Interview logo

Call Me Les Interview Index

2021 Year in review

By Call Me LesPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
3
Author's photo

When co-creating the Vocal Creators Chronicle, I knew immediately that I wanted to dedicate my space to interviews. Inspired partly by Oprah, and partly by Humans of New York, I'm only beginning to tackle my goal of creating a cross-section of humanity. I started with my fellow creators while I awaited for various external subjects to complete their questionnaires.

Why do I interview?

From my spotlight,

"My new series, “Chat with Les,” is exciting for several reasons.

Personally, because it is a creative project I’ve always dreamed of accomplishing, but never had the right opportunity to pursue. The Chronicle, my co-founders and Vocal have each given me the wings and the wind I needed to fly.

Professionally, I am excited about the aim of the column, which is to examine the finer points in the lives of those around us. I wish to know, and wish my readers to know, more about the daily details and inner workings of the people we meet, may meet, or may never meet. I’m particularly intrigued by the details of how they spend their time, energy and emotions. Understanding each other is the foundation for many of the great causes in the world. I can’t champion them all, but, like Dr. Roshdy [my first interview subject] states, I can make a difference by starting with one. Telling one person’s story, starting small by bringing their passions, frailty, hopes and humor into the world, is a way I can make a difference to many.

The Selection Process

The selection process is simple: be willing to be a little vulnerable and answer the established 12 (tailored) questions plus the quirky finale. My inbox is always open."

2021 Subjects

Dr. Rasha Roshdy

"If you want to improve the world, I believe [you need to] start with one family at a time. Years ago, I took classes with Peter Singer and pledged to support his program: “The life you can save”. I adapted my personal goal to something even smaller: “The life you can change”. [This means] getting a young boy a bicycle because he wants to help his family buy groceries or buying a sewing machine for a refugee because she wants to sell her products and bring additional income to her family." -Dr. Roshdy

Casey Promise Thompson

"I just sat and watched television, occasionally working at a foot peddler for exercise. I am a Visual Artist, and yes, it was something I now had plenty of time to do. However, art is the last thing I want to make when I'm struggling with mental health issues. Many other artists thrive on it. Me? I almost feel angry at it. The expectations to make it because I wasn't working were even higher, and a part of me fled from that responsibility." -Casey Promise Thompson

Nick Cavuoti

"I try to remember it is always temporary. It is cheesy, but the old adage from The Crow, "It can't rain all the time," sticks out. Even in the darkest times, light still will eventually shine through. Any kind of failure will eventually break, and I will grow from it. You've just got to pick yourself up, learn from it, and move on even if it takes time. Things always can get worse, or even better, and they will. It's the ebb and flow of life, you've just gotta ride the waves, and the good times that come along will always outshine the bad or failures" -Nick Cavuoti

Calvin Cox

"I love to implement and merge many of these together into my art and creations. The bold and often unusual colour patterns in art deco mixed with the other worldly shapes of German expressionism was the core values to the scenic design of my Halloween Haunt I created. Creating atmospheres that are driven by emotions are what make or break a themed attraction in my opinion. I’m very driven to captivate an audiences emotional response with my art installations."- Calvin Cox

Nick Slavik (Smile Happy Arts)

"The best piece of art I've made, in my opinion, would have to be my sunset re-creation piece. The original I made had made me feel good, but it definitely could've used improvement. So, a year later I decided to make it again. When Amanda saw it she said, "Oh my god! This is my favourite! This is mine! I'm keeping it!" Hahaha, how can I say no to that?!?! It's now hanging up in our living room."-Nick Slavik

Tony Stauffer

"My goal is to take the reader on such a saga that they can’t wait to come back for more. If I never get the chance to make a career of it, I at least want those that read my works to never forget it. That’s why I wish I could have the reads that some on Vocal have, not for the recognition, but to know that my stories are reaching people, that they find meaning in it on some level. I want to entertain the masses with all that is in my creative mind." -Tony Stauffer

Breanne Patten

"I would like to be remembered as someone who was genuine and kind, a great mother. I don’t feel a need to be remembered by something hugely significant but that I was there and I showed up and helped people when they needed it and was a happy and welcoming presence." -Breanne Patten

This concludes the interviews of 2021. Subscribe to follow along as I continue to get to know the people around us just a little bit better. As every interview opens,

"[My column] column presents candid interviews with people from all backgrounds, and aims to examine the finer points in the lives of those around us" -Call Me Les

Let's see what 2022 brings!

Much love,

Les

P.S. The video ads on our YouTube are a work in progress... sample below... no judgments please! lol I swear I'm better with words on a page!

Published February 2, 2022 on Vocal Media.

Authors
3

About the Creator

Call Me Les

Aspiring etymologist and hopeless addict of children's fiction.

If I can't liberally overuse adverbs and alliteration, I'm out!

Instagram @writelesplaymore

Vocal Spotlight

~&~

She/Her

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.