Interview logo

About the Author...

Who the hell is Rose Dove?

By Rose DovePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 5 min read
3
ROSE DOVE (2020)

If I were to ask you if you knew who Rose Dove was you would most likely say, “Who the hell is Rose Dove?”

Well fortunately for you I was lucky enough to sit down with Rose Dove and get up close and personal with her as we discuss what exactly goes through her mind when she writes, as well as her inspiration and some insight on a few of her more personal pieces. And of course over-all, getting to know her.

Rose Dove photographed by Unknown

I suppose we should start with the cliché question of, who is Rose Dove?

*sigh* “Rose Dove is a lot of things, a lot of good things and a lot of bad things. But when she writes she feels at peace, she’s able to put exactly what she’s thinking, what she’s feeling into words that bleed out into a story”.

Interesting, do you always talk about yourself in third-person?

*laughs* “No but it’s fun to”.

What made you get into writing?

“I just love to write and being able to publish it on a platform without judgment. All my life I’ve been cast aside, I feel like I don’t connect to anything, I feel very withdrawn. I’ve always found it difficult to talk to anyone; I find it to be very stifling. Writing has always been a form of healing for me; it’s been the only way how I can express my true feelings, both emotionally and mentally. When I write I’m able to get everything off my chest and out of my mind without any interruptions”.

What made you join vocal?

“Honestly, the fact that I could earn a little money! At first it was purely going to be for my beauty write ups, but then decided to publish my more personal pieces there too. I don’t regret it since those have made the most earnings”.

I would like to discuss some of those personal pieces, can you tell me a little more about White Oleander? Loved the trailer for that by the way!

*laughs* “White Oleander was the ultimate healing piece for me. I believe in angel numbers, and around that time I kept seeing the numbers 1234 which means releasing of physical, spiritual and emotional baggage. Just as I was about to begin writing, I looked at the time and sure enough it read 12:34. I took that as a sign. I harboured a lot of hatred towards this person and found that I never truly let go of the situation, or of them. The only way that I could actually release it all and kill off all the memories was through White Oleander. I still remember the immense exhaustion that followed after writing it. Not to mention the relief”.

So it’s safe to say that writing exhausts you, rather than energizes you?

“Definitely!! But I love it and find it extremely satisfying once it’s finished. *laughs* don’t look at me like that”.

This brings me to your most controversial piece, Teacher’s Pet. I heard there was a lot of speculation surrounding it; care to share some insight regarding its authenticity?

“I can’t say too much about that one, it’s very close to my heart”.

What thoughts go through your mind when friends and family read those more personal pieces?

“I try not to think about what they are thinking. I’m a very paranoid person who can over-think a whole scenario, including the far-fetched outcomes. I’m a private person so for them to actually read something like that can be a bit of a shock {for them}”.

Rose Dove photographed by Unknown

What is your writing process like?

“My process is simple, it can go from having one idea and hitting the ground running TO gradually writing down notes until I feel there’s enough to start putting the pieces together. I also prefer to do my writing in the dead of night”.

Where do you get your ideas/inspiration?

“The mind is a weird and wonderful thing, and our moods and subconscious can fuel it to all kinds of crazy. But Like I said, I take my inspiration from my thoughts and feelings. And of course life itself - Life Imitates Art”.

With writing comes visuals. Talk me through that process?

“I create all my own imagery and videos based off what I’ve written, usually they take longer than the write ups because they are a little more tedious and I’m a perfectionist”.

Can we discuss the Alan Rickman voice over in the Rose Dove trailer?

*silence* “fitting”.

Do you have any writes-ups in the works?

“Yes, I have two; both are only in the planning stages though. I’m hoping to get them out sometime next year where I’ll have more time to work on them. They are both personal pieces BUT one of them is beauty related”.

So if writing is a hobby/outlet, what do you do for a living?

“I’m a makeup artist; I’ve been doing it for 4 years now. Before that I was a Hairdresser. I’ve only ever known the beauty industry”.

Would you consider writing professionally?

“Probably not, I would end up hating it if I did. Like I said, I use writing as a form of healing. There are no deadlines with healing. But if I were to pursue it professionally, I would like to be a beauty writer for Vogue”.

Image provided by Rose Dove

Do you mind if I ask a few fun questions?

*smiles* “Go ahead”

What’s your star sign, the big 3?

“Libra Sun, Pisces Moon and Gemini Rising ”

Describe yourself in 3 words?

“Glamorous, deranged and creative”

Can you tell us a secret?

“They say life begins at conception, for me that doesn’t feel like the case. At 31 I feel as though my life still hasn’t started and I’m just going through the motions until I can find the right moment when I can finally sit back and sigh with a sense of contentment and say ‘yes, my life has finally begun’. When that will happen, only God knows.”

Well thank you so much Rose for meeting with me and answering a few questions. Wishing you all the best and looking forward to your new published works coming in 2022!

*laughs* “yep, hopefully”.

XOXO

Authors
3

About the Creator

Rose Dove

𝐿𝒾𝒻𝑒 𝐼𝓂𝒾𝓉𝒶𝓉𝑒𝓈 𝒜𝓇𝓉; a curation of personal pieces and poems that carry glimpses into my past and present.

🖤🪬

IG: @thehausofdove

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.