Humans logo

You Left Me

I wish we had a second chance at forever.

By Christina OswaldPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
1
The pain is overwhelming

The sun is setting and my heart is heavy. I miss you. I can still feel your arms around me. Seems like yesterday we were laughing and planning the future. Your smell lingers. It's a reminder that you're gone. I can't touch you again.

I can still remember the sound of your voice. Your voice was the melody to my heart and now it's gone. I wish you were here to tell me that everything is okay, but you're gone. Why did you leave me? I wasn't ready for this.

I love you and I hate you. You didn't give me enough time. I know one day that you will start to fade and that's even more terrifying. I don't want to forget the touch of your hand against my cheek. I don't want to forget the warmth of your body next to mine.

I was always there, but I never knew. How did I not know? As upset as I am with you, I am even madder at myself. I should have known. I should have seen the pain behind your smile. I should have seen the hurt in your heart. I should have done more. Did you think that no one cared?

I cared, I loved you. You were the light of my life. I miss your smile. I miss the way you use to hold me when I was scared. You would tell me that everything was okay and that you would never leave. You lied.

When I close my eyes at night, I see the pain. I see what you did. It will haunt me for the rest of my life. I will always remember the phone call I had to make. The sound of pure agony haunts me to this day.

I wasn't ready to say goodbye. We should have had more time. There should have been a tomorrow. Now I'm left with this ache in my heart. I'm left with an empty space where you use to be. I just want your hand in mine again.

I cried into your family's shoulders. I'm not okay. I can't accept this. You promised me you would be here and now you're gone. I can't stop dreaming about who we could have been. You were my addiction.

You had had me. I was by your side and would have gone to the ends of the earth for you. I could have believed for both of us. I could have been strong for both of us. Life is unfair, I know that better than most now.

It's too late now. It's too late to fight for us. I feel like I'm drowning in the silence of this empty house. The halls are filled with memories. I want to feel your heartbeat again. I can't bring you back. I wish that I could. I wish we had a second chance at forever.

I wish I could turn back time, even if it was just to say goodbye. You didn't let me say goodbye. Why didn't you let me say goodbye? What did I do wrong? All I can think about is you. I can't eat. I can't sleep. My heart is broken and it will never be the same again.

The brokenness is a horrible feeling. Do you see how much pain you caused everyone? You must have been in so much pain. Why didn't you let me help? I sit here asking myself all these questions that I will never have answers to. I know I'll never have the answers, but for now, it's all I have. It's all you left me because you left me. You left me..........

humanity
1

About the Creator

Christina Oswald

Experiences in life have helped to mold the person that I am. Is she perfect, most definitely not. Both the good and the bad times have fuled my passions in life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.