Humans logo

Why You Should Never Take Back a Cheating Man

Advice from my ex - a serial cheater

By The Writer ChickPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Okay, he cheated on you and you feel like you just had open-heart surgery with no anesthesia. Believe me, I get it.

So, what do you do?

Do you:

A. Take him back and hope and pray he never does it again?

B. Go to couple’s counseling and hope and pray he never does it again?

C. Dump him and never, ever look back?

If you picked C, you’re right. You should never, ever take back a cheating man.

But you love him, you want to fix him; you want to make him a better man. Bull!

It doesn’t work like that. You can’t fix people, you can’t rescue people, and you sure as hell can’t change people. He cannot be fixed, get it! Dump him!

Let me tell you something. I was with a rock star for 11 years and he admitted when we first got together, he was faithful. But after a while, his wandering eye started wandering, and he began cheating.

Who did I blame? Him? No, like a dummy, I blamed myself.

So, I took him back and vowed to do everything “right” this time. I would lose weight, I would take on more jobs and make more money, I wouldn’t nag, the house would be cleaner… blah, blah, blue!

Guess what, he did it again!

Hmm… I wonder why? I’ll tell you why… because when I took him back, I was giving him his “Cheating License”. Yes, cheating license. Just like you need a license to drive a car, to hunt or fish, I had given him a cheating license. I had just taught him how to treat me.

Once I took him back, once he pleaded with me to forgive him, and promised me up and down it would never happen again, Bingo! It happened again.

About a year after I left him for good (it took 11 years) we talked about it and to my utter amazement and sadness, he said he had cheated on me more times than he could count and he “really couldn’t tell” how many times it was. Wow, that hurt! I mean seriously, that really hurt.

Although we had been apart and I was happy with my decision in leaving him, this really upset me, so I asked him why, why, why?

He admitted to being a serial cheater and said he had cheated on every woman he had ever been with. When I asked him why, he said this very profound thing… listen up ladies… this is straight from the mouth of a total womanizing whore dog…

“WHEN MEN CHEAT, IT IS NEVER, EVER THE WOMAN’S FAULT!”

Did you get that? Should I repeat it for you?

It is never, ever the woman’s fault when a man cheats.

He said, it doesn’t matter if she is fat or skinny, if the house is clean or dirty, if the dinner is late or on time… it simply doesn’t matter.

A man who is a cheater will always cheat and when a woman takes him back, he knows that he has her right where he wants her.

I didn’t make this shit up!

This came from a man I had known for over 30 years and was with for 11. We had a home, a life, two dogs, and had lost twin boys together. I also loved him very much. He was a man who cheated, lied, and did who knows what with who knows who.

He was beautiful, sexy, and knew how to treat a woman in bed. I always told him it was too bad he was not as good out of bed as he was in bed.

The only complaint I ever had about his pickle was it spent more time in other women’s jars than it did in mine!

Ending our relationship was the hardest thing I have ever had to do, but I did it and although it broke my heart, I did it. Why? Because I had sprouted wings, my self-esteem was growing, and I knew I deserved so much better. I was ready to fly.

I couldn’t live like that any longer. I was tired, beaten down, and broken. I had been humiliated, emotionally abused, and lived in constant fear of him cheating again. The trust was gone and without that, you have nothing. Although he never hit me, he broke me, and I didn’t leave him for anyone else either, I left him for me.

So, no matter how much you love him or how good he makes you feel in bed, don’t defend a man like this or sugar coat what type of man he really is.

Remember:

♥ You can’t put flowers in an asshole and call it a vase! ♥

advice
Like

About the Creator

The Writer Chick

Lisa V. Proulx is an award-winning and international bestselling author, an award-winning speaker and storyteller, a publishing consultant, a feature writer and columnist, and the Editor of The Brunswick Herald newspaper in Maryland.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.