-2020), and In the Silence of Words: A Three-Act Play (2018).

Cendrine's work has appeared in many publications. She is the creator of the Sixku, Flashku, Sepigram, and Reminigram; as well as the co-creator of the Kindku, Pareiku, Vardhaku, and Hemingku.

Authors
14

About the Creator

Cendrine Marrouat

Writer & Author⎜Photographer⎜Artist⎜Co-founder of Auroras & Blossoms / A Warm Mug of Cozy⎜(Co-)creator of literary forms

"The Train: A Short Story" is out!

Website: https://creativeramblings.com

Donations: https://ko-fi.com/cendrineartist

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Ke Qi Xi2 years ago

    Interviews make writing give inspiration, very good!

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Impressive interview!!!💖😊💕

  • Jymyaka Braden2 years ago

    I love that you interview authors! I do too! Your style is more Q&A though. It’s cool. Reminds me of old school magazine articles. Did you Zoom with him as well? Is there video or audio of the interview?

  • You had me at horror. I'll be sure to check out his horror books. And I loved the sea poem

  • Carol Townend2 years ago

    I love interviews, though I enjoyed this one because your interview has given me another author to look up.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.