Humans logo

Zig Zag #23

I believe in second chances. Do you?

By Kathleen MajorskyPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Zig Zag #23
Photo by Timothy Eberly on Unsplash

Now that I’ve had ample time to rest and recover, I feel ready to head out again.

But this time…

I want to make decisions from a place of groundedness and curiosity. I like curiosity better than fear or judgment.

Curiosity has led me down some pretty interesting rabbit holes over the past three years. I’ve read 15 books about financial literacy. I’ve done a self-study on leadership. I’ve thought a lot about the life I want to create.

This is my second act.

I believe, without a doubt, in second chances.

This time of rest and recovery has given me an opportunity for a second chance. I’ve paid off debt. I’ve learned to let go of what has felt so heavy for so long. Of what’s held me down and held me back. My spirit feels stronger and lighter than it’s ever been.

Second chances lead me to believe that I’ve learned from all that has happened in my zig zag life so far. That I can have faith that good things are coming my way.

I’ve mentioned groundedness in my last couple of posts, and I wanted to share with you one thing that keeps me grounded and has been a constant in my life.

That is my morning routine. There are many books/podcasts/articles out there about morning routines. Everyone’s morning routine looks different.

I’ve always been a morning person. There is something so special about waking up with nature. Of observing nature when it is still quiet. There is beauty in the silence of the morning. It’s a good time to practice listening.

My morning routine sets the tone for the rest of my day. It calms me down and helps me let go of anything that’s built up in my mind from the day before. It’s a non-negotiable.

My morning routine consists of sitting on a porch or balcony. It requires a warm beverage. Most likely my favorite ginger turmeric tea. My journal is always on hand and there is always 10-15 minutes of reading that does my spirit good.

Having something so consistent has really helped me see the importance of staying grounded at the moment. No matter what is going on in my life, no matter any uncertainty or self-doubt, my morning routine brings me back down to earth and reminds me that I’m stronger than any circumstance. It’s a good and sometimes necessary reminder.

Another thing that helps me stay grounded is knowing my values. I did a values exercise a few years ago that changed the way I approach decision-making. I was given a list of words. There had to be at least 100 - 250 words. All potential values that could shape my life. It was a hard exercise in the process of elimination, but it was very eye-opening.

My top three values are creativity, support, and humor. To be honest, I haven’t been as intentional as I could be living these out. But I want to start. These values light up my soul, and from here on out, I don’t want to do anything without these three things present. This is a promise I am making myself.

I haven’t “figured it” all out by any means. Does anyone? Ever? I find comfort in the fact that no one has or likely will. I believe we are all doing the best we can even if we don’t always know what we are doing.

Maybe I’ll never figure it out, but I do have more control than I realize to design a life that I love. A life full of joy, adventure, and love. One that keeps me present and keeps me grateful.

My favorite spoken word poet says it best:

“I accept that today may be imperfect... I accept that I may be as well. What I don't accept is that imperfection should be the crutch I use to excuse myself from participating in joy.” - Shane Koyczan

Have a zig zag kind of a week. Until we meet again.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Kathleen Majorsky

Life-long writer. Always seeking adventures as writing fodder. Loves tacos and warm chocolate cookies. If she could have dinner with anyone dead or alive, she would have dinner with Simon Sinek, Mr. Rogers, and Baby Yoda.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.