Humans logo

Why 15 years later at 36, I partied like I was 21...

And why I don’t regret a minute of it!

By Carime PaigePublished 4 years ago 5 min read
2
Corie (my baby sister) and I, celebrating my 36th birthday!

Wow! That night was insane!! The night of my thirty-sixth birthday party! July 2019! Can you imagine me 13 shots in and having mixed drinks?! Those that know me well are laughing...those that were there that night are smiling and reminiscing! Those of you who may be acquaintances or know of me, might be taken aback - but if y’all only knew!!

Let’s start with things that led up to that time. Well first, I had left my husband a year and a half prior and our divorce had just been finalized - HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO ME!!! (just kidding, he’s a wonderful man and father, we just weren’t wonderful together). Then, I had gotten out of an insanely toxic relationship a few months prior. And I had just met a man who peaked my interest and made me feel alive again (that’s no longer a thing, I’m sure future writings will talk about my “single” life”....). But for the first time in I don’t know how long, I was single..on.my.birthday! So damn right I was partying (plus I was pregnant on my 21st birthday - married and pregnant, not just knocked up either!)

I had recently lost a ton of weight and actually borrowed this adorable black dress from my 21 year old cousin! Hell yeah, I felt sexy! Thanks Kayla! And those heels I purchased while on a Louisville adventure...those completed it! So I was determined to have fun, no matter the cost because I felt free.and.alive! My kids were safe with their dad so therefore I had no responsibilities at all! Plus I ended up having so many amazing people celebrate with me, I was in good hands.

Obviously I pregamed with my sister and brother-in-law, that’s what you do! And Chris was responsible for both of us that night (she had recently turned 27)! So I probably had one or two mixed drinks at home then off to the bar we go!!! Did I eat?? Hmmm I’m sure I had to be smart enough to have eaten if my goal was to be white-girl wasted!!??

Anyways, we get to Jill’s Bar & Grill and I immediately order a double Malibu and pineapple plus pineapple upside down cake shots! That’s a lot of pineapple!!! We recorded 12 videos that night! By “we”, I mean me! I thought I was a Snapchat celebrity!! People were literally in awe watching and anticipating what was next because I don’t normally do shots!!

I’m not much of a dancer, I have no rhythm whatsoever, but I may have danced a little. I know my heels were under the table. I know I continued doing shots, shots and more shots. I know I drunk dialed, sent drunk texts and posted a drunk mess all over social media (sorry grandma) ...oh, it was great! I was 21 again... the last thing I vaguely remember besides a blurred trip to the bathroom and being carried by two people to get me back to Corie and Chris, was well...nothing!! I thought something super sappy was coming but no, I just snuggled up with Jonathan’s dinosaur blanket.

The next morning I woke up around 10:30 maybe? I can’t remember, all I know is that it was way too early. I was face down, ass hanging out, sleeping on my sister’s couch. And I woke up to view a wonderful social media photo of me doing just that with the caption “Happy 36th Birthday, Sweet Cheeks!” emphasis on the ass cheeks! Thanks sis!!

I went home and slept, actually I went to his house and slept for hours, but anyways... I started having flashbacks of the night I just had. And they were great. Remember that blurred trip to the bathroom I mentioned earlier? Well that adorable black dress I wore was a romper, ya know, the ones you step into and pull up!? So when you have to pee, you have to pull it all the way down (or do the slide-the-panties over technique and I just wasn’t about that life that night). Well somehow, I was on the bathroom floor, with the romper only half way up, tits out and all (can I say tits in this blog?!). The only plausible reason I have for that, is maybe I puked after I peed?! And obviously I would have been sitting on the ground puking in the toilet! But the kicker of it all is who came to my rescue... I can now say people have seen parts of me that I never thought would...I blame my girl Bailey for getting the boys to come to my aid! Sorry girl - still love ya! I also puked on the patio under the table! My apologies to the bartender...

I found out I hit on a cop, became his social media friend and were messaging the next day. Apparently I was overly flirty, kissed his arm and would have went home with him if I wasn’t so drunk! He claims to have been keeping an eye on me from a distance because I was chatting it up with two drug dealers who wanted to take me home safely, vaguely remember that...but I’m pretty sure the white dude gave me a Mexican name...should’ve been my first clue! Plus he must’ve thought this was Jersey Shore and t-shirt time!

I slept until 6:00 that night before going to dinner and attempting to drink a jumbo pineapple drink...shocker! And although I woke up feeling horrible, realized I did things I probably wouldn’t normally do...ok let’s be real, y’all know I’d probably do all of that (minus the puking) sober, I wouldn’t change a thing. I lived it up and had the best time of my life, surrounded by people who truly love and care about me and protect me. I’d do it over again, every year, no matter where I am in life. Sometimes, you just need a night to truly feel 21 again.

disclaimer: names, dates and locations may have been changed to protect the identities of those involved.

humanity
2

About the Creator

Carime Paige

I am a 30 something year old mama of four - a teen and elementary age triplets! I am an HR Professional by day and passionate about people and positivity!

Thank you for your support as I refuel my passion to continue chasing my dreams!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.