Interview logo

INTERVIEW: BETTER OFF WITH PRIVATE HEALTH CARE OR NHS

MY CANCER OF AS A PRIVATE PATIENT AND LOSING SON TO NHS CARE TO CANCER

By kayhan egeliPublished 2 years ago 10 min read
Like

Usually, interviews are held with people to air their views on experiences of different aspects of life. On this occasion, I am one of them and wanted this interview to inform the readers about the two-tier treatment system which is established over the years in hospitals. In our case, during the treatment of cancer, we had shown that everything is organised for the financial benefits of Trusts. It is simply depending on whether you are a private or national health patient. After a lengthy discussion with my journalist friend prepared the following questions and answers to express my present health care opinion :

" NHS Trusts may abuse Private Health Patients statue by charging more expensive medication, treatments and time-consuming procedures to raise more funds while the NHS patients getting cheaper medication and shorter time attendance to save money. It is all about raising funds in the process of saving lives. Consequences of these are expensive insurance premiums for few to afford and shortening the life circle of the NHS patient"

Journalist (J): Could you please explain how did you arrive at the conclusion of your personal belief that the present system is not right?

In life to be able to reach a conclusion for certain circumstances, you have to live with them at two different times. One can see and compare the outcome as a result. In my case, I was a PRIVATE HEALTH 'cancer patient' for five years while my son also was a cancer patient at the same hospital and treated by the NHS. Private patients have special wards, appointments kept promptly no waiting hours to see your consultants and medication used might be the best or costly one available in the market. On the other hand, NHS patients who wait in public lounges can be there hours to see the consultant, Appointments are for the records and treatment wards are packed with patients and applied medication can not be as expensive as the private ones because of government legislation on the cost of the availability of the prescriptions. Maybe some occasions selection of medication has been to use the only one PHARMACETICUAL company products to get higher commissions or more reductions on the price although it may or may not have health benefits for one to use.

J: It might be better to learn about your experience as a private patient first then we can discuss the son's treatment?

Before I had my oesophagus surgery in NHS hospital, I was referred to a Cancer hospital for initial treatment of chemotherapy. I informed the hospital that I had private health insurance. It put a smile on the consultant's face who normally had a very serious face. The private patient lounge is a luxurious room with leather chairs, large windows making the room very bright and nice, with all the daily newspapers on the stand, coffee/tea machine, biscuits and a very relaxed atmosphere. Nurses, doctors are all smiling as if patients are there for simple flu. When appointment time comes personal attendance by the consultant and supporting staff is very nice, In my case every time I was with my consultant l was questioned about general health, any medical condition to complain about and details of organising a new schedule for the next month. But no mentioning of results of last month visit ( CT/MRI or test). Nothing was reported on the progress I had been making. As long as I did not complain monthly meeting was an exchange of goodwill from both sides. On the first day of each month, I was attending the IV (direct infusion of drips to the vein) for fourteen hours to receive at least eight different bags of medication pumped into my body. Rest of the month I am on some medication of twenty-four pink tablets a day. A week before the consultant appointment, CT or MRI and blood tests were taken to show the consultant the state of my health. This routine procedure applied next four years till I have been told the cancer is in remission. All that time I had followed the instructions without questioning them. Basically, it was kind of not only my ignorance of medical science but also not having any serious side effects from the medication applied to my body. I was happy to get on with it. In the meantime, during those last five years, the membership fee to my Private Health company had increased to a level I could not afford it anymore. I cancelled it and informed the hospital. After that, I was told " good news, cancer is in remission, you are clear of it. Your visits will initially be every three months for the next year, after are to be reduced to twice a year in the course of it," by the consultant. I became instantly an NHS patient. It was an unbelievable coincidence ending my private care and the good news of remission happened same time. That was questionable!!!

J: Now if we discuss your son's treatment in detail to make a comparison of the procedures. Were you happy with them?

My son was diagnosed with a brain tumour a year before I had the notice of my cancer remission. He had to follow different medical procedures than mine. He had a Brain tumour. We used to sit at the communion lounge in the hospital with so many other patients, waiting hours for our turn to see his consultant. At that time, we were all in shock with his illness. When I had news about having cancer it was something I had to live and bear with it. To me, it was personal. But when cancer hits your son it is a different kind of pain and suffering of parents lives. Very difficult to describe. His treatment was based on Radiotherapy and the same CT/MRI checkups every month. His first operation and series of radiotherapy sessions were successful. During the monthly check-ups, his consultant regularly updated his progress by discussing the X-rays of his brain where the cancerous cells were treated. He had a good two years but third-year cancer was back at the front of the brain. Although it was the same procedures and treatment, the operation he had was a disaster and from there on it was down the hill. NHS patients' health care were relying on past experiences of the hospital staff who are as far as neuro systems are concerned (inclusive of the brain) are not good enough to deal with problems. On top of that, there was a lack of compassion by the hospital staff and consultants. He was treated as "one of our patients if recovers it's okay otherwise no room for wasting their time and money". Because any illness related to the Neuro (such as the Brain ) is a work in progress. On many occasions, it is only trial and testing whether old or new medication. It is the only way to save the patient life. Sadly, in our case, the consultant was heartless to say " We can't do anymore, you are on your own," This was the chap who just joined to hospital from the USA, and was around thirty-five years old who was talking to my son aged twenty- nine as if he has not existed. He was like a judge announcing a death sentence to a criminal in court. Our family was present in this meeting and were shocked to hear what he was saying so boldly. The system was so cruel to discharge my son from the hospital, they let him die on his own terms at home. I was watching him disappear slowly in front of my eyes after that horrible remark. When the hopes of a person with cancer had been wiped out by the doctor, the life of a patient is terminated. This was just to protect the statistics of the hospital as they did not want to have another failed and dead patient registered against their hospital records. As a parent and the rest of the family, we had to cope with the horrible situation to ease his pain and anxiousness. We were living not knowing his future fate in case a miracle can happen and could save his life as it did mine. It was a lesson to learn the very hard way about the NHS. If he was a private patient, would they stop his treatment that quick I doubt it?. In my view big NO. Private payments huge source of income even if treatment won't work the hospital would not allow him to be released till the last second.

J: What you are telling me is the whole health system is wrong and relying on creating cash for the health Trusts?

Yes, I am. Last ten years, the first five years of it I was a private patient following five years I was an NHS patient. My son was an NHS patient all the way through his treatment. I am now in the position to analyse the whole history of cancer treatments that happened to me and my son. In my case being a private patient, my treatment I believe took longer than it should have been. My CT/MRI results had never been discussed and shown to me. I was not informed about the progress of cancer treatment in my oesophagus was improving or not. The only time they stop treatment was when I informed them about my cancellation of the private health care insurance. As a result of extending the period of therapy, today I have side effects related to the chemo applications which is another story I shall be writing in future.

In my son case, at every stage of his illness, the consultant regularly informed him how the radiotherapy and the medication were acting by discussing the details of the MRI. I never had a chance to do that with my consultant to justify the amount of time my body was subjected to the chemo. In this case, NHS were more open and clear with the progress reporting.

I now know how to address and discuss my health condition with the assigned consultant in future. Being an NHS patient how much my demands will be replied is remain to be seen.

I like to emphasize a few points about NHS. My oesophagus operation had been done at the NHS hospital because private hospitals did not have up to date facilities but also their operation theatres could not cope with such a technical surgery. I am thankful for my treatment and cannot praise them enough to express my thankful feelings to NHS staff. I would like to strongly state that hospital staff from nurses to doctors even if tea ladies are amazing and doing a very difficult job under the present circumstances. I had a life-saving experience in their care.

The subject discussed in this article is the policy of Trusts and the managerial implementation of the present financial systems. Although everybody's payment of NI should be passed to Trusts it is never done by the governments and the health system had been starved with short of finance. Alternative had been Trusts to create additional sources to compensate shortcomings. Private Health systems have been the best alternative. Overall circumstances such as specific cancers, brain tumours and neurology are part of the medical science are not properly advanced to provide full services to NHS patients. It might be pharmaceutical cost or looking after the acute patients whose life is limited and the cost of it is short-changed for the savings the funds for the Trust. On the other hand, Private Health companies had been manipulated to compensate the NHS system. As a result, incredible costly premiums are charged to the subscribers. Members of private health institutions are also paying for their national insurance (NI) contributions. Just to take care of their health patients are making two payments. I think that's not fair.!!!

I am hoping this interview will bring some light to the present financial system of NHS Trusts which may need to regulate itself more seriously.

J: Thank you for your time and honest opinions.

Documentary
Like

About the Creator

kayhan egeli

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.